We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast on the river”

Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #36 of 10,675 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: A night at the river Enjoying an idyllic setting on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, The Riverside Terrace offers guests alfresco dining with a beautiful view. A delicious international buffet is accompanied by a live band every night. Alongside Indian tandoori ovens, an open fire rotisserie and a large sushi counter, we also serve a choice of Lebanese mezze, Japanese Teppanyaki, fresh bread, fresh seafood and mouth-watering barbecued meats. Our famous dessert station boasts a variety of delicious puddings as well as decadent offerings from our flambe table.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the river”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had breakfast at the Riverside Terrace each morning, watching the river traffic and enjoying good food, and excellent service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    141
    29
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surra
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best river view in Bangkok with good food.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The view was amazing and the service and food were both great. They had a big menu and you can go there for tea or coffee. I would recommend visiting after 5pm.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAMSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear HAMSR,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your dinner on our Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. We are glad you enjoyed the service, culinary delights and the “best river view in Bangkok”.

We appreciate your heartfelt recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best food and view in Bangkok”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The view over the Chao Phraya river is magnificent from the Riverside Terrace. The food is delicious! The atmosphere was enchanting. Everything was perfect so we had a great night there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IoanaVesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear IoanaVesa,

Thank you for sharing your fabulous review on TripAdvisor! ‘Best food and view in Bangkok’ is a fantastic statement, thank you for your heartfelt recommendations. I will certainly share your kind words with Chef Pierre, Restaurant Manager Khun Somkiat and their teams and we I hope to welcome your back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food In Bangkok”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I booked this reservation for my wife and I on our honeymoon.

I generally dislike buffets but it is hard to call this restaurant a buffet even though it is buffet style.

The raw bar is excellent. The selection of fish, prawns, shrimp and other delicacies were amazing and with top quality.

The cooked food was also very good. There was a good variety of hot foods and while my wife and I can be picky eaters, we both enjoyed the selection. We both ate our weight in great food.

The deserts were also very good with small portions so that you can try several deserts to cap off the night. The drinks were also very good but a little pricy even for a nice restaurant.

The views are great and we enjoyed our time there. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tschenk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Tschenk7,

I am delighted to hear you had a fabulous dining experience and honeymoon during your last visit to our Riverside BBQ buffet. I am pleased that you enjoyed the magical ambiance, legendary Oriental service and the culinary delights. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok.
I would be delighted to assist with the details of your evening to ensure another wonderful experience at ‘La Grande Dame’.

With best regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great river watching, huge buffet”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

The Chao Phraya river is never dull and on our evening there there were barges,water taxis, dinner cruise boats and the various hotel boats.
The buffet is extensive and long enough so you do not have crowding. Great seafood, salads, and different ethnic dishes.
We were there on the night before the election so no alcohol was served but we did not mind.
Not inexpensive ( about $200 for two, no alcohol) but the ambience is worth it. Be sure to see the pictures in the original building, very historic.
This hotel is a true gem and maintains its special place with me since my first visit thirty years ago.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Marcia B

Many thanks for this great and beautiful review. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay, after you returned after so many years and that you especially enjoyed the special ambiance, culinary delights on the buffet and our historical Authors’ Wing.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another fabulous evening! Thank you again for your lovely comments!

Warmest personal regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing