We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay Even Better Than the First” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loy La Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loy La Long Hotel
Ranked #15 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Second Stay Even Better Than the First”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second time at Loy La Long and I really can't say enough good things about the place. The staff are just wonderful. Friendly, interactive (but they leave you alone if you aren't interested in interacting), attentive. It feels more like you are staying at a friends house, than at a boutique hotel. My first stay there was so great, there was no question I would stay there again on my return to Bangkok for my honeymoon.

The washroom in the blue room has been upgraded to a shower stall (used to be an old (quaint) wooden tub) which is nice. There is also now a mini fridge.

As other commenters have mentioned can be a bit tricky to find, because there are no big signs and it does feel a bit strange to have to walk into what feels like a temple area, all the way to the back and down a little alley. As long as you know where you need to be on a map, and are aware that you are actually looking for the temple and not an obviously marked hotel you will be fine. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from Hua Lampong station. People in the neighbourhood seem accustomed to pointing travellers in the right direction.

The location can't be beat, it is truly an oasis in busy Chinatown. The street food nearby is amazing, and they have a wonderful breakfast selection (included). When I asked them to make me their favourite dishes for dinner, it was some of the best food I tasted on this trip.

If you want an authentic and personal Bangkok experience instead of staying in a faceless hotel, this is absolutely the place for you.

Be sure to pick up the Nancy Chandler maps they sell there, they are the best maps of Bangkok I've ever used (and I tried a few) even though they look like cartoons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    56
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
37
156
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Quaint boutique hotel situated in a temple compound. This place is a little hard to find, especially when coming from Hualampong, where I'd have to dodge all the taxi and tuk tuk touts, as well as some major construction going on which makes it more confusing.

Breakfast was good, with a range of choices from local to western. Waking up to the sound of river waves makes it even more pleasant. The rooms have an eclectic local flavor, themed by colors. The one i stayed in had an ensuite bathroom which was pretty well designed. Staff is genuinely friendly.

Only complaints are the lack of toilet paper? and paper thin walls (hotels in old timber buildings tend to have this problem). The hotel is within walking distance from the east end of Chinatown, but most of Chinatown is closed at night, so dining options are very limited; you'd have to plan your dinner elsewhere early to avoid the risk of getting ripped off by bad taxi drivers when you realize that there's nothing much to eat when you get back to the hotel.

Nevertheless, it's an interesting experience worth doing once.

Room Tip: If you are lucky, everyone's gonna keep their noise down at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupraLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Modern, convenient and commercial accommodations are ubiquitous throughout Bangkok but this type of classic is rare. As a regular traveler to Bangkok and lover of old days' things, this was the perfect spot for me. A Beer Lao just 1 meter above Chao Praya River was a pleasant extra!

Room Tip: Dormitory has 4 beds but hardly full so far. There is no window so the room is just for sleeping whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanghyunJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Despite the fact that several taxi drivers could not find their way without help, this lovely guest house is the spirit of Thailand. The staff and the owner could not have been nicer, even running to the market when they ran out of shrimp for a dish I had ordered. It is artsy and unique, and eclectic. The food was wonderful and the rooms were stylish and pleasant. I too, will never stay anywhere else in Bangkok. I almost don't want the whole world to discover it, because I don't want it to change, but the owner deserves all the success in the world. It makes all the five stars I stay at look homogenized and boring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. At night you can watch the fireworks over the harbor. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CGrollOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were there for Songkran holiday for 2 nights in the Green room, it was alright.

We did love the decoration of the place, totally unique and interesting. I was pleased with all the photos I have taken from there they all came out nice and lovely. It was also pleasant to sit by the river early in the morning watching the world outside moving by slowly....just made us felt so peaceful.

The service was okay, the staff was helpful and polite but I do not think I liked the food that much.

We probably were too old to climb into the bath tub and tried to contain the water not to splash out as much as possible so we did not wet the floor and get slipped when step out.

It probably was not a good timing when we arrived on the first day that the room was not ready and not in good condition yet to check in. We were fine with that no big deal....only wait for an hour. To be approached after long day exploring BKK soon after arriving at night time in the hotel on our last day that we had to try to pack up and have the room ready for them by 11am checking out the next day as they had another group of people coming to shoot a documentary or something in the Green room was utterly unpleasant. Understand the checking out time but it did make us felt like we were asking to leave. To be honest this very much has put us off and consider only one time experience should be enough with the place.

Room Tip: We like the decoration in Black room but Green room much more bigger and more comfortable for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttma_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem in Bangkok, in fact one of the most memorable hotels I have ever stayed in. Very welcoming and helpful staff, excellent food and refreshments, and beautiful, comfortable accommodation. I will never stay anywhere else in Bangkok.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Riley_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is such a great and unique spot.
The hotel is located near China Town and the river, Chao Phraya.
We (only) stayed there for one night because it was full, but I/we have to go there one more time and stay there for min 2 nights.

The view is spectacular and sitting there to see the sunset or just having the breakfast, it's just an amazing experience.

We only ate the breakfast there, but it was a good breakfast, which you choose at the day of your arriving.

The only bad thing is, that it was very hard to find...And off course it didn't made it easier, that the taxi driver drove us to the wrong hotel (1-2 streets away from this hotel).

Good service by the helpful, smiling and calm staff.
The rooms are very cozy and unique.Apparently all the rooms are different.
We stayed at the black room, which had a feeling being back in 1800 Siam/Bangkok.Beautiful small decorations, unique interior and unbelievable view- right outside you see the river.
Definitely to recommend!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the black room, which has great interior and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila_158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#86 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
Inn A Day
#5 of 606 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loy La Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loy La Long Hotel

Property: Loy La Long Hotel
Address: 1620/2 (inside Patumkongka Rachaworawiharn Temple) Song Wat Road | Sampanthawong, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loy La Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loy La Long (LLL), a new Bed & Breakfast located in Bangkok Chinatown area, on the riverfront of Chao Phraya river. Founded in April 2011.Feel a touch of Bangkok realistic riverside livings with our nice wooden house with 7 different-style-of-decorating rooms.LLL is a place to experience a side of Bangkok tucked away behind the Neon billboards of modern Bangkok. A place where time stands still~~~We are not part of big chain or 5-star hotel. With limited of rooms and guests, we put more care and service our guests like friend to friend or a member in the house.Room Amenities:*Non smoking rooms*Breakfast included*Key card access at the main entrance*Upstair & downstair balconies with Chao Phraya river view*TelevisionLCD Plasma Screen with International Satellite*DVD/CD Player*Air-conditioner*Hot & warm water maker*FREE book & DVD rental*FREE towel*FREE soap, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, shower cap*FREE daily drinking water *FREE Wireless ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing