We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food shocking service”
Review of Thai Room

Thai Room
Ranked #5,849 of 10,929 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Honest Thai cuisine for a very affordable price. Everyone is welcome!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Ok food shocking service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been here three times in the last two weeks. The first two visits were really good. But the third time was appalling.

We were a table of 6 but they seemed to be having trouble coping with a full restaurant. We went upstairs for the first time and the young waitress seemed overwhelmed.

Drinks didn't appear despite asking 5 times. Food took ages and some of it cold. Not a good experience and the cheek of it is they add 10 % service.

Want be going back in a hurry but to be fair, our first two trips were excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    37
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, but service could get mixed up”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food here was yummy. I kept going back to this restaurant many times after my colleague first took me there.

But be clear and careful when you order. You better get the waiter/waitress repeat after you order, they tend to mix ur order up. A friend ordered papaya salad, then she clearly asked to cancel it and replace with mango salad. they brought her both and billed both too

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sneha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mediocre and a bit pricey”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife had the squid and I had the massaman chicken curry. We both had steamed rice. I had one big Singha beer and my wife had a small bottle of water. Bill was a little over 600 baht and a 10% surcharge added on top of that.

My wife said the squid was better at P Kitchen on Soi 18 and also spicier and a larger quantity. My chicken massaman curry was OK but only one chicken thigh with the potatoes and onions. For 155 baht, there should have been at least two pieces of chicken.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Try the massaman curry!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Recommended by a friend of mine, as having the best massaman curry he's tasted in Sukhumvit area. He wasn't wrong!! A touch spicier than normal, but a lovely rich & plentiful sauce, with tender chicken & potatoes. Helping was good size.

I would add I arrived 15 minutes before lunchtime closing (3pm) but was not rushed in any way.

It's located opposite the Queens Park Plaza in soi 22. Not much from the outside, but deserves its TA rating based on my visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank OscottGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Smelly but ok food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The restaurant is a little bit anonymous from the outside and can be hard to see but the interior is nice and the food is good.
The only thing that bothered us was the smell that met us when we came in, not sure this happens every day since we ate there once.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marco9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Room also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Thai Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing