We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best buffet dinner!”

Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: A night at the river Enjoying an idyllic setting on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, The Riverside Terrace offers guests alfresco dining with a beautiful view. A delicious international buffet is accompanied by a live band every night. Alongside Indian tandoori ovens, an open fire rotisserie and a large sushi counter, we also serve a choice of Lebanese mezze, Japanese Teppanyaki, fresh bread, fresh seafood and mouth-watering barbecued meats. Our famous dessert station boasts a variety of delicious puddings as well as decadent offerings from our flambe table.
Pforzheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best buffet dinner!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

One of the best high class buffet style dinners ever. Hugh selection of Asien and Classic BBQ food. Especially the dessert buffet is outstanding. Perfect Service combined with beautifull river side location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perrylson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Perrylson,

Wow! Thank you very much for this wonderful review of our Riverside Terrace! I am very happy to hear that you greatly enjoyed your dining experience, especially the culinary delights, the Oriental service, and iconic scene at the river. I shared your compliments with Chef Pierre and Restaurant Manager Khun Somkiat and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Culinary regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    141
    30
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Was disappointed following all of the love reviews below. The food was average. I had to leave my shelled prawns as the "poo pipe" was left in them. The other choices for mains were large joints of meat that were a little dry. The chicken satay was tough and the sushi was lacking in variety. The ambience is lovely and the scenery beautiful but I still cannot believe I paid £150 for two people for that!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emi_demi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
698 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Dining on the riverfront”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the opportunity to watch life on the river pass by. Excellent service, combined with first rate cuisine ranging from Thai dishes to western comfort food is featured. We did find that the staff were reluctant to say anything to people at the next table conducting a loud phone conversation on Skype during our meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Skyhoosier,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience at the Riverside Terrace. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the excellent service, culinary delights and especially the beautiful location by the river. I regret to learn about the disturbance during your meal, have taken note of your comments and shared them with our team. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your reservation.

Warm regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Expensive but worth it !”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The views are amazing and you really appreciate the river side dining at Riverside Terrace. They also have valet parking so that's a breeze and really helpful. We've had the buffet many times and it is often refreshed, so you never get tired of it. It's expensive but well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarwoodBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBangkok, F&B Coordinator at Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear StarwoodBaby,

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your return visit to the Riverside Terrace; and thank you for taking the time to post such a superb review in particular regarding the BBQ dining experience and the magical atmosphere at the river. I have shared your comments with our team and they are glad to know about your excellent feedback. Chef Pierre and Restaurant Manager Khun Somkiat are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,

Culinary regards,

Julia Wuelfing
F&B Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exquisite food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Called by this evening as our email booking didn't get a response. By mistake we were seated in the a la carte section of the restaurant although we had wanted the buffet (after reading the reviews on TA). We had a fabulous table commanding great views of the river and all passing boats. We were able to have the buffet from our table but sadly we missed out on the band playing as we could only just hear them from where we were seated.
The buffet had every sort of food imaginable, great seafood and the tenderest roast beef fillet as well as salads and sushi and great desserts too. We ate like kings and thoroughly indulged. The bill for 2 came to about £150 (UK) with 2 cocktails and 2 glasses of wine once all service and taxes were added. Don't expect 'still' water to be bottled unless you ask for it. We unwittingly asked for still water and got horrid, warm tap water. Quite a shock!
I would definitely recommend this as a lovely treat. A most romantic venue.
Sadly the loos were a let down.....2 out of 4 were in a horrid state and needed a sort out! Most unpleasant by the expected 5 star standards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Riverside Terrace at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing