We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!!”
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #3 of 1,335 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2012

the staff is amazing! always there - answearing all my questions!
the hostel is superclean! i had my own big locker, readinglight and power outlet!
free WIFI, free breakfast
AND only a few minutes walking to the skytrain!!
this is really an awesome place and i would love to come back one day!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank california2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 723 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

Smile Society was recommended to me by a friend and I found it to be a great hostel with great staff! Each bed has its own locker and its own power outlet. The bathrooms were separated by gender, had hot showers, and provided shower gel and shampoo. There is free wifi in the common area.

Upon checking in, I was given a notice about popular scams to watch out for, as well as restaurants/places to avoid. When I checked out, the receptionist helped me get a taxi to my destination, explaining the address in Thai and making sure the driver set the meter. The staff goes above and beyond! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 days at the end of January. As mentioned below the owners make a special effort to ease peoples stay in this crazy city with nice touches like how to get to the hotel in Thai so the taxi drivers can find it, the hostel itself is functional without being amazing, the rooms (like the hostel itself) are not particularly big can seem a little cramped with 8 people and all their gear but everything is clean in the shared spaces and the common room is comfortable and welcoming, there was a nice vibe in the guesthouse without being at all rowdy.
The owner is happy to give you suggestions of stuff to do and places to go and prepares a reasonable breakfast every morning, woe be tide you if you try to take more than the allowed 2 pieces of fruit however!
The location is an interesting one, close to Phatpong and the infamous redlight area and the Skytrain but sometimes it all gets a bit too much as Silom road is soo busy with market stalls, hawkers, and sex tourists 24 hours a day. However the surrounding area does have a much better feel than the Khao San Rd backpacker ghetto and I was pleased that I chose the Smile Society for my introduction to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hostel has a modern feel and top security features. The staff are super helpful and I would definitely stay here next time

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash113j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

What a wonderful hostel. Centrally located and close to the Skytrain but in a quiet sidestreet, the hostel is very clean and tidy and the breakfast was excellent. The owner, Ms. Bee who spoke excellent English was always available and very helpful in terms of finding our way around and suggesting places we should visit. We would happily stay there again and recommend it to anybody planning a few days in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our stay at the Society smile was amazing! The owner was extremely helpful after our bus arrived in the middle of the night, she was happy to let us spend the night in a vacant room. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The room was large with a full screen TV and its own bathroom. There were also games and a place to watch movies whenever you wanted. The staff was very accomodating and knowledgable about the city and helpful with directions. It was located in Silom which was a great area and close to everything. There was also a cafe located on the 1st floor which provided a delicious breakfast. There other travelers were kind and pleasant too. I would definitely recommend this and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erinm429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hostel was fantastic - the host was extremely helpful and friendly, always remembering your name as well!
It is is a very good location, not in the traditional backpacker area (Koh san rd - sic) but instead in silom. I liked this area because it is less touristy and westernised but a bit more traditional with night markets and local food vendors. (Although it still had a KFC and McD near-by!)
The dorm rooms were very comfortable and there is a good common room to hang-out.
Free breakfast is included - this is usually some bread rolls, a muffin and fruit plus juice or tea/coffee.
There is also free wi-fi.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,335 in Bangkok
1,086 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,335 in Bangkok
552 reviews
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,335 in Bangkok
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#7 of 1,335 in Bangkok
292 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#9 of 1,335 in Bangkok
491 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#25 of 1,335 in Bangkok
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,335 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $11 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small youth hostel run by local. We are peaceful and environmental friendly. Staff are knowledgeable and happy to help guide your trip. You will see as local sees, eat like local eats and feel like local does. We provide clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation for young travelers around the world. No matter you travel alone, with family or friends, we have many room types that suit everyone needs. We are not in old city but located in great location on Silom Road which make you easy to explore Bangkok. We are only 5 min walk to Sky trian and Metro. Traveling to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town, etc is very easy and cheap. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in only Female or MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. It is good for free exercise :) We appreciate you read and understand our house rules and conditions before booking. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website. To get good deal, pls contact us via website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing