We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit
Ranked #252 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just arrived and found that my booking hadn't. I had to whip out the laptop and forward the confirmation email. Fortunately the reception staff are pleasant. Eventually I got a room, and the hotel appears to be both clean and comfortable. Working out how to get power to the room takes a bit of an effort and for some bizarre reason the card is inserted into the slot near door- but upside down and at an angle - weird. Wifi is complimentary and you really wouldn't want to pay for it as the signal is dismal and intermittent. If I didn't have friends (who decided to book here ) arriving late tonight I would considered departing but it's also Chinese New Year and the city is rather busy...an afternoon's work was frustrating. Polite requests to have the wifi sorted were met with smiles and not much in the way of success..
I had a shower ...not bad until at the 3min point or so I noticed the water about to run onto the bathroom floor. Off with the shower and move on. After a pleasant few drinks (the roadside bar is good, but wine is served only by the bottle) and a good pizza at Scoozi nearby - it was back and to bed. The chic looking bedlamp on one side of the bed didn't work and trying to set the ipod dock/clock/alarm was an exercise in futility (a manual would be handy).

Yes it's only a hotel, but is it so unreasonable to expect the place gets the basics right? I tried to email the hotel management, but there doesn't appear to be an email address that can be readily found. The BW website is dreadful unless you live in North America and their feedback site doesn't mention Thailand as being in Asia...along with a few other Asian nations..oh for a Marriott........

Room Tip: Consider other options if you need to do a bit of work and have reasonable expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 469 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have now stayed here twice and love this place for a short layover in BKK. Very large, modern, quiet rooms, big bed, large showers, wi-fi, and very close to shopping and BTS as well as close to a great park for running and gym equipment each morning. My perfect stay. A pool would be nice but for the price this is a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnr131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Although I tend to go for more budget hotels, this hotel was a great choice in busy Bangkok. The staff was very helpful and friendly. At one point, a man at the front desk offered to drive me to Starbucks on the hotel tuktuk (rickshaw) for free. The restaurant is on the rooftop and is very pretty. However, be careful not to fall for all the pushy gimmicks of the wait staff. The beds were too firm, but overall the room seemed clean. The bathroom was very modern and done in black tile...so, it is difficult to say whether the bathroom was clean or not. The room came with complimentary bottled water and wifi. It is located close to the subway/train.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were presentable, clean and had a welcoming feeling to it. You get free WIFI and a bonus DVD player. Rooms were suitably priced. It's not located right next door to a BRT station, you will have to walk about 7-10 mins, but you're away from the hustle of Sukhumvit area but still within easy reach of restaurants and malls. The pool was closed for a week for renovation unfortunately.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaja136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights including New Years Eve.

We were very grateful when we checked in at 10am suffering from the flu that our room was ready.

The room was very comfortable, quiet, clean, good free wifi, nice bathroom and a very comfy bed.

The "pool" and area too small.

The location is really good, just a short 10min walk to Asoke making access to all the sights easy. At night there were plenty of good cheap bars and restaurants nearby. The next street Soi 18 had the P4 Kitchen, basic decor but great food and cheap. Next door is a very relaxing bar, Palm, comfy seating, good drinks, easy music and a TV which is handy if you want to watch a football game like I did. No sound though but I wasn't bothered, we won 3nil. Another good bar restaurant is opposite the Rembrandt Hotel, can't remember the name.
A couple of streets the other way Soi22 Park Plaza is full of more lively bars. We visited few bars here on New Years Eve and it was buzzing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trayolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed here leading up to xmas, and found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, the food served in the rooftop bar is good and not to much more than nearby places. there is a very modern and stylish shopping mall only 10 min walk from here on the sukhumvit road, right next to the station on the skytrain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank killiebilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here early 2012. The hotel is fairly new and inexpensive given the quality of the place. Free wifi is consistent and fast. The pool is not a pool. It is a small triangle filled with water. There is a large, older hotel called the "Windsor suites hotel" about 30 yards down the street. They have a very nice gym/pool/cardio area on their rooftop that you can use for $10 daily. This price includes use of their showers and free towels. Best to stay at the Best Western because it's newer and cheaper and then pay the $10 over there if you want to workout or take a swim. Location of this hotel is the reason its cheap. It is located on a safe street (Soi 20) that has a couple of great restaurants and a bunch of smaller shops. There is a minimart directly outside the entrance of the hotel. It is about 20 mins walking to the main NaNa area. The closest BTS stop is about 5 mins away. Cabs are easy to grab here because the street is slightly wider than others. Overall, a good location but a little out of the way. Note that google maps does not pin this place correctly. It always pins it where the older Best Western is located. This place is on Soi 20, just off Sukhumvit. Type "Basilico Pizzeria Soi 20, Bangkok" into google. This hotel is next door to it. Rooms are fairly small, bathroom area is modern and has consistent hot water. Free safe in the room. Small fridge in the room. Overall, very good. Would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank defaultuser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Best Western Premier Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Maitria Hotel Sukhumvit 18 - A Chatrium Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit

Address: 17 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $46 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus @ 20 Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing