We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“À quiet and relaxing place with decent And affordable French food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Eiffel - CLOSED

Comptoir Eiffel
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: In May 2014 Le Petit Zinc restaurant becomes Comptoir Eiffel. This well-known restaurant appreciated par many loyal guests begins a reconversion towards more refinement and diversity while maintaining the original Parisian bistro spirit. As soon as you come through the door you can feel the warm and friendly ambience of the venue. The owner has recently taken over the three years old restaurant, and is fully dedicated to the wellness of it guests. Guests can choose among different spaces: a private room on the mezzanine, a terrace with shadow, and the main dining-room facing the bar. Wherever you seat, you can instantly feel transported to Saint Germain des Pres. Once you are comfortably settled, it's time to look at the menu. The Chef and its team honour dishes from all over France with Perigourdine salad, Half-cooked tuna and piperade, and the traditional Onion soup. And concerning fish? You will find them on skewers, in carpaccio, grilled from the oven...Meat with their tenderness will please sensitive palates, as the foie gras duo will do. In the genuine spirit of a French bistro-brasserie, duck specialties and salads are important to the menu. Cheese lovers are not forgotten thanks to a judicious selection of both French and local cheese. Finally, weekly specials from the blackboard enhance the care given to cook with fresh ingredients. Comptoir Eiffel is open every day for lunch and dinner.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“À quiet and relaxing place with decent And affordable French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took 3 courses menu for lunch @ 540 baths. Simple and well prepared French food in a quiet place. Bavette échalote was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tchrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    14
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yay! Best French Bistro in Bangkok!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I love this place. I've lived 7 years in France and this takes me back. The food is excellent: I usually get the Salade Perigourdine and then the magret or the confit. All is good. The piece de resistance is the chocolate cake at the end which is highly recommended--ask for a second serving of vanilla ice cream. Dont' say I didn't warn you!

The wine selection is excellent and last time I was there they had an excellent Bergerac that I enjoyed with my choices.

Do go back. Do patronize Le Petit Zinc. Enjoy the food. Its inexpensive and well worth every baht!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ben s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely casual evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a lovely casual evening with friends and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal - an excellent french onion soup and superb foie gras. My husband had scallops and was disappointed as the texture was wrong. They appeared to be the imitation scallops that restaurants sometimes use. So 10/10 from me but only 5/10 from him. Service was good and prices weren't exorbitant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit Z, Owner at Comptoir Eiffel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lynette,

Thank you very much for you review. I'm just really sorry that your husband didn't enjoy his dish. But just to let you know we never have and never will use "imitation scallop". We use high quality over-sized scallops from Alaska. We prepare this dish in a French style, meaning rare inside and grilled outside which explained maybe the fact that you husband didn't like the texture.

We hope to see you soon in our restaurant,
Kind regards,
Muriel Dazard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nice French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great little French bistro around the corner from my condo. Ate there for the first time today and will definitely be going back. Had the goats cheese salad and my friend had the duck, both meals where great. Staff don't hang on you either, nice to have that type of service. Ambience is quite nice too, they have done the fit-out well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Have heard of this restaurant through a French documentary about Bangkok, hence we decided to give it a try. The location is quite convenient. Once in, the interior ambiance is very nice but the welcoming was quite poor and unfriendly. There were 3 of us and everyone had a different feeling on the food. Don't get me wrong, the cold plate of charcuteries is excellent, the duck is average but excellent side dishes with roasted potatoes. The lamb shank on the other side was a complete disappointment, but were we feel there was a let down was the level of service. Agree with some of the other comments, there is a poor level of engagement and will to make you feel welcome and willing to come back from the manager and the team. This is somehow in contrast with the documentary where the owners gave us a better feeling to come, try and support this little restaurant. It's a pity as there such a little things to do to make this place a real gem.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamAtlantis_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Eiffel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing