We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal I had in Thailand.”

Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant
Ranked #115 of 10,675 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: Vegetarian and vegan food made with love, integrity and ethics. Huge menu of classic Thai cuisine plus variety of foods from around the world including Italian, Middle Eastern, Indian, and fusion food.Specialties include home-fermented pro-biotic Kombucha Tea in 5 exotic flavors, home-made Tempeh, home-made yogurt and home-baked wholewheat bread. Certified 100% Organic Rice and other organic products. No preservatives, No MSG.100's of pure fruit and vegetable juices, blended fruit drinks and exotic teas. Variety of vegan desserts including gluten-free vegan pancakes, home-baked Apple Crumble made with coconut butter.Relaxing world music and a homely atmosphere create a unique eating experience a world apart from local Khaosan Road!
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best meal I had in Thailand.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went to Ethos by accident as I was looking for another restaurant.

I love the earthy vibe from Ethos and despite not having air conditioning it was quite pleasant and cool inside. The staff were friendly and there is free wifi if you need it. The menu is extensive and apart from the place being a little hard to find (a backstreet parallel with a main road) it was awesome!

My partner and I ordered and shares the glass noodle salad and the tempeh salad with peanut sauce. Both were amazing.

Their juices were great and I had the coconut chocolate shake it was like a coconut rough in a glass :)

I highly recommend the apple crumble it was AMAZING!

I will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danbi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    106
    50
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food in a nice setting”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

tried the Lasagna, lemonade and Indian chai. all were very good. the setting is nice, in a quiet road being Khao San road. service was ok, and there is also wifi. For vegetarians this place definitely deserves 5 stars.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, but where's the ethos in styrofoam?”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I love this place and would recommend. The food is incredible. The shakes are decent although the coconut ones are just straight up coconut milk with one other thing.
Staff are decent.
BUT
I got take out last night and got 4 styrofoam containers. What?! Where's the ethos in that? You cant say you represent integrity and environmental ethics, and then hand out styrofoam and plastic utensils. Seriously. There's paper. Cardboard. Biodegradable / compost able ANYTHING.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rojiberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bangkok's Best”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Whenever I need to go to Bangkok, the redeeming factor is that I get to visit this restaurant. Everything on their menu is divine and there is an amazing variety including Thai and Western. Superb vegan desserts! I really like how they clearly show which dishes are vegetarian and which are vegan or can be made vegan. The translation on the menu of how to order your vegetarian or vegan menu and say I don't eat meat in Thai is a lovely finishing touch. There is an excellent ambiance for you to enjoy your meal and the prices are also good. A visit to Bangkok, without a visit to this restaurant, would just be WRONG!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsDeeChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice fresh food. Large menu”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate here for breakfast and ordered one plain omelette and a mushroom omelette, both also came with 2 slices of thick homemade whole meal toast. The serving size was large and could easily be shared if on a budget. We also got one mint and lemon ice tea (very refreshing) & one iced chocolate, all very tasty. Altogether 300baht, so not super cheap, but quality food. The People next to us had fresh fruit and yoghurt which looked huge and delicious. They have a very large range of drinks - ice teas, fruit shakes, soy, various flavours. We will return here again for breakfast to try the 'famous musli'. Nice atmosphere, and free wifi if you eat there. Staff friendly and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ethos Vegetarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing