We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, nice outdoor seating, good thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monsoon Restaurant

Monsoon Restaurant
Ranked #151 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: WESTERN SPECIALTIES AND CLASSIC THAI FOOD ARE AVAILABLE AT MONSOON CAFÉ AND RESTAURANT. Monsoon Café and Restaurant is a sleek and stylish bistro tucked away on located in the heart of Sukhumvit, Monsoon restaurant stands out above the crowd. Unlike most of the other restaurants in the area, Monsoon mixes color and style with a wide range of menu items and drink specials. Monsoon proves to be popular with expats, tourists and locals. Monsoon Café and Restaurant offers a delicious range of local and international dishes. International style dishes are given equal footing with Thai and more café style fare such as burgers and pizzas. Drinks and light snacks are available at the Cocktail Bar.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, nice outdoor seating, good thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place serves both Thai and western food, however I only tried their Thai food.

The outdoor seating is very nice - Soi 8 is a nice, busy soi and is good for people watching. There are plenty of fans outside when things get hot. I never sat inside.

The Thai food is great, and can be as spicy as you like. The seafood salad (yam wunsen talay) is superb. Their fried rice dishes are simple and tasty, and their fried noodle dishes are exactly right. The curries are good too, I especially enjoyed the red duck curry. My favorite dishes are probably the simple stir fry dished with Thai basil - I tried both the seafood and the pork version. Topped with a fried egg it is a great lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Verdensvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our restaurant, We really appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience.

We do hope we will be able to make a best service for you again and we look forward to welcoming you again at Monsoon.

Kind regards,

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    229
    48
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enticing Menu Photos, Disappointing Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We saw the mouth-watering food photos of this place in a dining guide and decided to go give it a try. The restaurant offered Alfresco dining and indoor air-conditioned seatings. Under the 40 degree C heat today, we opted to sit inside, but the air-conditioning was still weak for this relatively small restaurant. We offered most of our food based on the attractive photos in the menu: French Onion soup and Wild Mushroom soup (soup of the day), soft shell crab salad, seasame chicken salad and grilled beef salad and the fabulously photographed seafood paella. The soups were salty, just something you get in any western cafe, the salads were quite ok, but the grilled beef, although medium rare, was tough and tasteless. The Seafood Paella was exceptionally disappointing. First it came in the usual flat hot plate that most paella are being served. Nothing spectular like the one being photoed which came in a big tin bucket (sort of like mussels served in a French restaurant). Taste of the paella was just ok but too much sauce on the dish. The service was satisfactory. I think people come here to enjoy the ambience more so than the food itself. To us, it is nothing more than a street-side cafe. A place I don't mind coming for a sandwich and a cup of coffee!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank omo_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Customers;

Thank you for the time that you have taken to write a review for Monsoon restaurant.

The voice of our customers is an essential part in helping us to maintain our services quality. It would be our great pleasure if our services become one of your memorable experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Monsoon.

Best Regards

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb! Service is amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am finishing my meal at monsoon at the moment. Still seated in their comfortable sofa on the veranda. What makes this place special is the staff. 5 stars service even better than the service I experienced at the Oriental Hotel. Frankly. They have lots of trainees but they are actually even better than the permanent team! A comfy, cozy, stylish, simple place with great food and ambience. Extremely well run place! Well done!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you for the time that you have taken to write a review for Monsoon restaurant.

The voice of our customers is an essential part in helping us to maintain our services quality. It would be our great pleasure if our services become one of your memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Monsoon.

Best Regards

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The breakfasts buffet were very good and plenty of choice. The evening meals were delicious, service very good, staff were responsive and friendly. The deserts were very tasty and well presented. Strongly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for the time that you have taken to write a review for Monsoon restaurant.

The voice of our customers is an essential part in helping us to maintain our services quality. It would be our great pleasure if our services become one of your memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Monsoon. .

Beast Regards

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food, good service, awesome mojitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with a long time Bangkok resident. We had a lovely dinner from the numerous world stops on this big menu. The mojitos were lovely. Wife is Japanese and a qualified chef (read harsh critic of food and service) and she thought everything was pulled off well. Everything was great but the Paella stood out as a winner on the day. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsoonbangkok, Manager at Monsoon Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our restaurant, We really appreciate the time and effort in sharing your experiences because our focus is on the guest and providing the best experience.

We do hope we will be able to make a best service for you again and we look forward to welcoming you again at Monsoon.

Kind regards,

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing