We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Express Inn Bangkok
Ranked #506 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel has some good points, the room was very clean, good shower/bath room, comfortable double bed and great location (Nana MRT station is quite literally around the corner). Some negatives though - if you have a car, dont bother, there is no where to park it... Staying on the 5th floor taxed my aging legs and there are no elevators... The staff are nice enough but their understanding of english is limited. Aircon and fridge are linked to the keycard operated power supply, so when you come back at the end of a hot and wearying day of culture, your room is stifling and the drinks you left in the fridge are warm...

Room Tip: Go for the first floor to avoid several flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

There are definatly positives and negatives to this hotel. I stayed in a room with a double bed with a close friend. The staff we okay, they did their job well, but there was not much interaction anyway. The room is neat, tidy, very clean but you do get what you pay for. We had to climb 3 flights of stairs as there is no elevator, our window cannot be seen out of, but these are small prices to pay for a cheap few nights. There was free wifi, though its pretty average. Air con worked perfectly and definatly needed to be put on to escape the heat outside. All in all, this hotel is satisfactory if your just looking for room to come back to after some adventures during day. No noise could be heard from outside in our room, but we did hear other people coming up the hall to there rooms quite prominently. I thought it was fine and served the purpose we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan_FMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I do not reccomend this hotel for stay. Rooms are neat but very congested and without any window. Aircon did not work properly. After scaling four floors through a narrow staircase (as there is no lift) we were pretty worked up and passage being too narrow and stuffy, it aggravated the problem. Aircon did not work after switching on, we called the staff, they were not able to understand the problem. After 1 hour they offered us another room on fifth floor but problem of aircon was same. The lady owner offered to return back the advance money in case we checked in another hotel. We looked for other hotel and when came back for checking out she refused to give back money. So we had to stay there in the stuffy room drenched in sweat. Basic amenities are there and it is near to BTS but it is not reccommended for family holidays.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manisha02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

rooms are small and bath room even smaller but clean and new. the staff there sit and watch you. no help. explain anything is very hard. they charge me extra 300 bhat for strain in the bed sheet when i depart, which i did't do and when i explain the lady, she threaten me you will not enter thailand next time as if she represent thai government. biggest advantage is location .indian food available nearby.be careful when check in for latter trouble.

Room Tip: last room in each floor is little big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sayarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Pros:
--Location,Location and Location..Located in Sukhmvit area,very close to Nana BTS stop.
--No noise levels
--Neat and clean rooms with basic amenities (fridge,AC,towels,water bottles) provided.
--Free wifi service in rooms and connection worked pretty decent
--Pricing
Cons:
--No lift and hotel has five floors. So be prepared..
--Ac takes some time to get cold effective but we realised using turbo switch on the remote helps a lot.
--Small bathrooms just for one person use.Water pressure was decent though..
--No eating options,tea,coffe place in the hotel but you are in a area where you don't have to look far beyond.
--Not much reception help.

Over all would recommend it for couples,bachelors.Worked Perfect for us as were out whole day..Back at hotel we always got a neat and clean room.Would not recommend for families who would prefer bigger rooms,lifts,room service,breakfast etc..Bare minimum but decent services at a bare minimum price.

Room Tip: Directions: how to reach from airport the hotel info at the website is incorrect. Airport express bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bedazzle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I would highly not recommend this hotel for stay. Rooms were extremely conjusted and there was a very thin staircase to enter the hotel. Staff was not at all helpful and not even care to shift luggage. Incase of any emergency at hotel, there was no provision to escape safely. Despite of booking hotel in advance, they gave us the room at 5th floor and it hardly had no space for anything else except one double bed (Size of single bed). Bathrooms were too small for even a single person use. The only advantage was location - The hotel is located at center place in Sukhumvit, accessible by metro and other main areas were connected. Rooms very clean.

Room Tip: Don't go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rantu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

To start out this is my 3rd vacation in Bangkok/Thailand and have stayed at many hotels in Thailand over the years. The location is top notch. It in the center of all action but quiet enough to get sleep when you need it. Very close to Skytrain which is a big plus.
The hotel is old, but has be renovated. My room had a air conditioner leak so I was getting wet going in/out of bathroom.
The staff were friendly by could not speak a lick of English which compounds any problems I had. I received someone else's wake up call very early one morning and never received the call I was looking for another morning (good thing I was already up and about or I would have missed my fight.) I was also charged for a towel which was damaged (ripped and stained) and placed in my room by the staff. They ordered me to pay 300 Baht and I ended up paying 150 Baht.
I was to meet a friend at this hotel. He was arriving later the day. When he arrived he found his room had been rented away and he ended up staying at a hotel all the way at the end of Soi 8 (1km away). He had booked his room with credit card and through travel very established travel website but that did not matter to the staff (who couldn't speak any English). Talk about frustrating.

Room Tip: Pay for the larger room for more space and comfort. The smaller rooms are very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
#371 of 889 in Bangkok
180 reviews
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
City Lodge Soi 9
City Lodge Soi 9
#515 of 889 in Bangkok
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#300 of 889 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#408 of 889 in Bangkok
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Express Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Express Inn Bangkok

Address: 4/3, Soi Sukhumvit 8, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $24 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Express Inn Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new inn is situated on Sukhumvit Soi 8. Royal Express Inn has 19 cheerful, modern & cozy rooms, with all rooms featuring a comfy king size-bed, wall-mounted flat screen TV, ensuite bathroom and complimentary wireless Internet access. It is only 50 meters from Nana BTS Skytrain Station & within an easy walk, a plethora of dining and entertainment venues, street stalls, banks, shopping centers and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Express Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Express Inn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing