We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Italian Joint on Soi 1”
Review of La Buca

La Buca
Ranked #746 of 10,950 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Italian Joint on Soi 1”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was looking for a small Italian restaurant to to for my birthday. I didn't want to deal with the usual HiSo crowd on Ekamai and Thong Lor. A friend suggested La Buca and it was a good choice.

It is hidden away on Soi 1, right near the 7/11. It is tiny - maybe 10 tables and quite initimate. It's perfect for a night out with a few friends but not if you are in the mood to be crazy. You would end up spoiling the other diners' meals. Signore Oreste is the owner/host/chef and he does it all with aplomb. He made some excellent suggestions: Saffron Risotto. Maine Lobster spaghetti a la diavolo, osso buco. The dessert selection is small we had homemade tirami su and a chocolate mousse-like concoction.
Go to La Buca if you want to have a lovely casual among friends and want to feel like an insider - not a tourist. Oh and if you are lucky, Signore Oreste will sing for you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1999Sandra1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great pasta dishes with live opera”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We (family with two boys - 3 and 1.5 years) went to La Buca together with a friend for an early dinner. Restaurant itself is not fancy at all, simple tables and chairs. Also the menu with pictures of most dishes would not suggest anything good....
HOWEVER - the food is excellent trattoria style. Starting with mixed cold starters of cold cuts and grilled vegetables (highly recommended with nice bread). We shared various Pasta dishes as main (Lasagna [which was positively different from many restaurants served on a plate in a not overwhelming greasy portion - probably the best I ever had], outstanding ravioli with truffles (must try) and one more pasta dish i can not remember). Had a very affordable good red wine along with it.
Only let down for me (and hence "only" 4* rating) was the dessert: The panna cotta was disappointing and miles away from the high standards of the rest of dishes.
Well entertained during dinner by the singing opera performance of the owner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cosy Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is just around the corner of the famous Bumrungrad Hospital and most taxi drivers are not familiar with it. The owner has a personal touch and entertaining with his guests and gives special attention.

The food was just nice except the order of serving the food is a mess. We had our soups after the appetiser, and main course. The lamb knuckle is tender and delicious but the onion soup wasnt up to our expectation probably that is the Italian style. We expected to see onions and probably covered with pastry.

It is worth a trip but just a caution to the restaurant the taxi is cheap but to get a taxi back to hotel they dont go by meter.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank axk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic home made food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great food, great wine, great atmosphere, great host. Small place, not fancy but the food is excellent. The owner is always there to make sure all is running well.

Helpful?
Thank GKann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Northern Italian cusine!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Small quirky little place food is excellent, great wine choices and then there is Mr. Oreste owner of this small restaurant he will make you feel like you just entered Italia! Well done!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buca also viewed

 

Been to La Buca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing