We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new, Modern, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Ranked #171 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
AMSTELVEEN
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brand new, Modern, Good Location”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A brand new HIEX near Siam square in the heart of bangkok. The hotel is just a one minute walk to BTS. Conveniently located only one stop from Siam Paragon and three stops from Silom. One of the best HIEX I've stayed in. Good value for money.

Highlight (based on a consecutive 12 nights stay)
- Excellent interior of rooms and public areas
- Excellent air-conditioning in public areas
- Very nice view from the high floors
- Location is very convenient


Attention points:

-The rooms are not sound-proof. You will easily hear your neighbors talking.
- Rooms on the south side (facing the National Stadium) are rather noisy. You will easily hear the BTS train every 5 minutes from 6 am to midnight. This is very annoying.
-The coffee in breakfast is pre-brewed and has a quite synthetic taste.
-The "queen size" bed is small & too short in Western standards.

Room Tip: Nice self service laundry and dryer service is available on the 7th floor. You can easily wash your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SQUEEZED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    817
    240
    58
    34
See reviews for
269
573
191
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is just next to National Stadium station. But to get to MBK, you will need to take the bridge next to the Thai Cultural Center. Location is good. We had booked connecting rooms and were pleased upon check in. We removed the bed runners and pillow tags for the night. Guess what it was where it is the next day after we came back in the evening. But rooms were already tidied so why the housekeeping had not put away those runners and tags? I like the idea of take-away breakfast. Though simple, it's enough for all of us. Overall, we have enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yohyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was on holiday with my husband in Bangkok from 31 Mai 2012 to 4 June 2012 and 15 June until 17 June 2012. And we stayed at The Holiday Inn Express from 15 June to 17 June 2012

After that we went to Vietnam and came back Bangkok before we went back Switzerland. And here is my terrible experience by the Holiday Inn Express.

We arrived at the hotel after long time drive from the airport because the taxi driver didn't know exactly where the hotel is. Even I booked a room on booking.com already because I know this hotel is near MBK when we passed by on the way to Siam Siam Hotel ( at the first time in Bangkok ) and the Hotel look modern and beautiful outside.

Greeted us was an unfriendly receptionist. There were two receptionists there. And we checked in with one of them which was the most terrible reception I have seen in my travel alround. I didn' know that there wasn't doorbell there to help you bring your luggages to the room. It is still ok because I justed realised that the hence ""Inn Express"". But when I asked the receptionist that 'Do you habe somebody to help us bring our luggages to our room ? '. And she answered me ' You can bring it BY YOUR SELF madame". . As a reception at so elegant hotel I think that at least the receptionist could give a better answer. This is a Inn Express but definitely not a guest house. I am working also in Hospitality and I understand some mistakes can happen. But such a stupid answer by check in by The Holiday Inn Express, I would NEVER NEVER come back again.

We paid 72 Swiss Franc / night there. This price is not high to compare with other hotels in Bangkok but definite not cheap. Because the room is modern, clean but there wasn't a basic what you need in the bathroom and nothing in minibar. If you need some toothpas.... You need to collect the, at the reception. This is only a room that you can sleep.

English of the reception was not so good. And I still remembered that the next day when we walked by the reception, this unfriendly receptionist tried to pretend like she didn't see us.

One of the man Tuk Tuk in front of the hotel even showed my husband pictures of naked Thai women and asked him if he wants to have a service from a Thai prostitude. This I never can imagine it can happen outside direct in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: I can' give any tip to help travellers choose a good room because I will not come back this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girl84_vietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Girl_84 Vietnam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the New Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam. We are happy you thought the hotel was modern and in a great location but are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion in other areas. In response to some of you points I did want to explain.
1) Yes . The Holiday Inn Express concept worldwide does not provide a bell service. We provide airport style trolleys and have security teams on stand by at arrival to help life from your transport onto a trolley.

2) We are constantly monitoring our guest feedback and have in place training for our front office team on guest engagement. We will use your example in training's to prevent any future problems. In fairness all other reviews are very complimentary to our staff and am surprised of your issues you experienced. We will follow up.

3) Tuk Tuk drivers are not allowed outside the hotel at all and our security move them away if they try and part up. But we cannot stop any drivers parking down the road further or nearby our property. Therefore I believe you may have encountered the driver at nearby location. Again we have shared with our security team to move any tuk tuk drivers away.

Thanks again for your feedback,

Regards,

Sue
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stay here for business travel, the room is clean, nice and new. The bathroom is big but you have to ask the reception if you need some thing like lotion, shaver or shampoo. The 32 inches TV in the room is not clear but good to have free WiFi in the room. There is a iphone ipod charger doc in the room as well. The breakfast is same everyday but good.

Room Tip: Try to select the room in the higher floor for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hktinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipodes
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having booked their opening special for 1999b ++, including b/f and wifi, check-in was simple and efficient after a warm welcome from staff. The room 1019 was fairly small and spartan. Having requested a smoking room, one expects a certain odour to linger, but the room stench could only be matched by those dreadful smoking rooms one encounters at an airport, completely overpowering. **Management, please find room in the budget to equip cleaning staff with deodorising spray, your smoking rooms are FAR more stinky & disgusting than any I've ever encountered. As a brand new hotel, it was interesting to see that the wall paper is already bubbling and peeling from the wall (see picture). I imagine this hotel will age very quickly when one considers the average workmanship which is apparent, particularly in the (otherwise adequate) bathroom.

Double bed was a small double, but otherwise very comfortable 7/10 for sleep quality. The room also managed to squeeze in one comfortable chair. TV had various channel options, but tv reception was poor.

Breakfast is served in a light airy dining area, with enough options to to keep you coming back, and the excellent addition of large takeaway cups for coffee or tea for those on the run, or wanting to take a coffee back to the room.

Wifi was included and worked very well, but other services were somewhat lacking, with room service (at this stage) consisting of whatever the local pizza/kfc etc deliveries provide. On the same level as the breakfast area is a small gym, free ice machine, coin operated drink and snack machine as well as a self serve laundry room - all very handy, and useful.

Location is GREAT, just steps from National Stadium BTS station, MBK and so on. You wouldn't choose this hotel if you MUST have all the services provided by 4 & 5 star hotels, but for busy days out and about, it's just fine to come home to for a restful sleep.

I've still given the hotel 4/5, because after all, it IS Holiday Inn EXPRESS, which don't purport to be luxurious, it is really only the smokey stench that marks it down.

Room Tip: If you're selecting a smoking room, bring your own room deodoriser!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stay at this hotel on Jun 2012... Like other traveller said, it's a perfect location with the shopping complex nearby.. Breakfast is simple and you can also take away the drink like 'Starbucks'...

There is meeting room available. If your company is planning to have a training or conference, you might recommend this hotel to your boss. The room can equiped with a small group of people with around 10-12.

No swimming pool here and also no massage service available. However, there is a massage centre called Gold Hands Thai Massage just a few steps away from the hotel. 1 hour foot massage or Thai massage is only THB200... If you would like to ask them to go to hotel room to do the massage, additional THB 100 have to pay and you need to call them yourself. The front office staff will not provide 'calling' service.

MBK shopping centre is just across the road with 10 mins walking distance.. Siam Discovery and Siam Paragon are same row with the hotel. 15 mins walking distance... If you are lazy to walk like me, you can either take a BTS from National Stadium station to Siam station (only 1 stop).. The National BTS Stadium is just 2 mins walking distance from the hotel. Very convenient..

If you wish to go to Asiatique the Riverfront (the new tourist spot), just taking the same BTS line from National Stadium Station to Saphan Taksin station which is no interchange required. The pier is just 3 mins away from Saphan Taksin station, you can take the shuttle boat with FOC from the pier to Asiatique (last boat 11.09pm from Asiatique to Sathorn pier).

Overall the hotel is quite convenient, reasonable. I will sure to recommend to my friends for this hotel and come back again..

Room Tip: Clean, perfect location. Sutiable for all kinds of group of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry_Tam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Great modern rooms with everything you expect from a five star hotel. iPhone charger / alarm clock was a great bonus.
Free breakfast and wifi.
Cons: very busy so sometimes it's hard to get service but when you do it's generally excellent

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tansc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#157 of 867 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#98 of 867 in Bangkok
2,118 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#121 of 867 in Bangkok
349 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#74 of 867 in Bangkok
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Address: 889 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time. Located at National Stadium Sky Train Station, in the centre of Siam Business and Shopping District, we are steps away from most Bangkok's favorite dining and entertainment options and 45 minutes drive from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is a convenient base for shopping and sightseeing, head to the Jim Thompson House and Bangkok Art and Culture Center to buy souvenirs and explore Thai culture.The hotel features 300 brand new rooms and all rooms are designed for everything you need for a great stay. Start the day right with our free Express Start Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi through-out the hotel. Experience our high quality bathroom, bedding and enjoy your favorite music with our iPod docking station to recharge after a long day.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including MBK, Siam Paragon and Central World, and located on the BTS sky train line, guests are a short ride away from Chatuchak Weekend Market where travellers can experience the best of Thailand’s street stall culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing