We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative to a hotel - very convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AETAS residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AETAS residence
Ranked #155 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good alternative to a hotel - very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family of three (2 adults, 1 small child) stayed in a studio room for 5 nights late July 2012.

Room was a good size, high quality bathroom and surprisingly good kitchenette. Wide selection of tv channels and good strength wifi (free).

Location is halfway down a long soi but taxis are easy to get so not a problem. They also have ample parking if you have your own car.

Pool clean. Didnt use the restaurant as we went out for breakfast or ate in the room.

Lots of nice restaurants near by - no need for a taxi (2 minutes walk).

Only two small downsides:
- A/c was a bit noisy as they are right outside the window on the balcony, but you get used to it
- As others have reported there is a slight smell of drains sometimes, mainly in the bathroom. If you keep the door closed then it is not a problem.

For the price this is a fantastic alternative to a full blown hotel and if you plan to explore Bangkok rather than sit by the pool then I would highly recommend this residence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    89
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
104
20
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Location was good (right behind the Conrad) so it was close to a shopping center which made it easy to get supplies. The service was excellent - staff were friendly and spoke good English. The facilities were very good as well - everything was new and clean. The room was well equipped with everything you need from a washer/drier, plates, glasses, microwave, huge fridge, etc. The only downside for us was the VERY limited number of cable channels. Also, although the bathroom was very well designed it was a little challenging to manage the shower water temp. Over all, I would go back to the Aetas and stay for more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manilamoongoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stress-free, luxury stay guaranteed. would definitely book it again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I find the Aetas Residence equipped with good in room amenities like kitchen and washing machine (with dryer). Nevertheless, I was given smoking room even after requested for a non-smoking one. The smell was strong and upon asking the hotel staff, I was told that all rooms of the serviced apartment are of non-smoking, which wasn't making a good sense to me.

Overall, I find hotel staff are friendly. The hotel is new with modern outlook and facilities. However, the surroundings are too quiet with not much choices of restaurants.

I will not recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjwei99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Located 10mins walk from BTS sky train station and near the US Embassy.

Free shuttle service to/from hotel to station help cut travel time.

Facilities are good, but priced to match.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weilii14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

A stay way beyond other places.

This was the perfect stay for me. Everything was in excellent condition and here they care about all the details and small stuff that make things easier and your day better. And its very quiet, there is absolutely no noise from the hallway, neighbours or anything else. Outstanding! The aircon noiselevel is ok, its on the good side compared to other places I have visited. Never had my sleep interrupted by noise.

What the other reviewer slams, are exactly what WORKS in this residence hotel.

The front staff are exceptionally helpful, polite and serviceminded. Those traits also transfer to the cleaning staff which, not only are they thorough but they will give you that little xtra service you dont get in other places. Cleaning staff is efficient and invisible if you are a working man. Come home and everything is well taken care of, every day without exception. Flawless. Period! For a longer stay, its not a bad idea, and is considered customary, to once in a while tip the cleaning staff.

TIP: If you are friendly to the staff, they are friendly to you. Be an obnoxious jerk and rude - and believe me I saw that kind in there - and then you get the service you deserve. Its a thai culture thing and they WILL brush you off if you are behaving badly.

Every morning for the 3 months, I got the newspaper for free, delivered and hanging on my door. Waterbottle service every day. Drink a lot of water and use for coffee also but would only have to ask cleaning staff and they gave me double up or more. Never lacked water !

I had a 1 bedroom apartment which is 87 sqm.
Nice sized bedroom with a very good bed, one of the best I have tried in Asia. LCD tv/dvd player in bedroom and a balcony.

The bathroom is PERFECT! Bathtub, showercabin and a more thought out sink-and-fixture configuration than other places. All the details I consider to make up the word perfect, is this bathroom. Of course it can be bigger and you could have 2 sinks and a jacuzzi but I'll take this one any day. Makes you feel at home.

Livingroom has a sofa/tv part with a balcony, big Sony tv + dock for Ipod/Mp3/dvd. Dining table, work table and lots of shelfspace to put your stuff.

Kitchen is small if you wanna cook food but cooked a lot, no problem. Big fridge w/freezer, lots of space. Pots, pans, utensils, you name it, its all there.

This apartment, the way its put together, userfriendlyness, decor and lighting makes it stand out. This is more like a home and hasnt got that often cold feeling of staying in a hotel.

The gym is far better than you normally see in hotels. Free weights up to 30kg and a smith rack. Lack free weight barbells and a cable tower which would have made it very very good. Steamroom and sauna (used sauna many times).

Nice standard pool area often seen in this type/pricerange hotel. Didnt go much.

Had breakfast 5-6 times but spread is limited. Its funny how all hotels do everything they can to accomodate the western breakfast habits which is a lot of white bread, butter, pastries....which is crap without any hint of nutrition and has nothing to do with a proper breakfast meal or food for that matter. But I will leave my tirades against that 'norm' in the western society for another time, thats another discussion and another forum. Funny thing, as I was saying, is that they will give you the 'food' you are used to but not the tv channels. This is not an AETAS thing, its more of a general issue down here. We are in Thailand but more common than not, you cant find a single thaidish at the buffet.

One of two things I will bash them for and thats the appaulingly lousy tv signal reception in my room which they werent able to fix for some reason. Had technicians in there 4 times.

The other is that there CAN come a foul smell of drain/sewage and this was especially present during the flooding. Its all because someone, during construction, didnt put in a waterlock which we know in the west (just like in the toilets). Would have cost dimes.
But I lived thru it. Before and after flooding, I think maybe 4-5 days total there was a bad smell.

And let me comment on the elevators too. There are 4 elevators and very little waiting time. Always one or two ready on ground floor. So many places, you have to wait for ages for elevators that are too slow to be legal but here it just works !

And here is one for The AETAS:
Pick your tv channel package according to demographics. Guests seemed to be 50% european/american, then asian and a few from the middle east. Way too many arab and chinese channels. CNN is the only news channel for the westerners.

For a taxi, the frontdesk calls the guards who will haul one for you from the street. In about 350 times I needed a taxi (yes, I said 350 times), waiting time was usually 1-3 min. Sometimes 10-12 but in Thailand taxidrivers decide if they want to go or not. If the destination doesnt suit them due to gridlock it doesnt matter who hauls it, they wont go. For those who dont know, its normal to tell the driver where you go before you get in. Get in and ask to go for a 'bad' destination, he will say no and out you go again. Very rarely have I seen a shortage of taxis anywhere.

As to the lobby area supposedly looking like an office block...nonsense.

If you need the space, the 2 bedroom apartments look exactly the same as a 1 br and both bathrooms are the same design.

All in all, I loved staying here for the duration of 3 months. The minor things wont take away my 5 stars, everything taken into consideration. I highly recommend the AETAS Residence which is not to be confused with the AETAS Bangkok (stayed there for a week, thats another review), which is the hotel besides it. And its not the same 'complex', the buildings are not connected.

I need to address taking taxis if you are going UP Sukhumvit since it can be very frustrating and very very timeconsuming due to the many 1-way streets surrounding the location of AETAS.

Since Phloenchit road is a 1-way street when you reach the BTS, you cant go up Sukhumvit. And when turning left, you cant u-turn afterwards which means you have to go a route which will look like a total taxi-scam-tourist-scenic-route-ride but it IS a bit of a pretzel-turn-turn-turn to go up Sukhumvit from the AETAS and it CAN take time during rush hour. Price is around 55 baht in normal traffic so no disaster.

So here are some good pointers depending on where you are going on Sukhumvit unless you choose the BTS which is fast and without gridlock but sometimes we are lazy and want to just sit in a taxi, right.

If you need to go to Sukhumvit 3-11, 4-12-14, I suggest you walk. Depending on what I do and carry, I like to walk there. If you take a taxi to the uneven numbers - go thru the CONRAD hotel which leads to Wireless road, oneway leftturn only on Wireless and take the first u-turn after about 100metres. Then you cross Phloenchit road and go to the t-section at Phechaburi road, right turn and then you end on soi 3 (to this point, a walk is faster than the taxi) for which there are 2 ways: either go to Sukhumvit and turn left or take the backroads if you are going far down a soi (like the bottom of soi 11). If your number is evensided, go to Sukhumvit and just hop out when your destination is across. Normally its a lot better to jump out close to the destination due to traffic. For Sukhumvit 19 and 14 which is at the Asoke intersection, take the taxi via Wireless (Witthaya), and thats a left when you go out from AETAS, then Asoke and then turn left when you reach Sukhumvit. If you tell a taxidriver to go wireless, Rama and asoke, they know. A walk in a good pace from AETAS to the Asoke intersection takes about 18min.
If you are going to sukhumvit 20-24 area, take taxi Wireless and Palamsi (means crossing Asoke instead of turning left as if you are going to soi 14-19) and then they always go thru sukh 22 and make their way from there.

My experience with taxis is that they almost never cheat you. They are very very honest in general. With prices ranging from 37-38 baht short ride to 80 baht long ride, a little detour or 10 min stoptime in traffic means very little to your wallet. If the taxidriver tells you the price and wont go with meter, it usually means 3x normal fare. Dont go with those, just wait for one who will, there are a million taxis in BKK.
If you are going on say a 25km ride and the freeway (tollway) is the best and fastest, they will normally know and choose that one. When going on a metre-payment ride like this, YOU pay the toll money which is a total from 45-80 baht. Same if you go to the airpoirt which will total about 320 baht, all included. For airport or longer, ask for a fixed price. Maybe they say 500 to airport, then you say no. I used the same taxidriver to take me lots of places and for the airport, I always gave him 400 baht. For an agreed 400, he was at my hotel when we agreed on a time for a pickup. I know I get a sane driver and he knows me.

Going to Pattaya or bigger distances is always a fixed price. 1200-1300 baht to Pattaya is the norm even tho you can get some to go for 1100. Again, give a little more than expected and you get your worth for that little xtra money. Wanna go back to BKK in a taxi, make arrangements with the same driver to pickup when you go home. Then you know you get your man and he knows where you are going, win-win.

Say you are going on a shipping spree in Sukhumvit-Central area and you want your man to drive you and wait whereever you stop. Usual charge per hour (with mostly waiting time) is about 150 baht. Was on a ride with 5 stops, about 70 km total, 3½ hrs. He would settle for 750 but I gave him 1.000 and everybody is happy.

If you want to go to a destination that is heavily jammed with traffic which means they dont want to go, say a 20km ride which is normally 140 baht or so and you really need to go, then settle for a price there. It may be 300/350 but you get to your destination and 300 is still ok, especially due to the matter of the situation.

Trust me when I say you look for this when stopping a taxi:
New car or at least one that is taken care of. If dinged up and duct tape here and there, avoid cause then its old which means engine, transmission, seats and not least suspension is very poor and that makes up for a less than pleasant ride.
If the driver is 60 yrs or more, avoid ! They just dont know how to drive. You will be amazed to see the number of drivers that constantly tap the clutch without reason. They have no clue.

I have taken tuk-tuks but rarely do since they overcharge heavily which is maybe 150-250 baht for a 50 baht ride. Tuktuks are always arranged prices, bargain with them. Know what the ride costs in a taxi and add a little, thats the real price for a tuktuk ride.

Soooo, wanted to write how to get from A to B from AETAS but I couldnt help myself from all the other, hopefully, helpful information as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank ArchStantonTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS bangkok
#72 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#49 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape House, Bangkok
#52 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Siam
Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AETAS residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AETAS residence

Property: AETAS residence
Address: 51 Soi Ruamrudee, Ploenchit Road | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#87 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#132 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AETAS residence 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok’s newest and most exclusive serviced residence on Phloenchit Road, is a prime choice for an extended stay in Thailand’s bustling capital.AETAS residence is dedicated to adherence to the highest standards of hospitality industry and wonderful premises. Guests can rightly expect more than a heavenly treatment with a distinctive touch of style accommodation.AETAS residence offers ideal accommodation inclusively equipped for a perfect hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your AETAS residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aetas Residence Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing