We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #3 of 1,283 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Smile Society was one of the most amazing hostels that we have ever stayed in. Not only was everything so clean, they even provided free internet, breakfast, and clean sheets and towels. The tv worked great and the shampoo and conditioner in the shower was a plus! Bee and Nid were so kind and helpful when we asked for directions and suggestions. The MRT is right by the hostel which made everything more accessible, especially coming from the airport. Already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for Smile Society
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 713 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location of the hostel is, indeed, very convenient : not far from BTS and MRT, which makes you able to move around quite easily but in a little street which allows to avoid the noise of silom.
The staff is nice, smiling and helpful and the place is clean.

The breakfast is just ok but I think it's good enough to be able to have a free breakfast.

Only one bad point : there was no curtain in the dorm, the sun woke us early in the morning (around 6)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have stayed at Smile Society during all of my trips to Bangkok. I love the location--- close to the subway and metro, right in the heart of the night market... It is super clean. Free internet, free breakfast... I was traveling alone and met a lot of great people to go out with/ spend the day with --- breakfast is the best time to meet people ---- and in the dorms! I was able to store my extra luggage which was great for the rest of my trip! Thank you Smile Society for always being so great.... :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pg2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Smile Society was a great place to stay at! The location is excellent close to both Skytrain and MRT, also the trip from the airport is very easy. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff was great and helpful, even at 3 am in the morning and I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krista719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hostel is very well-located, close to a Skytrain station. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. I recommend the hostel very much. I would stay there next time as well when I will come to Bangkok. The city is very interesting, there is so much to do!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel188107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hostel is secure and in a good location. I didn't hang out in the neighborhood much (has a night market and a lot of "sexy" shows and clubs), but is near the BTS. The staff are so nice, accommodating, and helpful with any questions that I had. The place is air conditioned well, which is necessary in the humid Bangkok heat. The rooms, bathrooms, and common areas were in good shape and clean. The free breakfast was a plus, though consisted only of hot rolls, coffee/tea, and fruit. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved Smile Society! The location and staff were excellent and I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Bangkok.

Good:
- Everything!
- Great beds
- Free breakfast
- Decent WiFi
- Strong AC
- Private and shared bathrooms were clean
- The staff! They spoke to us at length whenever we had questions or wanted suggestions. And best of all, when we left too early for the free breakfast, they offered to pack one for us to snag on our way out!

Bad:
- Some piping behind our private toilet leaked a bit, but it wasn't enough to cause any danger.
- When we first checked in there was nobody at the desk. We waited for about 30 minutes and got lucky when a local called the staff for us. It was probably our fault for not emailing ahead, but we thought we'd be fine checking in around 6pm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeasibleJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 879 in Bangkok
3,560 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,283 in Bangkok
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,283 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $16 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small youth hostel run by local. We are peaceful and environmental friendly. Staff are knowledgeable and happy to help guide your trip. You will see as local sees, eat like local eats and feel like local does. We provide clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation for young travelers around the world. No matter you travel alone, with family or friends, we have many room types that suit everyone needs. We are not in old city but located in great location on Silom Road which make you easy to explore Bangkok. We are only 5 min walk to Sky trian and Metro. Traveling to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town, etc is very easy and cheap. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in only Female or MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. It is good for free exercise :) We appreciate you read and understand our house rules and conditions before booking. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website. To get good deal, pls contact us via website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing