We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Ranked #179 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The price was good and the room actually suprisingly spacious for HI express chain. The location was good close to the metro and right nearby to the Siam Paragon shopping centre. The breakfast was OK although a very small space for the amount of guests and you usually had to wait for a table. Only other complaint the reception seemed a little understaffed and there was always a long wait there. Over all though cant complain for the price.

Room Tip: We had a corner room I think they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambiamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniale L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear ZambiameII,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us with your feedback.We are pleased you liked our great location and our smart design room. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with our service at front desk. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warmest Regards,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,709 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My first trip to Bangkok, booked this hotel because of it's location to central part of the city and monorail. I stay in Holiday Inn Express hotels in North america frequently and again it felt like coming home. The staff at the front counter did their work efficiently and with smiles. I arrived early in the morning, so I had to wait until 2:00 pm for the room to be ready for check in. My luggage was put in storage until that time.
The view from the fifteenth floor room was OK to see the sunrise in the morning.
I had booked the room on line, price was very good including buffet style breakfast.
Variety at breakfast was good and to my liking with good many items to choose from.
The room was comfortable for one person, large King size bed, comfortable mattress and pillows. Decor of the room was modernly pleasant and all lights worked. Bathroom had all the good stuff needed, shower was large and roomy. Computer connection was fast and efficient, to keep in touch with home.
I must say that this Holiday Inn Express Hotel met all my expectations on my first trip to Bangkok and if I return, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: The elevators are fast and secured...Higher floors have good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETtravels071940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear ETtravels071940,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Most importantly it is your kind words about the great location, free breakfast, free wifi and comfy bed which we really appreciate as this is the difference for us between being good and great.

Thanks again for taking the time to write, we are looking forward to welcoming you back, please do ensure you say hello when you return.

Warmest regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this hotel for the location and price. Unfortunately rewards nights were completely booked well in advance so we had to pay cash but it was pretty cheap so no worries there. Travelers should beware that it is not necessarily convenient to get to the Siam area by taxi during the day due to traffic. It took us almost 2 hours from the airport, most of it stop and go over the last 2-3 miles. It probably would have been faster to take the train system. Check-in was a big of a mess since there were only two poor souls working the front desk (I self so bad for them dealing with one lady who had booked through a 3rd party website who didn't speak English [or Thai obviously] and they couldn't find her reservation). It took maybe 10 minutes to check in. We were upgraded to a corner room due to our Priority Club status. We were asked how many internet devices we were using and were given free tickets for 24 hours of internet use. We had to get new tickets every day for each device (simple, just had to remember to ask at the front desk).

The room was pretty small but had everything we'd need. Nice shower, bed was decent, pillows were a little too soft despite one being "firm". The view was nice, AC was arctic cold if left on. We didn't have a "do not disturb" for some reason, not a big deal but when we remembered to ask at the front desk for one, it never showed up. Oh well. A few other people commented that room service was a bit slow and I also found that to be true. We got back to the hotel at 4:30 one afternoon and they had not reached our room yet. Not a big deal but kind of surprising. It's a pretty big hotel and I suspect that they just are understaffed in many departments.

Breakfast was ok if a little sparse. Eggs, fried rice, chicken sausage, toast, some pastries/muffins, nice coffee machines, various juices and fruits. It was pretty packed though so I recommend going early. The elevators were pretty busy too especially during peak hours so you might have to wait a minute or two.

As is typical I find myself pointing out all of the complaints in a hotel but to be honest none of the above were a big deal to me. With the price we paid, I have no complaints with the service and the location is great for tourists. A minute or two from the train, close to MBK, tons of food options. The employees were obviously over-worked but they were very polite and helpful whenever we dealt with them.

Overall, I'd say this is a good budget option for those visiting Bangkok.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are supposedly a little bigger. If that's true, I wouldn't want to see a non-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spf3million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear spf3million,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us with your feedback.We are pleased you liked our great location and our smart design room. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with our service at front desk. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Warmest regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Basic stuff, housekeeping service, complimentary water and that's about it. No in-room dining, bar and pool.

I must say that the guards outside are friendlier than the front office agents. They would always welcome us back to the hotel and flag a cab whenever we want to go out.

Room Tip: choose a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear paolo p,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our our service. We are pleased that your stay has meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to [hotel] and stay smart with us for your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed out all night and made sure to get drunk so the experience of this hotel can go away.
The staff uniforms looks cheap like the hotel.
They hold deposit money for 14 days
no one explains anything they just charge.
The food sucks at the restaurant only Asain food
hardly any choice.
If you are this cheap get an apartment in Bangkok
this place has no pool.
rooms were dirty and house keeping was always late.
imagine if you have a guest.
Internet was the worse.
go to a Holiday Inn
you need more in Bangkok
Sometimes you want to stay in your room and a hotel should have all for this.
washing machine 100 bht
also iron your cloth in front of everyone
right across breakfast area

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mial144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear mai I,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via Tripadvisor. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

I would like to thank you for providing your feedback on our service. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

warm regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Book HIEx Siam and had no regret

Value for money, good service provided from all the staff, nice simple breakfast, quick check-in/out, excellect location, free WIFI, modern contemporary and clean room, nice big shower area, mini safe to put all your valuable.

Will definitely recommend this hotel especially for 1st time traveller to BKK

Room Tip: There is a restaurant (Asia Bar+Kitchen) on the ground floor which open till 1am. Good for those who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent_Sgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Vincent_Sgp,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the hotel. It is great to know how much you enjoyed your stay and all aspects from great value, free wifi and breakfast and good service from our staff.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to write and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam.

Warmest regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Siam, Bangkok was really good. Service was fast and friendly, the price is reasonable, free and fast internet connection, good breakfast and excellent location. I really recommend this hotel especially to first time travellers to Bangkok.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear D A,

Thank you for your great review. I was delighted to read you had such a wonderful stay and the great location, free wifi and breakfast and our service would bring you back again.

Thanks again for taking the time to write, we really appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam again.

Warm regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#152 of 887 in Bangkok
1,538 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#93 of 887 in Bangkok
2,218 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#81 of 887 in Bangkok
1,221 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 887 in Bangkok
5,577 reviews
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam

Address: 889 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $80 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time. Located at National Stadium Sky Train Station, in the centre of Siam Business and Shopping District, we are steps away from most Bangkok's favorite dining and entertainment options and 45 minutes drive from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is a convenient base for shopping and sightseeing, head to the Jim Thompson House and Bangkok Art and Culture Center to buy souvenirs and explore Thai culture.The hotel features 300 brand new rooms and all rooms are designed for everything you need for a great stay. Start the day right with our free Express Start Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi through-out the hotel. Experience our high quality bathroom, bedding and enjoy your favorite music with our iPod docking station to recharge after a long day.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including MBK, Siam Paragon and Central World, and located on the BTS sky train line, guests are a short ride away from Chatuchak Weekend Market where travellers can experience the best of Thailand’s street stall culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing