We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT GREEK!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive Kebab Cafe

Olive Kebab Cafe
Ranked #1,433 of 10,675 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT GREEK!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place serves authentic Greek food, probably the best in Bangkok, and possibly SE Asia as well. I have come here so many times, but always order my favorite Souvlaki Set. Great ambience, and a good place for the whole family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nakorn Si Thamarat, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ate here a few months ago, just wondered in. Not busy, small but nice place. Friendly staff, healthy and good food. Not hard to find, no complaints!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BertIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food if you are in the area”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were looking for something to eat, with air conditioning, on a hot day this April, and stumbled across Olive. The food was nice, the place clean, and the service quick and friendly. A nice place for a quick lunch in the area. I had the make-your-own platter, and really enjoyed the dips, but was disappointed in the dolmades - too dry! The baklava dessert made up for it though, yum. My husband had an ouzo, and he enjoyed that too...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E_Sniggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Review of the Nichada restaurant”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We first tried the Olive when we were shopping at the monthly market in Nichada Thani and they had a stall there. The food we bought was very nice so we decided to order something different via delivery before taking our family to the local restaurant the following weekend.

We ordered our food at around 7pm. We thought it odd that we were not even given an approximate time of delivery but assumed it was because it would not take a long time, as residents of Nichada Thani, we live less than 500 metres down the road.

After 50 minutes we still had not heard anything regarding our delivery and rang the restaurant. The lady who answered sounded flustered and when we asked how long it would be she interrupted us mid sentence staying it was on it's way.

We waited....

The trip from our home to Olive on a scooter takes less than 3 minutes. They were apparently on the way so we expected to see them drive down our street momentarily.

After 20 minutes it was obvious that the first bit of information given to us was a very obvious untruth.

We rang for the third time that night. The same lady again very hurriedly tried to tell us that the food was actually on its way....again.

Realising then that if we wanted our family to eat at a reasonable time we were very obviously going to need to go elsewhere. We attempted to cancel our order at which point she argued with us about it almost being here. We asked her not to deliver to us and hung up our phone.

The next day I rang to speak to the Manager, who incidentally was the same flustered and rude lady who took our order and subsequent calls requesting more info.

She was not at all friendly. Trying first to blame us for not waiting and hanging up the phone (which we felt we had to do as she was constantly interrupting and arguing with our requests to cancel the order).

She then admitted that the restaurant was too busy for them to process our order in time. When I asked why we were not informed of this rather than being given false information, she placed the blame on apparent new staff who were not competent yet in taking orders.

For a restaurant in a heavily populated western expat area the level of professionalism is extremely poor.

Ordinarily a restaurant would offer a free side or drink the next time you order to ensure you came back and the reputation of the establishment is not tarnished in anyway, however the Manager at Olive appeared uninterested in the image of her employer or the experience of potential paying customers.

There are many nicer and more professional establishments to eat in around Nichada, we would not waste our time trying Olive again and would certainly not recommend them to the people we know in and around the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice experience all around.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice lunch here (wonderful olives) with a lovely dessert. Everything was great and would recommend anyone to come for a meal. The art on the walls will give you something to look at if you come solo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Drewskya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Kebab Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olive Kebab Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing