We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Khao san rd area”
Review of Baan Boran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Boran
Ranked #234 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great choice in Khao san rd area”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although the street it is on isn't the most scenic or easy to find for a taxi driver the best thing about the hotel is the location. It is an easy 10 minute walk to Khao San Rd, the Grand Palace and the river which for our short stay in Bangkok was ideal.
The staff are helpful although there is generally only one person on at a time who speaks English. The room was clean and tidy but could have done with a fridge.
For anyone looking to stay in the Khao San Rd area this small hotel represents great value in this price bracket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeeBee053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Baan Boran is located near Khao San Road, Grand Palace, Wat Pho and the big river. Nice location but the local people live very dirty and smelly.
The friendly staff served drinks and a little fruit every afternoon. They were very helpfull but had trouble speaking english. Only one of the girls spoke some english.
Our room was fairly big and clean, and had a flat screen tv but no fridge thou.
The breakfast was not impressing. It was a choice between two slices of toast with egg, ham and sausage or a Pad Thai. The portions were small and quality standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRosbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great hotel, very good and accomodating service. The food was good and the people working at the hotel were very nice though not speaking english very well. The room was very clean, despite an odor of sewage coming from the toilets. Also, from our room we had a view of what looked like a slum. But we did feel very safe in the hotel and in surronding areas, even if it is not as touristy as Kao San road.
Great value for the price.
Taxi drivers seems to have difficulty to find the hotel. Locating the hotel on a map could be of some help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmbeaudoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Baan Boran was an amazing place to stay for the cost, I have no complaints. The staff was very accommodating and was always on call if anything was needed. They were very nice and helped us several times describe to our tuk-tuk/taxi drivers where we were going. This one thing we had trouble with was the location, it is tucked away on an off street that was difficult to find with the map the hotel gives you. My suggestion is to buy a city map, as soon as I did I had no problems getting back. Overall this was an amazing place, the rooms were clean, and for the price I'm not sure if you can beat it. It was also a plus that many of the big sites to see were a 15-20 minute walk away and it is near the port for the water taxi's which was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradleybl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Room very clean. Staff spoke good English and were happy to help with suggestions, directions, etc. Greeted warmly. Allowed us to leave some market purchases for safekeeping for two weeks until we came back through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have booked our first night in BKKin Baan Boran, guided by trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Ended up extending for the remainder of our BKK stay. It is clean, safe and customer service was great. For a very reasonable budget you get decent room, comfy and clean bed, very effective quiet aircon, extremely clean bathroom with very nice hot water shower. Room and bathroom has been made spotless clean every day and towels and linen have also been changed every day. We were served different types of local fruits every time we came back to the hotel, all delicious! They have offered us concierge service free of charge on the last day. Overall if you want to stay in the Khao San Rd area Baan Boran is an excellent choice, worth every penny. Make sure you have a map to the hotel printed and on you to show to a taxi driver. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra82b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights at the end of June.

As other reviewers have said this is run by a group of women and one is the English speaker. They tried very hard to provide a lovely hotel but miss the mark just a little.

We have been to BKK before and stayed in hostels in Asia, and for us the price, location, and cleanliness were ideal. For people with pull along suitcases this isn't the place.

It is basic, not in a bad way, it is a concrete block built around the wooden buildings and the rooms are lacking in features, the one we had was large and had some simple furnishing, but was painted white and was a bit too large it felt a bi clinical.

The hostel has a restaurant which we didn't try.

Location was ideal for us, we have previously stayed next to Khao San Road so know our way to the river boats etc so this was perfect, it's a 15min walk to KSR which makes it easy to head out there in the evening, but you aren't kept awake with the teenagers partying all night.

The street on which the hostel is located is not a touristy street, there are ladies out looking for clients at night, but only a handful and here is no tension, we were not uncomfortable at all.

The location is also good for the main tourist sites of the palace and wat po, but beware that if you want to spend most of your time in central Bangkok then this is out of the centre, to get to the centre it is easy to take a 'orange flag' boat south from pier 13 to 'central' which cost THB15 then walk from the central pier to the sky train and get a ticket to Siam square THB30. The river boat is a great way to travel, you see a lot, but it's slow, will take 40mins to an hour to get into the centre where MBK (main shopping) and Lumpini park. Taxi isn't much better as traffic is bad, but we did it once in a tuk tuk which took 25mins and cost 200THB.

One top tip is to get to Lumpini park in the evening from 17:00 to 19:00 they have mass aerobics classes and lots of joggers, then they all stop dead at 18:00 when the national anthem is played, very cool!!

Back to the hotel/hostel it was quiet when we were there, we didn't interact with any other travellers, and it felt a little soul-less, but if you are self contained and just want clean and well priced, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Taris Art Hotel Phrae
#2 of 10 in Phrae
1 reviews
Banglamphu
Royal Hotel Bangkok
Royal Hotel Bangkok
#707 of 862 in Bangkok
361 reviews
Banglamphu
At Smile House
At Smile House
#108 of 650 in Bangkok
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Siamese Views Lodge
Siamese Views Lodge
#101 of 650 in Bangkok
147 reviews
Banglamphu
The Grand Palace Hostel
The Grand Palace Hostel
#270 of 650 in Bangkok
16 reviews
Baan Chanasongkram
#260 of 1,210 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Boran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Boran

Property: Baan Boran
Address: 27 Boonsiri Road San Chao Por Sua, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Boran 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Boran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing