We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, value for money and good rooms”
Review of Thara House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thara House
Ranked #103 of 651 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location, value for money and good rooms”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great value we paid 540 per night for aircon hot water tv 2 minute walk to koh San road but without any noise. Aircon was very cold. Tea/coffee for breakfast with average peice of cake. Wifi worked well in room. Room was clean and are stating there again at end of our trip

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelitagoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
54
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place to stay, in a fantastic location close to Khaosan road and the ferry pier. Great value for money, very friendly staff, clean rooms, wifi, air conditioning, hot shower, tv with many English channels.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Langsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been visiting this area of Bangkok regularly over the last six years, and as a result have stayed in many of the hotels and hostels in the Khao San Road area. Thara House, which have recently refurbished their rooms, is easily the best value for money hotel I've tried. We're in a large double room, with window, AC, decent TV (with HDMI and USB inputs), hot water etc. and that's costing us ฿600 per night.

We previously stayed at the Four Sons Inn, which is a similar price (฿650), but is at a much lower standard. I will review that separately.

Another benefit is the location, we are next to the river, and near a temple. Meaning we don't get the thumping drum & bass music from Khao San Road at 04:00. But we are only a five minute walk from the madness that is Khao San.

Great place, will certainly come again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tommumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We are a family, just found this place while getting off boat, great price, very clean and friendly. It's only for sleeping don't expect to chill out with other travellers, for that just 5 minutes walk into the night life, and there's plenty of it.
So overall if ya want a clean up, and great sleep, all at a great price, this is it.....

Room Tip: Check it out first, check the shower, air con...... Tv.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Thara House with my gf at the end of our 4 weeks trip in Thailand and Cambodia. This was our third guesthouse in Bangkok (as we traveled around we had to come back to Bangkok a couple of times) and we think it's good value for your money if you want a comfortable bed and a clean room with A/C.

We payed 600 THB for a clean room with A/C and wi-fi (although we couldn't connect for half a day, problem solved next morning). For this price they also provided two bottles of water per day and free coffee with a (very) small cake in the morning.The room was rather small, but well equipped with a table, a couple of stools, a closet and a flatscreen TV. It was very clean, the towels were big and they changed them everyday if asked to.

The location is also great as you are 3 minutes away from the Khao San area (soi Rambuttri is really close) but not in the middle of the action (although there is bar next door with loud music playing until late night. I use earplugs so not much of a problem for me).

We found Thara Guesthouse as we arrived to Bangkok without having booked a room, so we checked out a few guesthouses on Rambuttri. Most of the GH in the area provide horrible, dirty and overpriced rooms in old buildings, and you really have the impression they don't bother to do much in order to improve their premises. We checked as much as 5 or 6 places before getting to Thara, and they had all asked the same price or even more for lousy rooms.

Room Tip: No elevator, so try to stay on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I heard about this guesthouse through people we met traveling and wasn't disappointed. The receptionist isn't the happiest one but she's very honest. The room was of normal size and the bed very comfortable. We stayed here for over 3 weeks and were very satisfied with the room and the cleaning service. They didn't bother us when we were sleeping and always came back to a clean room. The location is perfect, because close to Kho San Road and bus stations, it still offers the quiet nights we all need.
The only con is the fact that if you get a room on the 5th floor it can be very tiring but it does forces you to exercise.
Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The rooms are nice, clean, the price is maybe a little bit overpriced. The location is quite good, as its not far from the river and the khao san road, but still quiet and around are a lot of nice restaurants and food stores. Downstairs are just a few computer thats all, and the staff were not really friendly but even not impolite. For just getting a good sleep its ok, for more like hanging around, having some food etc. - for backpacker - maybe not the right place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#345 of 863 in Bangkok
444 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#377 of 863 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
A&A Guest House
A&A Guest House
#150 of 651 in Bangkok
118 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#39 of 651 in Bangkok
333 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#33 of 651 in Bangkok
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thara House

Property: Thara House
Address: 100-100/1 Phra Arthit Road | Chanasongkhram. Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing