We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat, Sleep, Bath, Get Out!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Ranked #175 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eat, Sleep, Bath, Get Out!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip, i decided to take a detour from Holiday Inn Silom where i stay usually when i go to bangkok. I wanted to stay near Siam Square because i thought the nights would be livelier over there. But sadly that wasnt the case.
I realized that Silom Rd. is the best place to stay in Bangkok. Its has everything one might need within a walking distance and also it is kind of in the center of the city.

As for the hotel, i know that its an express, but really... they take this "Express" thing a bit too far in my opinion. Why cant i even get some fresh towels in my room if i need them? i have to go down to the lobby to get them myself!
The food was disappointing and in shockingly less variety in the buffet.

Everything else was as expected.. upto Holiday inn standards..
but the whole Express concept is really not for me. And not for a lotta other travelers. Be Warned!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aayushgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    779
    230
    56
    28
See reviews for
251
547
174
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

It's in a great location, walking distance to shopping. The only problem we find is staff are poor in english, you asked one front desk staff and she ended up getting another staff to answer your queries, so you need to repeat the whole thing again. Staff need to also advise guests that lifts are operated by key card and info on breakfast, as we had to ask specifically. Try calling housekeeping and you would tear your hair out, they can hardly speak or understand english. Other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILDLILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Location

Hotel is less than 5mins walk to the nearest BTS - National Stadium Station. 5-10 mins walk to MBK Mall. Nearby there's a 7-eleven store which will be packed with tourists and locals during the night time.

Room

Bed - The hotel biggest bed size is queen only, which my husband and me find it abit small, esp when you turn and toss you will tends to knock on each other.

Bathroom - It's neat and clean, ask from the frontdesk service staffs for all your bathroom necessities, and they are happy to give it to you.

Shower room - It tends to floods whenever we shower, as the drainage is so slow and we had made complains to the service desk but nothing had been done.

Breakfast

Breakfast was a disappointment, as not much of a choice. As they provide the normal bread and fruits plus 4 main dishes daily. Day 1, we had chicken sausages, egg rolls, porridge and fried noodles. Day 2, we had chicken sausages, scramble eggs, porridge and fried rice. Day 3, we had chicken sausages (again), scramble eggs (again), porridge and fried beehoon (which is very dried). And the breakfast area was pretty warm as the air-con is not powerful enough to cool down the room which normally will be packed with guests, plus every morning will have a direct sunlight shinning on it.

Service Staffs

Service staffs mostly are quite friendly and helpful and able to communicate with English, except for a very few of them.

Room Tip: For those who wants a quite room, ask for rooms facing away from the BTS tracks and lift lobby. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm not sure why some of my friends made faces when I told them I was staying at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is new and extremely clean. No mildew in the bathroom, bright white sheets, new furniture... The room is slightly small, but I am not complaining considering the price.

The location is what makes this hotel perfect. It is a 5-minute walk to the "National Stadium" train / metro station. Walk another 5 minutes and you are at the start of a stretch of malls, such as MBK, Siam DIscovery. The Bangkok Art and Culture Gallery is literally around the corner as well, thought we unfortunately went on a Monday when it was closed.

I will stay there on my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wohenshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012


This is a great new hotel in Bangkok! It's located in a great area (Siam area) with many shopping options just a short walk away. Also there is the "national stadium"metro station only one minute walk from the hotel and it is maybe 10 minutes walking to the "Siam" stop. The MBK mall across the street has tons of shopping and a great food court with many different selections. Just an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel is the Jim Thompson silk house which I think is a must see when visiting Bangkok. The hotel itself has a very fresh, clean and modern feel. The front desk staff is excellent in explaining everything you need to know, from hotel information to near by attractions. They were all very friendly and welcoming. My room was nice and had great air conditioning (a must in Thailand!), a very comfortable bed and lots of pillows(soft&firm). Also there was a safe in the closet and good size bathroom with a huge shower. Two great benefits of staying at Holiday Inn Express's is the free wifi and breakfast. The wifi in my room had great signal, no problems, also there was 2 free computers to use in the lobby. The breakfast was also very good with a wide variety of choices(American & Asian). The breakfast room was very cool with lots of seating. Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam and I wish I stayed longer. Would definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilove2travel_kristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

i was not very happy with this hotel. the pillows were smelly.. asked to changed for new one for all our pillows. i could find some hairs on the bath towel. Staff was friendly and helpful. no bath tub nor spa in the hotel. nearby there were 2 thai massage.

Excellent is good, 5-8mins walk to mbk n siam paragon however, most of the taxi drivers duno this hotel.. it was kinda painful to communicate with the local taxi drivers whom duno this hotel, especially night time.. we were driven to holiday inn silom instead.

breakfast was ok, not many varieties, repeating stuff everyday..if u're staying more than 4 days, u would be sure tired of e same foods everyday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yangly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sujitra S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Yangly11,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us, I'm glad you found the location of our hotel excellent. I am deeply sorry that you encountered some issues with the services you received during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Bangkok you will give our hotel another try.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Warmest regards,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Although I got excellent rate, was not very happy with the hotel. Check in check out took little longer than usual. Breakfast was good. Cleanliness was the deal breaker! Both room and bathroom was dirty. Staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent location

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sujitra S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Adrian S,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding the hotel location, our breakfast and friendly staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology about the cleanliness that impacted your experience at ou hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best it can be.

Warmest regards,
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#95 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#127 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#102 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Address: 889 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time. Located at National Stadium Sky Train Station, in the centre of Siam Business and Shopping District, we are steps away from most Bangkok's favorite dining and entertainment options and 45 minutes drive from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is a convenient base for shopping and sightseeing, head to the Jim Thompson House and Bangkok Art and Culture Center to buy souvenirs and explore Thai culture.The hotel features 300 brand new rooms and all rooms are designed for everything you need for a great stay. Start the day right with our free Express Start Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi through-out the hotel. Experience our high quality bathroom, bedding and enjoy your favorite music with our iPod docking station to recharge after a long day.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including MBK, Siam Paragon and Central World, and located on the BTS sky train line, guests are a short ride away from Chatuchak Weekend Market where travellers can experience the best of Thailand’s street stall culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing