We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amber Boutique Silom
Ranked #26 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice place with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is great for travelers who want a clean, quiet and reasonably priced establishment. The hotel is off one of the main streets so it is quiet throughout the day and night. The rooms on each floor are designed with a theme in mind. We stayed on the 4th floor where our door looked like an entrance to a castle then as you walk inside, the decor made me feel like I was in Marrakesh. It was great! The room was clean and the staff were very helpful when we need information or assistance in getting a taxi. It is close to the metro and some delicious street food vendors. The only thing I would want for the hotel to improve is the breakfast they serve in the morning (very little variety) and more water pressure in the shower.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the lower level. It sits right next to the breakfast station and they begin play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martie1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    98
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
114
27
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This superb little establishment is hidden down a small alley adjacent to the Narai hotel. The approach to the Amber is dismal but as soon as it comes into view, it's attractiveness becomes evident. the reception area is spotless with magic staff who welcome you with enthusiasm. The rooms are stunning and are filled with character with rich timber finishes. We stayed on a room only basis and found abundant eateries in the immediate area. A ten minute walk gets you to Patpong Street filled with all the delights of Bangkok. This is a hidden gem and any traveller who is not impressed by it's lovely ambiance is sadly lacking. Best value for money I have ever experienced!!! The only downside is no pool.

Room Tip: Unable to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is clean and pleasant to stay in. The staff are very friendly , helpful and accommodative. They definitely made our stay a pleasant one. A nearby launderette is a helpful if you do not want to do laundry in the hotel. Location is not 5 star but would definitely consider this hotel again if we are back in Bangkok . There is a nearby wet market and local eateries for good local experience. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a nice, clean hotel and very convenient location wise. However during our stay we left our small camera on the desk in the room and after cleaning services it was gone. We made claim to the reception and they did not even get back to us. So I wouldn't call this hotel - safe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is great value for money. It is incredibly clean and the rooms are really thoughtfully decorated.

The surrounding area is not so great, although there are plenty of restaurants and hotels and it is very easy to flag down taxis and tuktuks. Considering how busy the Silom area is, this hotel is very peaceful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Moroccon room which was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely little boutique hotel hidden in part of the busy Silom area. Although hotel is located at the back street, but the hotel signboard is visible from the main street and it only takes less than a min or 2 to walk out from the hotel to main street to get a cab. We booked two rooms, rooms were clean and still very new, except for some luggages' dents and scratches here and there at the wardrobe and wall curbs. Other than that, we were very satisfied with their customer service and were attentive enough to our needs. The manager and the front desk assistants were more than helpful to provide and suggest informations to us. Breakfast was simple and area was small, but it was more than sufficient and nothing to complain about. For the family with children, they don't have swimming pool and kids activities.

Closes walking distance to shopping area is about 10-15min away to Patpong night market. We were not excited about the night market as the people there mostly are very rude unless you are from the Western countries and are not planning to bargain with them. For food wise, perhaps one of the best thing you could try is to get a cab for less than 100Baht to China Town for their famous seafood and street food, or there's a Chinese restaurant only 5mins walk away from hotel to the main street. Quite a number of Thai Massage within walking distance. If you are coming to shop at their mall, MBK and Grand Paragon is just less 150Baht cab fee away.

Perhaps one of the most well spent day and satisfied with our shopping was at the Chatuchak weekend market. To get from the hotel, you can either take a taxi for about less than 200Baht, or take their BTS, however, if you are taking BTS, you need to change station from Siam station (could have spelled transit station name wrongly). Bear in mind that walking distance from the hotel to nearest BTS is about 10-15mins walk.

Overall, we will definitely recommend people to stay with Amber Boutique. Although the facilities are limited, but with that kind of price, we couldn't have expected more. It definitely worth to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Every year I go to Bangkok for business, I used to stay at Furama, ( a Big Hotel at Silom Rd.),
This year I change to Amber and It will be my Hotel from now!

It is a Small hotel, makes you fell like a Special Guest! Not one more at the big hotels with 1.000 rooms!

Brand-new, comfortable, Clean,. Well decorated, Charming! Good location!

Miss Pawadee, lovely person, we became friends! She takes care of all, inclusive the Lotus Flowers, fresh any time, decorating the hall, She teach me how to rool up the Lotus petals to make it more wonderful!

See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaoPauloJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#232 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#126 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#56 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#199 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
Triple 8 Inn Silom
#139 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Silom
I Sleep Silom Hostel
I Sleep Silom Hostel
#134 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Boutique Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Boutique Silom

Property: Amber Boutique Silom
Address: 200 Silom Soi 14 Silom Road Suriyawong | Khet Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Boutique Silom 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amber Boutique Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing