We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not fault this place!!!”
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #3 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed here with some friends in a 4 person dorm. We arrived really late but the owner stayed up for us. She was extremely friendly and helpful, you won't need to visit any tour agencies! She even helped us find a bus service to ko Tao when we realised all the trains were booked while staying in Cambodia!!

The room was really clean and the beds very comfy with good air con. There are 24 hour computers, a tasty breakfast and a common room too!
It's in a really nice area just off silom road with easy links to the sky train, subway and lumphini park. A night mArket opens in the evening really close by and there's loads of cafes and supermarkets 2 minutes away.
I would really recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loismackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 724 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The owner of Smile House was one of the friendliest and warmest people I encountered. She went out of her way to help us find our way to wherever we wanted to go and had great tips. She genuinely seemed to care about everyone. The room was very clean and beautiful with a roomy shower. We had a private double room with an en suite bathroom. I have never been a hostel person, but my experience with them in Thailand was great. They are a lot nicer and roomier than the typical budget hotel rooms in Europe and are more similar to boutique hotel rooms I have stayed at in the US. I guess I chose well!

I'd have given it 5 stars except that our room had tiny little fire ants that were coming in through the window even though it was closed. They did manage to get into the bed and nip at us at night until I devised a plan to spray bug repellant around the legs of the bed. Problem solved. Not a big deal as Thailand used to be one big jungle and the jungle wants it back. I'd definitely recommend it and stay here again in a heartbeat. Close to the Sky Train and Patong sleaze, but you'd never know it unless you went looking for it as this hotel vehemently prohibits anyone bringing anything shady into its walls. I appreciated that.

Take the sky train to Siam and transfer there to National Stadium where you will find the MBK shopping center for cheap eats on the 6th floor, and a massive selection of all kinds of shopping. Avoid the high prices and sexual harassment of the Patong Night Market.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a great experience staying here, and found most of these reviews on TripAdvisor to be spot on. We stayed in the 3 bed private ensuite and found it very comfortable. We were able to control our own AC unit in the room, and were pleased with the power strip available for charging items. We also had a TV, minifridge, safe, drying rack and private bathroom. The bathroom was quite small, but functional. We had nice control over the temperature of the shower water. The spout of the shower appeared to be broken in a spot which led to a stream of water shooting out of the shower and toward the toliet, but it was such a small amount we let it be and just wiped up the extra water with the towels. They were somewhat unhappy because we asked for extra towels, but this was to remedy our dysfunctional shower head.

Staff cleaned our room and made up our beds each day. They refilled our complimentary water in the minifridge every day (except one...probably could have asked for more but we were not concerned). The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Prior to our arrival, we notified them that we would be arriving late in the night. They were quick to answer emails and said this would be no problem. Our plane arrived about an hour late, and when we arrived to Smile Society we were stuck outside ringing the bell for about 15 minutes. Some guys staying in the residence let us in when they returned from a night of partying. Coming in must have alerted the staff that we had finally arrived, because Bee came down right away. Perhaps the nighttime bell was not working, but after a long travel period we were exhausted. This was a small thing to us that did not affect our perception of the stay, but is important to note. Once you are checked in, you pay a deposit for key cards that access you into the building/your room. The entire deposit is given back when you turn in the cards at the end of the stay. The keycards give you 24 hour access so getting let in at night is never an issue. Staff was helpful in providing good suggestions on what to see and where to eat. At the front desk, they have a sign up list so that they can call and arrange transportation to the airport, train station, etc.

We really enjoyed our stay, and liked the complimentary breakfast provided. It does not provide many options, but is plenty of food and is similar to provided breakfasts in hostels throughout Europe. Breads, jam, butter, juice and coffee/tea. The hostel asked that visitors remove their shoes before going upstairs into the living areas of the hostel. We thought that this was nice as it keeps with Thai tradition, but some visitors were easily annoyed by this. The area is always very clean, so it is not as if your feet are soiled or anything. The common area has an area to watch movies, a foosball table, and two desktop computers. The WiFi is poor in the rooms, so you should be in the common area if you plan to utilize WiFi. The AC in the common area is off at night, but they do have fans that you can use. Speaking of the AC/lights, they will only function if your keycard is in the slot in your room. Thus, the AC goes off while you are gone. This makes your room a little stuffy, but does not get so hot that any items (deodorant, etc) melt or anything. This is standard in most hotels throughout Thailand, and is certainly the case somewhere that is as reasonably priced as Smile Society.

We liked the location, and found it easy to use the BTS Skytrain to get around to shopping, Weekend Market, Wats, etc. The Patpong Night Market is also just a few minutes away and is good for buying random items on the way back from dinner, or if you have some downtime you want to spend in the area. There are some seedy elements to the market, but you can certainly avoid these areas if you wish. Just ignore the million offers you will receive for ping pong shows.

Though this accommodation is basic, we thought it was excellent for the price and title as "hostel". They offer dorm rooms, but the place is fairly small so it gives off more of a guesthouse feel than a hostel or hotel. Bee was always very kind to us and provided us maps and verbal instruction on how to reach the places we wanted to see. The rooms were clean and though ours was a ltitle crowded (the three twin beds are lined up in a row with maybe 6 inches between each of them), it served the purpose we were hoping for. It was a safe and clean place to rest and recharge. If you seek luxury, this is not necessarily for you. We are three girls in our mid 20s who like to travel comfortably but not with excess. We are nurses, and enjoy finding small places to build relationships with staff that do not break the bank (as we cannot afford to). We appreciated the staff and our time at the Smile Society. Certainly recommend to travelers with similar travel styles.

Room Tip: We liked the 3 bed private ensuite...room 123. It was relatively small, but we made it work for thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeliQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of my best hostel experiences yet! It was our first time in Bangkok, and the staff (especially Bee) was really helpful and knowledgeable in pointing us in all the right directions! The location is amazing, right off one of the main roads and close to the Skytrain BTS (Sala Deang) and the Silom MRT station. Restaurants/street food/shopping is nearby (5-min walk). Nice common area that has 2 computers w/internet to use free of charge. We stayed in a "deluxe double-bed private (w/ensuite); very bright and clean, air-conditioned, security safe included) We were able to store our luggage at no extra cost as well. Perfect experience, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11annabanana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I absolutely loved the Smile Society! It was super clean, and super comforting. Bee was so helpful, she told us where to go, how to get there, and what to look out for. The rooms were nice, kind of tiny, but they were cute and perfect! This hostel was in a fantastic location, easy access to the MRT, Sky train, buses whatever you needed to get around. The night market was a 2 minute walk down the road and the busy night life was about a 3 minute walk. Loved my stay here at the Smile Society, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

When I go back to Bangkok, this will be the hostel where I'll stay.
I had a better treatment than at my parents house, and imagine that my entire family was with me!!!
Always had great tips, all my questions were answered and even though we gave the staff a lot of work with different dates of check in and check out (we travelled thorough Thailand and then got back to Bangkok) we always had fantastic treatment and breakfast to go at 4am in the morning!!!
Will recommend this hostel to all my friends.
The Deluxe Double Bed Private Ensuite is a true palace.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Double Bed Private Ensuite is a true palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NagisaTavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

A gem in the financial district of Thailand. The set up of the hostel includes a very nice common room and typical dorms. The common room and breakfast area are great places to meet fellow travelers. Very near the sky train so easy to navigate Bamgkok and get to BKK airport. The owner is very friendly and helpful. I saw her drive to Khao San late at night to help one of her guests in need.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eitan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,344 in Bangkok
1,098 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,344 in Bangkok
554 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#6 of 1,344 in Bangkok
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,344 in Bangkok
365 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#10 of 1,344 in Bangkok
493 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#25 of 1,344 in Bangkok
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,344 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $11 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small youth hostel run by local. We are peaceful and environmental friendly. Staff are knowledgeable and happy to help guide your trip. You will see as local sees, eat like local eats and feel like local does. We provide clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation for young travelers around the world. No matter you travel alone, with family or friends, we have many room types that suit everyone needs. We are not in old city but located in great location on Silom Road which make you easy to explore Bangkok. We are only 5 min walk to Sky trian and Metro. Traveling to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town, etc is very easy and cheap. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in only Female or MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. It is good for free exercise :) We appreciate you read and understand our house rules and conditions before booking. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website. To get good deal, pls contact us via website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing