We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, modern - but noisy”
Review of Buddy Boutique Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buddy Boutique Inn
Ranked #76 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our trip, and liked it so much we booked it again for the last two nights we had in Bangkok after visiting the south. The rooms came with our flight tickets so it was a very pleasant surprise!

The building is clean and modern, and the staff very friendly and helpful. They even remembered us when we came back, which was really nice.

Our room, a superior one, was large, clean and fitted out with everything - TV, AC, DVD, fridge, etc. We didn't want for anything.

It's a great location, just around the corner from Khao San Rd, so you're right in the middle of things without being too much in the middle of things.

The one drawback was the noise. This is mostly due, I suspect, to the fact that the room had a small balcony which was accessible through a shutter type door, so even if you close it, there's still plenty of gaps for the noise to come through. Why they didn't put a normal door in is beyond me. However, we used earplugs and it was fine. It's not deafening at all, it's just when it gets late, the bass goes up and it's just definitely there.

The cheaper rooms are on the other side of the building and have no windows, which might make it a bit concrete-box-ish, but then - I presume - would mean you have no noise at all, and considering how much time you actually spend in your room while in Bangkok, it might have been wiser to take one of these. Then again, we didn't see them so can't say for certain.

We really liked this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Lara M,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Boutique Inn and for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your time here.

We are pleased you found our hotel rooms to be pleasant, clean and modern looking.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and it always provides a good feeling for our staff when our previous guests return later on in their holidays as it shows they were happy with the hotel and had a good stay.

We look forward to your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 311 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel only one night and were positively surprised by its modern look and feel and new and clean conditions. We stayed at a couple of places around khaosan road and this one is really good value for money. Apparently we booked a superior room as it did have windows and even a little balcony. Late at night it got a bit noisy from the nightclubs but I guess that is just what you have to expect from staying in this neighborhood. It was definitely quieter than some rooms of its sister hotel buddy lodge which is directly on khaosan road. We had a good stay and would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows and away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSydney2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear SarahSydney2011,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Boutique Inn and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you were surprised by the modern feel of our small boutique hotel and that you felt it represented such excellent value for money.

As you point out in your review the Khaosan Road area can be quite a lively, vibrant place and we are pleased to note that any noise you experienced did not affect the quality of your stay.

We look forward to your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Close to the Khao San Road craziness, without being right ON that busy street. Very friendly, reliable staff. Clean rooms. Nice hot showers with good pressure. There WAS one night out of the 4 we spent there where we didn't sleep AT ALL because of the loud club music coming from the bar around the corner. It IS noisy here from the clubs, but it's to be expected because of the location so close to Khao San Rd.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Some Dood,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Buddy Boutique Inn we were delighted to read you enjoyed such a great four night stay with us.

We were also pleased to read you found our staff to be friendly and reliable and made the most of a relaxing hot water shower in our new modern-looking rooms.

As you mention in your review Khaosan Road is a busy, bustling area and at times it can be a little noisy at night, but the associated street life could be considered part of the charm of this incredible Bangkok area.

We hope to see you again next time you come through Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Their website mentions nothing about rooms not having windows. This is deceptive advertising. The hotel was unwilling to refund my fee when I complained and asked to check out. Reception staff became unfriendly and defensive at this point. Avoid at all costs!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fidelio750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Fidelio 750,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Buddy Boutique Inn on the Trip Advisor website.

We are very sad to learn of your disappointing experience, for which we can only offer our sincerest apologies.

We had no intention of deceiving you on our website and we are very sorry if you felt misled. Our boutique inn has two different classes of room Standard Rooms which do not come with a window and Superior Rooms which do.

Since your review we have briefed all the team members involved regarding your comments and we have seen to it that measures are now in place to ensure every guest is provided a professional & courteous service.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Buddy Boutique Inn.

Kind Regards

John

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Starnge hotel.
There is no windows!
Receptionist did not understand anything in english!
Also strange wall, smth like catacombs.
BUT there are advantages:
- Its located near to
Kao San road
Grand Palace
Wat Pho
Democracy Monument

Room Tip: no tips - because no windows totally the pool also located in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annafromm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Annafromm,

Thank you for staying at the Buddy Boutique Inn everyone here is delighted you had such a pleasant stay.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed our Khaosan Road location and were able to visit so many of the nearby historical sites which make up part of the ‘old town’ of Bangkok.

I have passed your comment regarding the reception staffs lack of English onto our Front Office Manager who will work hard with our team to improve the level of English and the subsequently the service we provide.

We hope you will be able to return again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4-5 days in November 2012. The other reviews on here are pretty accurate. The location is good if you want a place that has quick access to Khao San. Although you can here noise from the club that is close by, I wouldn't say it is anything that would interrupt you sleeping. Since the area attracts students/ backpackers, the noise levels are nowhere near as bad as an average Sunday night in halls of residence at Uni (the quietest night in my experience).
The rooms are a reasonable size for the price. They seem pretty clean - although this was the only place where we got bitten at night in our trip which included time in Borneo, Cambodia and the Maldives. The decor is minimalist/ concrete, but you can see that on their website anyway, so it shouldn't come as a great surprise.
Make your showers short as the water drains slowly and you will be stood in a 2-3 inch puddle of your own soup every morning. Don't bother paying extra for a mini bar - it is woefully under stocked (a single kit kat, a small bottle of Singha and about 3 cans of soft drinks) and there is a 7-11 so close (literally just at the Khao San exit of the hotel) that you can buy any of these items individually for less money and actually choose what you want.
I wouldn't recommend anyone other than a backpacker stay here really. Baan Sukhumvit soi 18 is way nicer than this place (but obviously in a different area) and has far better service, facilities, breakfast and minibar. The good point about this hotel is it's location - if you want access to Khao San it's very convenient. Bad points are insect bites and I would also agree that the staff are not friendly. One thing that I found quite annoying was that they advertise that you can use their sister Hotel's (Buddy Hotel) facilities for free. This is a lie. They tried to charge us 200 baht just to go up to the pool despite having our keys etc... to prove we were in the Buddy Boutique. Just another bunch of chancers ripping off farang on Khao San.

Room Tip: Take plenty of deet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Pod13,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Buddy Boutique Inn and for taking the time to share your thoughts with the online travel community.

We are pleased to read you were happy with our location on the busy, bustling hub that is Khaosan Road.

Thank you for also mentioning that you found the hotel price reasonable for rooms of this size and that the décor & style of the hotel met with your approval. Your praise for our housekeeping staff and the cleanliness of the rooms is also very much appreciated.

We wish you had brought to our attention earlier the issue you had with the water not draining away in the shower. If we had been made aware of this problem we could have contacted our engineering department and rectified this issue for you.

We are saddened to read you were not satisfied with the mini-bar facility in your room and for that, we do apologize. Your feedback has been passed onto our Housekeeping Manager who will investigate and review this service to see if any improvements can be made.

Lastly, we are sorry if you felt misled regarding the swimming pool facility at the Buddy Lodge Hotel. This hotel does charge an additional 200 Baht per day, per guest, for this service, it is unfortunately not free of charge. We are sorry for any confusion caused over this incident.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay here and we hope that you might return again in the future to see the improvements in service we have implemented.

Kind Regards

John

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Buddy Boutique Inn for our first time in Bangkok. We read the reviews online and it lived up to our expectations. Being in the city, we wanted to have a comfortable safe place to sleep without being too far away from all of the happening. We are not big partiers but it was really neat to walk down Khao San road at night and see all that was going on! We were also very close to a ton of temples, the Emerald Budha being our favorite, and just a few blocks away from the fantastic celebration for the King's Birthday!!!
The hotel staff was very friendly an spoke English fairly well, which turned out to be helpful. Behind the hotel is a little square with a restaurant and a few cafes, all AMAZING! When we finally figured out what it was, we ate at the restaurant the rest of our stay!:-)
Our room was clean, we didn't have any bugs! The maids came in everyday to make our bed, empty trash and replenish snacks and drinks. Bottled water, shampoo, conditioner and toothbrushes are complimentary and replenished as needed.
A side note... Make sure to read about Bangkok scams before touring around the area. Most are harmless, but we learned the hard way. Safe travels:)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Buddy Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Cmmead,

Thank you for posting such a great review of your recent stay at our hotel.

Everyone here is delighted to read our hotel and facilities lived up to your expectations and helped provide you with such a memorable first trip to Bangkok. We were also pleased to hear you enjoyed the Birthday celebrations on the 5th December for His Majesty the King.

Thank you for your kind words about our helpful house keeping staff, who looked after your room during your stay.

We hope you will be able to visit the whole team again in the near future.

Kind Regards

John

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#181 of 887 in Bangkok
1,327 reviews
Banglamphu
Hotel De Moc
Hotel De Moc
#425 of 887 in Bangkok
635 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#306 of 887 in Bangkok
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#48 of 728 in Bangkok
229 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#115 of 1,335 in Bangkok
75 reviews
Banglamphu
Sourire @ Rattanakosin Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buddy Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddy Boutique Inn

Address: 66 Chakkapong Road, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $38 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddy Boutique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buddy Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buddy Boutique Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing