We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget - Good Place to stay”
Review of Grand Alpine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Alpine
Ranked #749 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This time, although we confirmed the rooms by calling twice from Colombo, when we arrived, there was no rooms available and the hotel was under construction too. after a it of hesitation shown, we were offered rooms in their sister hotel Tara Monte (Just behind this property - but good access)..which I have stayed 3 years ago....the rooms were not bad..same standard. Some improvements were..Bigger TV(not flat), Water heater for coffee/tea making, quality of linen, lift (Small, limited capacity only 3 people at a time, but serves the purpose...

Rooms are swept and cleaned, towels changed but not sure of bed sheets changed, we asked them after 2 days then they changed...Individual A/C units so you have the control..

The corridors are used as storing area for various utensils (moper, some hardware, towel etc) gives you a stores atmosphere when you come out of the room..

Did not see any "extra activities" so family stay is fine..

Rooms with windows bit expensive but worth it...

This is something the hotel management should take care. Like few reviewers I do have the complain of not being met. Since I am a season traveler I did not wanted airport pickup..but took the city-line (40 bhat) from airport to Ratchaprarop station which were asked to call once we reach, so that they could send a tuk-tuk to pick us up because of ....we arrived we called but tuk-tuk never came..waited for 20minutes called again, to find that the receptionist did not understand..no tuk-tuk. So walked (5minutes - shortcut - found later).

The hotel staff mixed quality..certain days the one particular receptionist - very good although her English was poor, but very courteous and helpful..others do not speak English..

Easy location although, Grand Alphine is a bit tough to find if you are a fresher, but once you get in then you'll be fine..

No Food served..No Breakfast...No Restaurant in the hotel..but plenty around.

Will stay again...

Room Tip: Select rooms with windows specially if you not comfortable in closed rooms..check for the toilet lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACMarcelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 252 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had called for a airport transfer since sept. double comfirm on the night before we fly from Singapore. But when we arrival there was no one to pick us up. We wasted two hours at the airport. Took a cab and there is a hard time finding the hotel. When found it. We can check in waited for 30 mins. But it's was 4pm. We should check in at 2pm. Room are not ready. But customer service is really good. Nice and they try to fulfill your needs.they will always smile towards you. Overall will be a good place to stay in bkk.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awang23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Put in simply, this hotel is definitely good enough for me to come back. It is no doubt new and they are still renovating their main gate (hotel is not obvious at all now, apart from a small tag which says Grand Alpine). And between Dec 2011 to July 2012 which i last visited, their porch area was still under renovation! But that is not really a concern. It is very safe. It is near Cityview hotel and only abt 10 minutes walk from the airport link station if you walk by the railway tracks and enter via the back alley (safe too). Service is excellent too, the bellboy always greets us and even gave us a free tuk tuk ride to the airport link station though it is already quite near. Wifi in room works perfectly too. Shower is ok though maybe unstable in temperature at times. Breakfast was served in our room. No problem with us since we can then take our time.

Only downside is the lack of tv channels. Cant watch any EPL matches!

Would recommend this nonetheless, especially if you want to save a few bucks when compared to neighbouring hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YenSze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. In fact, it was good quality for the price we paid. The rooms were relatively clean and spacious. There was also housecleaning every single day and free breakfast served for one day.

We were also impressed with the hotel services. The staff were warm and polite and helped us to carry our luggages. When we asked the hotel staff for recommendation of good massage places, they ferried us down to the massage place with the hotel's tuktuk even though it was rather late at night. Once we were done with the massage, they even ferried us back to the hotel.

The only downside is that the hotel is a little hard to locate as it is located down a small and dark alley. If you are going there by taxi, let the taxi driver to drive you to citi pratanum. Grand alpine is just beside citi pratanum. If not, you can consider taking the Airport Rail Link to ratchapaprop station. Walk along the railway tracks before turning into an alley. Nevertheless, the hotel is situated at a prime location-- near platinum mall and various night street stalls.

Room Tip: Remember to lock your windows and no safe box available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ethan_Yeo_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

ME and my friends went as a double couple date before valentine's day. Actually planned to go to baiyoke boutique and heard that it got very dirty since the flood. Doing last minute research (one day before the tour, grand alpine replied immediately to us upon our enquiries and confirmed our hotel room bookings at the same time.

Upon reaching, we had a hard time searching for the place, as it is new, so not many locals knew the location. We found it after a long one hour walk, with a small cupboard sign leading us to it. The hotel then was not fully renovated, the facade looks real bad. At that instant, all our hopes of a good hotel were dashed. However, we stepped in to find the hotel beautiful and modern, moreover, extremely clean, spacious and neat!

Their service of the hotel was good, they escorted us up to the rooms without asking for 'bellboy' tips. they sent us up and just wished us goodnight and closed the door behind them. We found the room extremely good! loved the interior so much! the tv was good, sound system good. everything was clean and neat. though we did not ask for room service, they came and tidied the room daily once we left (we left the place for 25min in the morning to buy some neccessities, and came back to a nicely cleaned room).

Overall we had a great stay there. enjoyed their service and the 24-hour wireless internet for free. connection was great too. even the computers at the lobby was free for use.

Room Tip: We choose the deluxe room which was just a little larger than superior rooms. Superior rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynCly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is a newly opened hotel which is in Pratunam area, right next to Citin Hotel. A good deal when you compare price paid and the conditions of the rooms. I took the deluxe room, which is 200 baht more but no regrets. You get a much bigger room, with better lightings. Bed linens are super comfortable, combine it with good housekeeping, you are in for a good night stay, Service staff are helpful and friendly.

For the downside, the exterior of the hotel is going through renovation still, therefore it is quite unsightly and there are alot of workers who goes in/out of the hotel.
Location is good and not too good as it is in the small alleys of Pratunam (anyway, alot of hotels are in the alleys,)
For me, it would be perfect if they served breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay 200 baht more and take the deluxe room. Use the Tuk tuk to transport you around the vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evinteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am upset that despite emails to arrange for our airport transfer, the manager FORGOT to send the car to the airport for us! Arrangements has also been mentioned and agreed that our 3 rooms will be on the same floor but when we reached the hotel, they only had 1 room for us. After being very upset with the service, only then they gave us another room and the other we had to wait almost the whole day to check in!

It seems that this hotel is overbooked probably to cover their renovating costs / works which they are currently ongoing so if you have small children or infant, it is best not to choose this hotel as it is noisy with drills and what nots.

Hotel is not easy to find unless you know your way around.

Rooms are of course clean as everything is new.

Staff: Only the bell boy was nice, the rest were unfriendly and quite frustrating having to talk to either of them. Don't expect smile or friendly service. The hotel has no security whatsoever.

Room Tip: choose a better hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iRossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
PJ Watergate Hotel
#615 of 891 in Bangkok
201 reviews
Grand Watergate Hotel
#753 of 891 in Bangkok
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cozi Inn
#556 of 891 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#323 of 891 in Bangkok
69 reviews
Pratunam Casa Hotel
#433 of 891 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Alpine

Address: 88/15-17 Phetchaburi Rd. Phayathai Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #749 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $30 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Alpine 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing