We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm, homely and friendly restaurant in the Sukhumvit area”
Review of Chez Charlie

Chez Charlie
Ranked #1,872 of 10,959 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Chez Charlie, a relaxing place for all day French meal. Start off your course with an Organic Salad or fresh made Healthy Soups. Crepes for you to enjoy with delicious stuffing. For heavy eater, our Chef has prepared a Daily Stews with crispy baguette. Sweet Crepe, Pannacotta, Chocolate Lava can fill your mouth with amazing taste. Order one of our fresh fruit Mocktails with our bartender to go along with your food.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A warm, homely and friendly restaurant in the Sukhumvit area”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My friends and I was surprised that the place is owner operated and the food was all made or cooked by the owner herself. From the pies and cakes to the breads and rolls at breakfast its all baked by the lady. Lunch and dinner menus too are tempting and exciting. Reasonable pricing too. Wine glasses are Riedel, no glass stuff.
We have also met the owner's husband (who helps out on weekends) and her son, Charlie whom the restaurant is named after. A family run establishment with hands on supervision.
Go try it out. It's at the back of the Westin Hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greatlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    25
    7
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grrat crepes and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Was there for brunch and had the
1) baguette with Salmon
2) crepes with chicken walnut

Service is prompt and is a good retreat for those looking for a break from Thai food.

The baguette is real crispy, and the crepes is just mouth watering.

Unfortunately I wanted to try the lava cake but Was not available.

Will i come back again? Depending on my craving, but the good location definitely doesn't hurt.

Helpful?
Thank SingaporeCaiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ordered the beef stew, served beef stroganoff. This consisted of one shallot, three small pieces of potato and three small pieces of beef all cooked in milk. I can honestly say I have never had food so bad. Absolutely awful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrInfinity001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were staying at the 4 points Sheraton nearby and were walking to Chu's (other brekkie place) when when we passed by the charming store front of Chez Charlie and were immediately drawn to the warm (possibly faux) parisian decor. Service was quick, prices were reasonable, food was good but only the crepe was memorable. Just a suggestion, fresh juices would really be better. We would be happy to come back regardless. Cheers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linlaupeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“right time to start the day...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

it's the right place to start your Day with an excellent breakfast . very friendly staff and u feel its managed by the owner . hight quality in food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike2Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narumol C, Owner at Chez Charlie, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Costumer,
Thank you for visiting us, we are really glad that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you more often here. We also really enjoyed servicing you, and proving you with what you need.

Kind Regards,
Charlie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Charlie also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Chez Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing