We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
$35
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
770
123
23
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
770
123
23
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room miss bee night market cozy hostel silom road sala daeng bts street food private bathroom rooms are clean visit bangkok laundry service metro station easy access hostels thailand dorm couch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 932 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved Smile Society! The location and staff were excellent and I'd recommend it to anyone staying in Bangkok.

Good:
- Everything!
- Great beds
- Free breakfast
- Decent WiFi
- Strong AC
- Private and shared bathrooms were clean
- The staff! They spoke to us at length whenever we had questions or wanted suggestions. And best of all, when we left too early for the free breakfast, they offered to pack one for us to snag on our way out!

Bad:
- Some piping behind our private toilet leaked a bit, but it wasn't enough to cause any danger.
- When we first checked in there was nobody at the desk. We waited for about 30 minutes and got lucky when a local called the staff for us. It was probably our fault for not emailing ahead, but we thought we'd be fine checking in around 6pm.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeasibleJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Smile Society is a new hostel in a great location. 5 mins walk to the BTS. About 8 mins walk to MRT. The hosts who are sisters were really nice and helpful to us. They answered all our questions promptly, arranged our bookings and even gave us tips on which islands to visit.
We initially booked an ensuite private room but was informed that there was a plumbing problem with the room reserved for us. So we were asked if it's ok to go for a private room (meant for 3 ppl) without ensuite. We were fine with that.

When we had to go off on our early day trip, the sisters even packed us breakfast to go which was a really nice touch and we really appreciate it.

The room was big and clean. The only thing was that because the door knob is new and heavy. Whenever someone closes the door, the "click" is really loud. I kept hearing them at 5am in the morning.

Another small suggestion for the owner was maybe to put a wee curtain on the gap of the wall for room that is sharing wall with the shared bathroom. The light that shine through into our room whenever someone turn on the light in the bathroom is really bright.

Other than that, we had great nights with Smile Society. They were easy-going, helpful, always smiling and great. A great hideaway in the central.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleShot_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A clean, well-run hostel in a great location. Not far from the sky train, which means you can get anywhere, and next to the night markets. Bee was an outstanding host. In fact, I had left one of my bags in a cab on the way to the airport and she called the company and tried to find the bag. We stayed in a double room which was clean and quiet - just what we were looking for after a 10-hour flight. This is not a party hostel but as there is so much going on outside, you'll welcome the peace.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheBeeGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It seems someone else had this problem. But we booked for over New Year and to make sure we got a spot booked via Hostelbookers over a month before.
After over 12 hours travel we arrived and ready for some sleep. The woman at the front desk looked a little confused by our presence but proceeded to check us in (taking our passport copies, filling out forms etc). Then all of a sudden thrust a mobile phone at me. It was the manager who casually said they had "overlooked our booking".
They offered us a bunk bed room at a "discount" (we booked a double ensuite and needed one as we'd both been unwell). When we looked into other hostels to go to they said it was New Year and we werent likely to find another hostel (thanks for that....that's why we booked with your hostel so early!). We were about to take the 4 bed bunk bed room, but then they refused to honor the 10% we paid through hostelbookers. They said it was because this room was cheaper. But they gave our room away and then we were supposed to let extra money go into the ether?

Nope, out of principle we left and went to HQ around the corner, which was great. The service was very poor and unhelpful at SS. We are heading back to Bangkok later and WILL NOT be staying at smile society.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank aebf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quiet and very clean hostel. Good hostel to catch up on sleep after a tiring day of travelling around Bangkok. The best hostel I have stayed at. The owners were very helpful. Breakfast was nice I would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Room facing the street was even very quiet.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentree1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews