We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monsoon Restaurant: This place is fantastic”
Review of Monsoon Restaurant

Monsoon Restaurant
Ranked #160 of 11,054 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: WESTERN SPECIALTIES AND CLASSIC THAI FOOD ARE AVAILABLE AT MONSOON CAFÉ AND RESTAURANT. Monsoon Café and Restaurant is a sleek and stylish bistro tucked away on located in the heart of Sukhumvit, Monsoon restaurant stands out above the crowd. Unlike most of the other restaurants in the area, Monsoon mixes color and style with a wide range of menu items and drink specials. Monsoon proves to be popular with expats, tourists and locals. Monsoon Café and Restaurant offers a delicious range of local and international dishes. International style dishes are given equal footing with Thai and more café style fare such as burgers and pizzas. Drinks and light snacks are available at the Cocktail Bar.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Monsoon Restaurant: This place is fantastic”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

While some reviews from years past may not agree, currently this restaurant is the place to go.
I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner here in the past few weeks. Each time that I went, the food was delicious, staff friendly and the prices low. For instance, recently I tried their signature burger. It was approx. 1/2 lb., stacked with fresh onions, tomato and lettuce. Also on top were sauteed mushroom, Swiss cheese and a big pile of bacon. Plus they give you a side of curly fries and coleslaw. It was an absolute delicious monster burger for approx. 250-300b! They have a number of western style steaks and seafood as well. The Thai/Asian menu is very inexpensive and equally tasty in its own right.
Also a must is to try one of their many types of fresh smoothies. The create them from an assortment of fruits that you can select individually (strawberry smoothie) or mixed concoctions.
They have seating both indoors and out. The outside cafe is on a non-busy street and very comfortable seats/benches with cushions. So it is relaxing to sit there and people watch or read.
Do try this restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    255
    54
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went for staff diner to the Monsoon Restaurant. This is a westernised Thai restaurant all western dishes are served. Spagetthi, Pizza, but also Path Thai, Tong Yung Kung. It has a nice atmosphere and the staff speaks good English. The food and drinks are very reasonably priced. See the photo's for an impression of the dishes are the way they are served.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a reasonable price!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here on a late Sunday evening for the last evening of our 4 week trip, and we were very impressed by all aspects- Food, service, atmosphere and price!

The menu was an exciting mix of Mexican, Thai and Western.
We ordered quesadillas starter to share, half a chicken with basil mash for my partner and pork tenderloin with sour cream mash for me. The food was amazing! Really, very impressive. Beautifully cooked and really tasty. No complaints! (You got such generous portions of meat too)
Service was also great. Friendly and attentive. And the outdoor seating was comfy and had a good ambience. Our bill came to B1200 for the starter and two mains plus 4 beers, which I thought was very low considering the high quality.

Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nearly 1000 menu items”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The menu was enormous. Choices ranged across many culinary cultures: Thai, American, Italian or Mexican (to name a few). The drinks menu was impressive as well. The food might not have had the cheapest pricing, but the taste was certainly top notch.

The service was friendly; all of the servers worked together as a team.

We happened to choose this restaurant because it was so very close to our terrific tailor: Tom's Fashion. Very close to the Nana skyrail station.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

The voice of our customers is critical for us in maintaining our service and the experience you shared certainly matches what we aim for. Thank you for choosing Monsoon restaurant and we look forward to the next occasion where we will be able to provide a memorable experience for you.

Kind Regards,
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Thai & Western Food in Sukhumvit”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The ambience is nice and the food is overall very good. The service is above average for Thailand, but you pay for it. There is a wide variety of things- the cheapest being common Thai food at an inflated price, which gets you good quality meat in your curry or pad thai. Salads, burgers, etc. as well as a well-stocked bar round out the "fusion" aspect- although there are few true "fused" dishes to choose from.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Driffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our restaurant, we really appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience.

We do hope we will be able to make a best service for you again and we look forward to welcoming you again at Monsoon.

Kind regards,

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing