We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khaosan Palace Hotel
Ranked #91 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wifi is not free and slow at times.

Pictures are better than the rooms.

Pool is a small vinyl pool.

Won't let you view rooms before you pay.

Door locks are poor. No deadbolts. Safe is bolted to movable furniture with one lag screw.

Good location for nightlife and sight seeing. A/C cold and loud enough that you don't hear the nightlife.

Basically it's a little less than a motel 6 in the middle of a busy nightlife and flea market scene.

Walk away from the area to get cheaper taxis and tuk tuks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traverquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    252
    264
    89
    76
See reviews for
45
288
108
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights along with 3 other friends and we found it relatively easy to find on the busy Khaosan Road. Other than the ideal location in the bustling heart of Bangkok's night life, the hotel is also extremely clean from top to bottom and if you request a room at the back of the hotel, the noise is not too bad. The rooms are quite small, but provide comfortable beds and a clean bathroom and the air conditioning is also good but, if you're looking for a room with a view this is obviously not the place! One other slight negative is the size of the pool. In pictures on Agoda, etc it looks deceivingly large, when really it is probably only about 12 yards long and 8 wide, and not very deep. The Khaosan Palace is an ideal hotel to stay if you're looking for a couple of big nights on Khaosan Road. I wouldn't advise staying here for much longer than that.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel, much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for four nights at the end of our one month Asia trip. Rooms (we had a premium double) were nicely decorated, clean, and incredible loud. First time in one month I had to use my earplugs. Our room was in the fourth floor facing the courtyard, so try getting a room facing the other way, but then you might get the noise from soi Rambuttri instead.

Hotel has a great pool/chillout area on the roof, with a nice view towards the Grand Palace, and the river. Really nice to relax there after a hot day of sightseeing. The pool is open untill 8pm, which is nice. Unfortunately, the pool is not very big, and at some times pretty crowded.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Khaosan Palace is good for those who plan to stay out all night. We arrived at home at about 3 am from going out and we could still hear the music blasting from the room. Also, the shower is a drain in the bathroom with a curtain around it. The rooms are also small and tight.

Room Tip: Get a room as far as possible from the main road so you can sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights at the start of my travels, was very impressed with the location and cleanliness of the rooms, had mini fridge tv air con
great location as well, right on the strip, and a very lively bar right next door
was quiet(ish) at night so getting sleep isnt an issue not that we got much ;) the rooftop pool is nice also

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LiLo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empuriabrava, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been staying in that hotel many times over the years. It's a clean place right in the middle of Khao San Road and good value for money. But I would not stay there one more night as the noise and music from the street made my bed vibrate till 3 in the morning; earplugs did not help either. To be honest I must say there was a 100 Bath discount for the room and at the reception I was warned about the noise at night. There are plenty of quieter hotels nearby at good prices too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consulfabius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As with many places in Thailand, the pictures on the website make the hotel look nicer than it is. The hotel is clean, staff are not too helpful, pool is good but not a lot of poolside space. Perfect location if you want to stay on Khao San road

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#341 of 852 in Bangkok
1,270 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#528 of 852 in Bangkok
1,531 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#357 of 852 in Bangkok
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 852 in Bangkok
1,230 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 852 in Bangkok
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Palace Hotel

Property: Khaosan Palace Hotel
Address: 139 Khao San Road | Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaosan Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have amenities for you within Hotel sich as Swimming Pool, Internet Center, 24 hours Food Store, Phramacy, Local Tour Desk and Interstate Tour Desk, Currency Exchange, Security 24 Hours and Elevator. Tuk Tuk is Parking in front of Hotel 24 hours ready for you to explore the city of Bangkok around khao san road as well as 24 Hours Taxi are parking in front of Hotel, ready for you to go to Airport anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Khaosan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing