We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #4 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Lovely staff who were super helpful and they organised a taxi for us the next day. The rooms were very nice and shared bathroom was clean. Great breakfast the next day too. I would stay at smile society again. It was excellent!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LivAds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    104
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
112
211
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had a good stay here. The 4-bed dorm I stayed was spacious and clean. The aircon was very powerful and is definitely a plus-factor for the hot and humid weather in Bangkok. The pillow and bedsheets felt clean. There is a sturdy locker with sufficient space to fit in my 60-litre backpack for each guest. Although the access-card door knob can be a little noisy at night, I actually quite like this additional safety feature.

On the 2nd level, there is a spacious cosy lounge with free WIFI.

The ladies running the place were very friendly and helpful. It seemed like they were always around to explain things to the guests.

On my day of departure, when I was walking out of the hostel, one of the lady receptionist (or owner, maybe) ran out of the main door to ask me if I thought there was anything they could improve. I was very impressed with their humble attitude!

Well, if I really need to pick a fault, maybe I would say the shared toilet condition can be improved a little. As there is no-shoe policy in the hostel, the wet floor of the toilet does feel sticky and weird at times to the feet. But really, as I don't spend a lot of time in the toilet, this did not really bother me. It may be good to provide some bathroom slippers for the guests though.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and I will be back here when I return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great way to meet other travellers. Comes with pretty attentive hosts. The location is prime, right in the financial district with a park 10 mins away. Patpong market, BTS, Metro. Street food is inexpensive and convenient if your into that kinda of thing. 15 mins cab ride to Khoa San Road in traffic. Very easily accessible from the airport by public transportation or a cab ride will cost you no more 500 Baht, if your paying more your getting schhcammed :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've stayed here both times I've been to Bangkok and I love it!
The hostel is extremly clean, the dorm beds have awesome comfortable mattresses, big lockers, get cleaned every day too. Bathrooms are really cute and always clean, here I walk in completely comfortable barefoot, I normally don't like that in shared bathrooms.
And what makes the place really special are the owners! The people working here are super friendly, always help you, answer all your questions! They even packed me a bag with breakfast when I had to leave early in the morning :)
The location is very good, close to public transport so all the bus station, airport etc are easy to reach, sight seeing not too far either.
And if you like relaxing with a movie - they have a television room with a big flatscreen ;).
I will never have to look for a other please in Bangkok - I found the perfect one for me!
Totally recommend the smile society!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraaa93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at Smile Society for nearly a week as we used Bangkok as the centre with day trips to surrounding areas. It was our families first time travelling overseas, and the staff were so helpful in every way - directions, transport, bargaining, culture and customs, things to do, money, etc. It is in a quiet location down an alley way, but very close to great food and shopping, and public transport. Our room was cleaned daily, and free bottled water and breakfast made a good start to the day. It also has the best common room atmosphere for meeting travellers (probably because it has the best wifi), but it gave the whole hostel a good community atmosphere. And the swipe card security made it the safest hostel we stayed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights when we first arrived in Bangkok. The staff are extremely helpful and help you out with the cheapest ways of getting around the city. The rooms are clean and comfy beds and the free breakfast is good. We left by bus early in the morning and they gave us a pack up breakfast to take with us! The common area is good, with a movie room and a few movies. Because taxis find it difficult to find they give you written Thai directions which made things a lot easier! We liked it so much that we returned a couple weeks later for a couple nights before heading north and then were going back again before we fly out! Great place to stay if you do want the dirt and noise of khao san road!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkEmily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

There was always a friendly and cozy atmosphere. The hostel and rooms were always clean and well cared for. Right at the corner is the next skytrain station. The Smile Society Team were very helpful and supportive at all times.

I can only recommend it!!

Best regards from Germany, Berlin

Benjamin

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,131 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,131 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#15 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Property: Smile Society
Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,131 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small boutique 'youth' hostel which provide a clean, cosy and safety accommodation for young travellers. We are in great location on Silom Road which make you easily connect to Bangkok tourist attractions by both BTS skytrian and Metro. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in Female dormitory and MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website and please read our house rules & conditions before make a booking. Get best deal, pls contact our website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing