We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amber Boutique Silom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amber Boutique Silom
Ranked #29 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

A great little hotel close to Skytrain.
Breakfast is adequate (dont expect a wonderful dining experience, its very much DIY).
The service at main desk is also adequate, not outstanding in its welcome.

Rooms are comfortable and clean. Bathroom clean too.

Only one complaint;
The room smelt of previous guests smoking, I did request a change of room to a non smoking one but was told 'not available'.
Perhaps smoking is permitted in all rooms? This I would find unacceptable.

It is a good little hotel in a good location. and a good standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    95
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
113
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having just returned from here I stayed here between 4/11/13-9/11/13. As I discovered this place on trip adviser I though only appropriate to leave some comments.
I stayed in a standard room and the rooms were really clean and the A/C worked really well in the room. The breakfast was basic but was good enough to keep you going throughout the day. It was a bit back from the hustle and bustle of silom and the rooms were very quiet.
The only issue I had was I paid a 1000 baht deposit for an umbrella, and when I checked out it took a while and some phone calls to validate that I had paid the deposit (I will make sure I get a receipt in the future) and to check some video footage to get the money back. I also went to a restaurant up the road(pullman Hotel) that had a skybar and offered a great view of Bangkok )If I stay in this area again I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We got a good value room here for 2 nights in Spetember 2013. It was just what we needed after 4+months staying in mostly backpackers hostels. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, etc.. The reception staff were great and the cleaning staff did a great job servicing our room at a convenient time. We were able to sleep easily and woke up for a really nice breakfast (included) including eggs, sausages, etc. as well as noodles.

The bed here was comfortable, the TV worked and had plenty of foreign channels. The bathroom was clean and had hot water.

I can't praise this place enough - really enjoyed our stay, thanks so much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed in plenty of hotels in Bangkok and going by the reviews I booked this hotel but was amazed by the callousness of the staff.. I was disappointed when nobody showed up to open the door for us or carry our luggage.. We had to wait for 3 hours before our room was finally ready. We had no issues waiting but everytime we asked we were told the room will be ready in the next 10 minutes and finally we ended up waiting for 3 hours. We were asked to carry our own luggage to the room because they proudly said that they didnt have a bellboy and the lady at the reception picked up one of our bags and asked us to pick up the rest. That one bag also she left outside the lift when we reached our floor. On check out we got delayed by half an hour coz they claimed that we had opened a water bottle in the room which wasnt the complementary bottle. We kept trying hard to make them understand that we are not stupid to open a bottle which is not complimentary (when we have the complimentary ones available) and then not even taking a sip from it after opening it. I wasnt ready to put up with their callousness at all so we fought till the end and finally after half an hour they let us go as if they were doing a favor. The staff doesnt understand English at all, especially the night staff. I dont think they have a kitchen as well, coz we just asked for coffee a couple of times and never got it. We spent 10 days in Thailand moving from one city and hotel to the other. It was our last day in Amber and we wanted to have some good memories of the trip but they completely spoilt it. There are plenty of better options available in Bangkok in the same price and therefore I will not come back to this hotel, and neither will I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Smart modern clean hotel with lovely staff in a great location for all the chaos that is Silom. We also got an excellant deal through booking.com that was half their walk in rate. The reason for 3 stars are: I was dissapointed with the size of the superior room and the shower was pathetic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked this hotel both because of its handy (not too busy bus central) location and really great price. We arrived early and the minute the taxi pulled up there were staff opening the doors and taking our luggage for us. We were very early but the lovely staff checked us in anyway and borough our luggage to our room right away. The room was huge and so clean, it certainly did not seem as though we had paid so little! Our bed was massive and very comfortable, the aircon was perfect and the breakfast varied every day and was tasty. All in all we were thrilled to stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We chose the ‘smallest‘ room and it was huge. No need to go bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sommer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hotel is a nine min walk to mrt. 15 minute walk to lebua state tower. A very peaceful little street off the famous silom "night bars and clubs".. Staff are reasonably helpful and will try their best to understand your needs. Chck out their list of tour packages and tourist attraction..

Room wise is big and nicely decor but needs a little maintenance. Our toilet's drainage is clogged and the staff are ready to suck up the clogged using that rounded rubber stuff. lol

WIFI Ready for those travellers who loves to update their social media =)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#241 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#127 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#60 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#194 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
#138 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#26 of 606 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Boutique Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Boutique Silom

Property: Amber Boutique Silom
Address: 200 Silom Soi 14 Silom Road Suriyawong | Khet Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Boutique Silom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Amber Boutique Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing