We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Chic Hotel in Urban Bangkok !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit
Ranked #255 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Chic Hotel in Urban Bangkok !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Neatly tucked away in Sukhumvit 20, the Best Western Plus offers a great stay with all the characters of a chic boutique accommodation. The room is clean and in my opinion tastefully designed with all the standard amenities. The toilet has no bath but the powerful shower compensated for it. It has a nice al fresco dining area at the front and another on the top floor of the building. We were given a welcome drink that we claimed at the roof top bar. Most boutique hotels of decent size has a roof top bar to offer but do not expect much a crowd as the most would prefer to hang out in places with more vibrance. The hotel has an in-house tuk-tuk service that would offer ride to the BTS station for FREE. The hotel is approximately 10-15 minutes walk from the Asoke BTS station. Not too far but could be a challenge during rainy season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandercritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitiphan k, Manager at Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Dear Guest

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

thitiphan kittimaeteekosit
Executive Assitant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS At 20 Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    209
    80
    23
    16
See reviews for
32
144
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed at Best Western Plus on Soi 20 several times and find it to be a good hotel. The checkin can be quite slow but the personnel are nice and polite. The rooms are just starting to show a bit of wear but are generally modern and clean for Thailand.

My main complaint is that the shower drain is clogged. I informed the front desk and they sent someone up right away to fix it. The maintenance person came with a coat hanger and tried to fish out debris but there was none and it did nothing to improve the drain, yet he said he was finished. I turned the water on to show him that a lake would quickly form again on the floor. He tried the same procedure again and again said he was finished. Again I turned on the water and demonstrated the overflowing lake. I suggested some solution such as Liquid Plumber or Drano which perhaps he has no knowledge of. He simply said all rooms are same same with this condition. He left with no solution. I had to shower and turn the water off intermittently while I showered so that the water did not overflow out of the shower flooding the whole bathroom.

I have stayed in probably 50 or more hotels in Thailand and have found that new hotels are great. But after a few years, the maintenance of most all hotel rooms is sorely lacking. Such is the case in point. It is the simple little easy to fix maintenance items which the Thai hotels frequently fail to accomplish. Perhaps it is best to stick only with new hotels when possible, and in Sukhumvit, it is possible.

I would stay in the Best Western Plus again but would want the drain to be fixed to avoid an intermittent shower and a bathroom flood especially if all the rooms are poorly maintained "same, same."

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drksuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitiphan k, Manager at Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

thitiphan kittimaeteekosit
Executive Assitant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS At 20 Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I scored a deal with this hotel, getting a king sized room for half price ($65 for single stay) so my review is probably more favourable than if I had paid the standard rate. That said, I was impressed with this hotel.

My room was clean with appealing modern furnishing and decor, including floor to ceiling glass wall offering a limited view of some of the skyline at night. As a budget traveler I felt I had been upgraded to business class.

Hotel is also well located; a five to ten minute stroll down a side street and you have access to the Sktrain and metro along with other places of interest in this popular part of Bangkok (my favorite district in the city). Wifi was good too, and I had no complaints with the level of service in other respects.

My only quibble was the delay in assigning me a room, and eventually getting two double beds pushed together to form a 'king sized' bed. A minor issue though.

All in all, very happy, though I would be looking to score a deal again if staying in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitiphan k, Manager at Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Sinead F

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at .


Sincerely,

thitiphan kittimaeteekosit
Executive Assitant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS At 20 Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was simply not impressed by the level of quality at this supposedly Best Western. In short, I'd recommend looking elsewhere if you are looking for a hotel in Bangkok. i was delayed in entering the hotel for some reason, which was not made known, then was given a room with two single beds even though I had requested a double bed. As i live in Bangkok, it was more than a bit of a disappointment to get a bed that was smaller than the one I have in my own home, which led to a lousy night's rest.
Then to top it off, one of the counter girls who escorted me to the room asked me for a bigger tip, even though I gave double the normal tip most workers receive. She did nothing besides open the door.and put the key card in the holder in the door. There are better hotels with a whole lot more privacy than I got in this hotel. If you have a choice, I'd recommend going elsewhere.

Room Tip: Room selection is not up to the traveler in this hotel. I couldn't even get a double bed and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaiyenyenBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitiphan k, Manager at Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

thitiphan kittimaeteekosit
Executive Assitant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS At 20 Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in a King suite....floor to ceiling glass windows with a good sized living room and bedroom, the bathroom was nice with a large tub, glass shower with bench, and double vanities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's close to Terminal 21 and Soi Cowboy....great street food nearby. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky-we-live-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitiphan k, Manager at Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

thitiphan kittimaeteekosit
Executive Assitant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS At 20 Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Got the recommendation from an hotelier friend to try it.
Just called twice this hotel and asked them to provide me their email address to send my reservation request.
Twice a very arrogant and total unprofessional gentleman replied to me that he cannot give me the email address of the hotel as they are accepting only booking thru third parties such as Agoda.com etc...
When I asked him if there is possibility to talk to a manager or supervisor, he replied to me that all of them are working night shift and available only at 9pm.
When I asked to talked to the General Manager, he replied to me that in a very rude way that: I told you that there is no one and our General Manager is a working in another hotel...

In few words: RIDICULOUS and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berowra
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The first impression was good. We pulled up to the hotel to have someone take our bags, organise our paperwork and escort us to our room. Friendly service with pretty good english.

The room looked ok initially. A bit small compared to our lodgingsbin phuket for the same price but its inner city we thought. Then we found the broken bathroom door and the broken toilet roll holder. The door frame was broken.. bashed in it looked. The toilet roll holder fell out of the wall with wall behind it missing. I called the front desk and they sent up someone who bent a piece of metal on the door frame so the door closed but it looked terrible and certainly wasnt properly fixed. He then pushed the toilet roll holder back into the wall and left. Every time u pull on a certain angle or too quickly the toilet roll holder falls off.

The more I looked at the place I got dissapointed. The nice dark stone looking tiles in the bathroom were complimented terribly with the worst grouting job id ever seen. Way too much grout in sections and not enough in others. One of the lights was out in the bathroom and the water flow was a huge issue. Not only was it terribly weak but it would switch between hot and cold and warm multiple times in a short shower.

We ordered the king superior room. Meant to come with a king size bed and be very luxurious. It was 2 king singles pushed together. Every time I wanted to hug my wife I had to scale a small wall where the beds met. The mattresses were also nearly as had as the floor. Hardly luxurious.

It was a suprise to see a working ipod dock and tv we used when waking up or going to sleep. No problems there at all but when we wanted to use the wifi my wife was constantly having to re log in due to conection issues and I was constantly waiting for simple pages to load. It was slow with intermittent connection issues.

My wife says the best part was the pillows. They were actually really good. The complimentary took took only took you to a maximum of a block away so it was only good for a lift to the sky train.. when it was there. I couldnt work out where it went for so long when you couldnt take it very far.

The rooftop pool was lovely and a good view. Pity ir closed at 7 so we couldn't stay up there and chill out after a long day.

Overall id definately try somewhere else next time. Im sure theres better for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodskyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thitiphan k, Manager at Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

thitiphan kittimaeteekosit
Executive Assitant Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS At 20 Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
#158 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Well Hotel Bangkok
Well Hotel Bangkok
#83 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
#151 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit

Property: Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit
Address: 17 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Plus at 20 Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus @ 20 Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing