We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good, would definitely stay there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Boran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Boran
Ranked #220 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really good, would definitely stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Spent 6 nights here last week (with a 1 night gap in the middle to go to Ayutthaya, in which they were happy to keep our suitcase). The staff were all very friendly. Only one seemed to speak much english but the others tried their best to help and would go and fetch someone if they didn't understand. Room was beautifully furnished and very clean. Each day when we arrived back from sightseeing they gave us fresh fruit and a cold drink, which was very welcome! There was a good choice of foods for breakfast, although we always chose a western style and it was nice. The hotel is a good location for visiting the old city, as it is not to close to the Khao san area (i.e. it's quiet at night). There's some girls on the street 'waiting for business' but we felt safe walking around and the girls were actually quite nice and friendly towards us. The only down side was that most taxi drivers don't know where this road is. We had a lot of problems with taxi drivers generally during our week, so it's not unusual to have drivers who don't know where any road is at all!! The hotel staff will give you a map with pictures when you arrive, and I'd recommend you carry this with you and point to Democracy monument if the taxi driver is confused. It's a 5 minute walk from there if you have to walk.
Overall, we really liked this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_Jo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

The girls that run this place must be some of the helpful, kindest and sweetest you will ever meet. There are two old wooden houses in the centre which are being renovated and not used, the hotel rooms are in a concrete building around the old houses. We had a superior double which was spacious, spick and span and with a good shower. If you are there in the afternoon they give you a plate of delicious fruit and a cold drink, very welcome. The hotel has a good central position, not far from the Khao San Road and about 20 minutes walk to the Grand Palace. The hotel has a café in the style of an Italian ice cream parlour with chrome chairs and polished floor. We ate here several times and found the food to be excellent and good value (though don’t believe the girls when they say non-spicy – it may still blow your head off!!) We flew into and out of Bangkok and they looked after a couple of bags for us for a month. We’d definitely recommend it as a good base to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topbanana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I loved my 4 nights here and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the old part of the city who would prefer to be in a quieter area away from the hustle and bustle. Having said that, it is only 10-20 minutes away by foot from lots of the local attractions: Kao San Rd, Wat Po, Grand Palace, river trips....... My room was spacious and spotlessly clean, a credit to the housekeeping staff. Breakfast was served in their own Kaffee House and every morning a huge mug of tea was brought for me as I had mentioned that I loved lots of tea! The staff are truly wonderful and cannot do enough for you! Like the previous comment, I too was fed local fruits and herbal drinks on my return to the hotel after a day of sightseeing, a wonderful touch! Well done Baan Boran, a little treasure of a place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judypoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were swayed by the reviews on TA and were quite happy with the outcome. We arrived very late due to a delayed flight, but even so the staff was a tremendous help with a refreshing welcome with a chilled herbal drink helped complete formalities of registration. We were shown to our rooms, which were superb, clean and nice scent. We reserved two room types. First room, classic double is an excellent option for those who do not mind to have private toilet, but there is shower in room. However, we love this room because the rooms are furnished with simple but lovely antique pieces for many basic amenities and spacious. Also, we shared common toilet in the hallway, but never saw anyone else in either room and everything is so clean. Second room, superior twin which offers everything in room. Both rooms were pretty quiet.

We slept so well and the fabulous Thai breakfast the next morning was a real treat. We tried Pad Thai and Tom Yam Kung which are absolutely delicious. We weren't big fans of Thai food before. Later we tasted the Tom Kha Kai for lunch which was actually awesome. We were also decided to have dinner there again and they provided us with literally the best green curry we've ever had.You'll miss the outstanding food if you not step in.

The exellent staffs of the Baan Boran have genuine concern for their guest's well-being and they always asked where we were going and wrote down the destination in thai and english so that if we hired a taxi or even they called taxi for us. It is tucked away literally just minutes away from The Grand Palace, Wat Po, river cruises and several other historic locations. They even let us leave luggages at the hotel for 7 days while we went to Loas.


I remember fondly of all the pampering I received while staying at the Baan Boran. On our return from sightseeing every afternoon we were greeted with tea and various lovely treats, changing everyday, absolutely wonderful! Highly recommended!

There is absolutely nothing negative to say about the Baan Boran. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed there for two nights with a friend. Initially we were suppose to stay for one night but we extended our stay, just because we thought we can not find better staff.

Our flight was cancelled and with just one email they moved our booking a day later.

Place is extremely clean and well secure and amazingly this place is managed by girls I mean only girls. I am sure they don't have a single guy at least in their front office.

Baan Boran is just 5 minutes walk from Khao San Road which makes it ideal for backpackers who are looking for a quite place.

100 year old building is still not operation but rooms surround those 2 structures.

I sadly never asked the mangers name who spoke fluent English and was extremely helpful even when she was not there. She is always available on phone and will provide maps for which ever destination you feel like going.

We never had free breakfast but she was kind enough to offer use sweet chilled mangoes.

Will surely visit them again, might even consider ditching 5 star hotel on business trips

Khizar

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and I can highly recommened it. Spacious, clean, modern and thai style rooms. About 5-10 min walk away from Khoa San which is we enjoyed: close enough but you are not in the middle of it which means quite nights.
Staff is very helpful, my boyfriend had some stomage problems and without having to ask for it they showed up with medicines and they kept on checking up on him. Very nice of them we thought. you need to master some sign language since their English is limited but hey we are in Thailand ;-)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hautvast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The first time visit Bangkok in Backpackers style was the accommodation in the newly warm Baan Boran hotel. The hotel was new but quite small (less than 10 rooms), but that was good for all guests during their staying, the staff were attentive enough to take all the guests. The Manager of the Baan Boran was kind, but it was hard to understand from him, may be he spoke English not so well. His daughter can understand what we were talking and ordered for. The view of the room to old Thai building was impressive, the breakfast was ok, the room decor was simple but got every thing you need. My stay here was smooth and memorable, Baan Boran will be my hotel when next time visit Thailand

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank august t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Boonsiri Place
Boonsiri Place
#351 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Banglamphu
d Hostel Bangkok
d Hostel Bangkok
#50 of 1,135 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Banglamphu
At Smile House
At Smile House
#120 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Grand Palace Hostel
The Grand Palace Hostel
#271 of 606 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Banglamphu
305Hostel
305Hostel
#350 of 1,135 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Banglamphu
The Warehouse Bangkok
The Warehouse Bangkok
#21 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Boran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Boran

Property: Baan Boran
Address: 27 Boonsiri Road San Chao Por Sua, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Boran 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Baan Boran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing