We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply sensational!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Ranked #8 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Faultlessly brilliant, one of the best city hotels I've ever stayed in and I would not hesitate to come back.

The Eastin oozes class, from the way you are welcomed at the front door, to how you are greeted at the front desk, to how you are treated by every staff member and to the lack of less desirable people littering the hotel grounds. A wonderful oasis where you know you can come back after a long day/night and know there'll be nobody hanging around the hotel to pester you and, if you come via the BTS, the dedicated stop with direct bridge link access is similarly hassle free (this stop is one of the hotel's biggest assets, fantastically convenient for getting out and around Bangkok).

We had one of the most basic rooms going but it was still very spacious with wonderful views from the 19th floor. The infinity pool is exquisite, as is the entire pool area, and a wonderful place to relax away from the chaos of Bangkok.

The breakfast spread is commendably good also, has something to cater for literally all tastes. The nearest I can come to something negative to say would be that Bangkok's useless taxi drivers can't pronounce the hotel name properly and most seem to have no clue where it is so you end up just asking to go to Surasak BTS station instead.

Room Tip: Ask for as high a room as possible and avoid the smoking floors as they absolutely stink!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidE171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,379)
There are newer reviews for Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,082 - 3,088 of 6,380 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

I knew that with so many great reviews I couldn't go wrong, bit still I was amazed! The hotel is beautiful, clean, with a wonderful staff and a delicious breakfast, and all in a very reasonable (and even cheap) price.
Although the it's not located in the center of Bangkok (which is a plus to me, since it's quiet), the hotel is connected to the Skytrain, so you could be anywhere you want in just a few minutes.
I had a wonderful time, and I'm sure that I will go back to this hotel.
You won't be disappointed! :-)

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, in a high floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Another good experience in Bangkok, this hotel is centrally located, close the the river and directly connected to BTS station. The swimming pool and restaurant in 14th floor has an excellent city view and way to relax.
The restaurant offers great buffet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lagisetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a good place to stay, with easy walk to the train.
They help to keep you away from the scamers, and look after the people who stay.
The place is well looked after, and very clean, I would recomend this as a ideal location, not far from MBK.
The train system is very easy to get around, so this is a good place to stay, easy to get around.
Will be staying again when we head back to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Get a room with breakfast included, keeping in mind alot of shops don't open till about 10am...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ge0ff31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent a few days in Bangkok before heading to Phuket. This was the perfect way to start our Thailand vacation! The staff are incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Definitely recommend booking an executive room as the executive benefits are awesome! We didn't even need to eat dinner in town because the snacks and drinks were so much more than we expected! The only thing we noticed was their cleaning services were quite late in the day, but even then as soon as we called to ask when our room would be cleaned someone came and took care of it instantly.

Room Tip: Book the executive rooms! Totally worth the few extra dollars!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahH933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Check-In
was prompt and easy.
We got an upgrade from Superior Sky to Executive Sky room.
As the upgrade did not include access to the Executive Lounge on 32nd floor, it was basically the same room just some floors up.
Even so you should not complain on gifts it had somehow a stingy touch.
Talking of florr levels - the hotel only has 4 elevators, which means you have often to wait for a couple of minutes for the lift. This is not dramatic but for sure does not add to the plus-side

Location
The Eastin in is located on directly to Surasak station with direct access from the hotel which is very convenient.
From Surasak you are one station from Saphan Taksin station where all the boats to the tourist attraction (palast etc..) leaves. That is quite convenient.
5 stations the other way you reach Siam station with all the big malls and can easily switch to the other sky-train line.
Yet besides that, the location of the hotel is pretty much a dead area. Nothing going on in walking distance.
Next door is the Blue Elephant Thai restaurant which is a rather pricey but very good Thai restaurant. Unfortunately you need this as the hotel restaurants which I tried are below average.
Reservation recommended.

Rooms
Our room was spacious enough, yet had an odd smell (between moldy and cold smoke).
I read in older reviews the same comment - obviously they did not fix the problem opposed to the promise of the management comment in that post.
Beside the bed is very comfy and has everything you need.
The room features no bathtub (to be fair which also stated on their website).

Restaurant
We tested the Glasshouse and the Luce (Italian) and both restaurants are not to recommend. Food was rather average. Considering the price even below.
The Glasshouse has the atmosphere of an university canteen - in other words no atmosphere.
The often highlighted breakfast was indeed good, not spectacular but better of what you expect considering lunch or dinner experience.
Tip: If you like cheese - just ask ask for it. They do not have it at the buffet but it is available.

A good alternative is, as written earlier, the Blue elephant next door.
Besides that there is unfortunately nothing in walking distance.

Gym
The gym is really good - all new Technogym machines.

Pool
The hotel sports also the obligatory infinity-pool. It has a decent size and the view is arguable

Summary:
If you get a room below 100€ it is a good alternative, especially if you a the first time in BKK and want to tick off the tourist attractions.
Otherwise look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picknicker1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am a business traveller and I stayd there October 9-13 in an executive corner room. Rooms are spacious, 48sqm, with huge bathroom, and great views over Bangkok. Plus there is a little separated working corner. Free non-alcoholic drinks all day. What makes it particularly good is the happy hour each evening from 5.30pm to 7.30pm in the 32nd fl sky lounge: A buffet with high-quality food such as salmon and tapas, sushi (not the usual cheap stuff). The buffet is good enough to replace the dinner in fact, and if you are with 2 persons, and having a bottle or two of the good wine, this alone is worth it! Plus breakfast privilege in skylounge, with excellent food again. Views are great in skylounge. Location directly at BTS, so it does not take you long to get anywhere in Bangkok, traffic is not an issue. The gym is well equipped and open 24 hours which is great. Only downside: The pool is too small, and the elevators at times a bit crowded. But all in all: The Executive privileges, are great value!

Room Tip: Executive Corner Rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 162Markus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#17 of 879 in Bangkok
8,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#31 of 879 in Bangkok
6,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Address: 33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $103 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn is one of the premier hotels in Bangkok's luxury hotel sector. This deluxe property is centrally located in the Sathorn business district, and a short drive via the nearby expressway to Suvarnabhumi International Airport. It is unique in being the only hotel in Bangkok with its own direct access to the BTS Sky Train system at Surasak Station literally bringing the city to your doorstep. All 390 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites are decorated in soft, subtle tones and feature the latest amenities for the comfort of both le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing