We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Smile Society is aptly named”
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #4 of 1,389 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at the Smile Society and were thoroughly impressed by it.

The staff are very friendly and even took us and two other guests out for an evening tour of the old town - for no charge whatsoever.

The rooms are spacious and spotless, and the hotel is located in a bustling part of the city.

All in all, a beautiful paradise found in a rather seedy and notorious city.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver_Cromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 733 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

The Smile Society made us do just that. The room was excellent and included a four-poster bed, as well as digital tv that had over 100 channels. It was clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We were treated to a tour of historical landmarks at night in the owners' car which saved trying to navigate our way in the heat. The Smile Society has an excellent security swipe card system meaning the hotel feels 100% safe. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Bangkok. 

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejetsetbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hostel was amazing!!! Super clean, just be sure to bring your own towel cause those aren't supplied. The free breakfast is always a bonus! It's a 5 min walk to the skytrain, so awesome location, plus there's a night market right along the main strip!

I needed to catch a 5am bus to Kanchanaburi and they were wonderful. They told me where I could buy my bus ticket without having to actually go to the station (which is unreachable via MRT/public transit, and you'd have to take a cab). They also called a cab to pick me up at the hostel for 4am the next morning and told him where I needed to go. Plus they packed me a breakfast - for my early morning bus ride! And they even lent me their cell phone to use as an alarm clock! Now who can beat that?!?! They were super friendly and really helpful. I'd recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Bangkok! Loved it.

Room Tip: My friend and I stayed in the 8 women dorm room, and we had it to ourselves the first night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj2bruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This place has everything you'd want out of a bed in Bangkok. It's clean, has pretty admirable security, is near the subway system,Siam Square and plenty of food vendors, and has a helpful and friendly desk attendant.

The drawbacks are also what you'd expect in Bangkok; the area is a bit seedy with lots of offers for 'massage', etc. The hotel tries to push you towards expensive restaurants and bars that they must have some affiliation with, although overall this is done in a less aggressive way than usual.

Also, since this is a "hostel" there's dorm beds, which are quite expensive considering that it's Bangkok. I stayed in the private room which I would recommend. The dorms were 8 beds, and the same size as the private room; also no locks were provided so security in the dorm rooms is much less reliable than in the other rooms.

Overall, I'd stay again in a pinch. However, for the money you should be able to get something much nicer in Thailand.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youregoingwhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmileSociety, General Manager at Smile Society, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Front office staff always gets queries of where to eat, to visit or to go shopping. We have accountability for recommending interesting or well-known places to facilitate guest's convenience. It doesn't mean we have affiliate with those places. For dinning, we normally recommend restaurants nearby from food street shops till famous Thai restaurants that still open, to suit for those check in late at night. This is based on customer decision which we do not know what is their decision. In fact, our recommended famous restaurants are well known among tourists and from what we know, they have no need to give commission or rebate to any referral.
In addition, it is normal for backpacker guests staying in dorm to bring their own lock pad. This is more security of the key lock only held by them. We merely provide clean and big locker to facilitate their requirement. Moreover, for value personal belongings, we also provide safe deposit locker if guests request for with no charge.
Last but not least, it is our honor that you choosed to stay in our "hostel" while staying in resort and hotel in other countries. As you may know, most hostels and budget hotels do not provide as much of services, facilities or even size of room as those resorts and hotels; consequently, this is not comparable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The title of this place may make you think twice about staying here, but you won't be able to stop smiling once you arrive. The two women that look after the place are extremely welcoming and helpful, and will be able to answer any question you might have about getting around. They also volunteer advice on how to avoid scams.
The rooms are modest, with only bunk beds and lockable cupboards, but all the furnishings are modern and well kept, and it's what you might expect from a cheap hostel. The same goes for the toilets which are also kept clean and pleasant.
There is a decent common-room with a TV, two computers, Wi-Fi, football table, books, etc.
Overall, I was very impressed with this hostel and I can't emphasise enough how much of a difference it makes having such helpful staff. The prices are very reasonable and even a nice breakfast is included!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

nice rooms and very friendly staff! Good breakfast. We really enjoyed the stay that s why we are going back to stay a few more days.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beneditaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed at smile society in June 2011 by myself for 2 nights. I was incredibly impressed with the hotel -- the service the owner provided, the cleanliness, safety and comfort the rooms provided, and the covenient location. I would definitely recommend it to friends and will stay there during my next visit to Bangkok. Thank you smile society!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPJexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#3 of 1,389 in Bangkok
1,125 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#5 of 1,389 in Bangkok
571 reviews
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#2 of 1,389 in Bangkok
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#9 of 1,389 in Bangkok
304 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#11 of 1,389 in Bangkok
501 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#29 of 1,389 in Bangkok
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,389 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $17 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small youth hostel run by local. We are peaceful and environmental friendly. Staff are knowledgeable and happy to help guide your trip. You will see as local sees, eat like local eats and feel like local does. We provide clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation for young travelers around the world. No matter you travel alone, with family or friends, we have many room types that suit everyone needs. We are not in old city but located in great location on Silom Road which make you easy to explore Bangkok. We are only 5 min walk to Sky trian and Metro. Traveling to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town, etc is very easy and cheap. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in only Female or MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. It is good for free exercise :) We appreciate you read and understand our house rules and conditions before booking. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website. To get good deal, pls contact us via website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing