We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Loy La Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loy La Long Hotel
Ranked #16 of 652 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem in Bangkok, in fact one of the most memorable hotels I have ever stayed in. Very welcoming and helpful staff, excellent food and refreshments, and beautiful, comfortable accommodation. I will never stay anywhere else in Bangkok.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Riley_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    59
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
167
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is such a great and unique spot.
The hotel is located near China Town and the river, Chao Phraya.
We (only) stayed there for one night because it was full, but I/we have to go there one more time and stay there for min 2 nights.

The view is spectacular and sitting there to see the sunset or just having the breakfast, it's just an amazing experience.

We only ate the breakfast there, but it was a good breakfast, which you choose at the day of your arriving.

The only bad thing is, that it was very hard to find...And off course it didn't made it easier, that the taxi driver drove us to the wrong hotel (1-2 streets away from this hotel).

Good service by the helpful, smiling and calm staff.
The rooms are very cozy and unique.Apparently all the rooms are different.
We stayed at the black room, which had a feeling being back in 1800 Siam/Bangkok.Beautiful small decorations, unique interior and unbelievable view- right outside you see the river.
Definitely to recommend!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the black room, which has great interior and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila_158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for five nights. It took us two nights just to get used to this quirky, creaky old house, and to learn how to get around Bangkok from there. Whoever designed the renovation is a genius, adding modern amenities while keeping the old atmosphere. It was wonderful to be right on the river.

This was not my first trip to Bangkok, so we had an advantage. It might be harder for a first-timer with less time.

Breakfast was good, and so was dinner when we were to tired to go out in the evening.

My wife has a minor disability, but was able to climb to the upper floor without difficulty.

The staff treated us like family.

-- Steve

Room Tip: We had the "blue room," which has two views of the river, on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakkinYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A beautiful calm, quiet and cozy place away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the food was nice and the view was to die for! I have nothing negative to say about the place, simply loved it!

A good tip is to get around Bangkok by boat, as it is close to two piers (approximately a 5 minutes walk). the boats are very cheap and efficient.
If you need a taxi, I recommend asking the staff to call one for you (you will avoid being taken by tailor or gem shops). The staff are also helpful in giving you tips on what to see and do, and provided us with a map of the surrounding area.
We also bought the `Nancy Chandlers map of Bangkok` in the reception, which will give you good tips about eating, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in both the blue room and the black room, both were amazing. In the black room you hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmetmetme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in Loy La Long for 1 night only (we had to cut short our trip due to an emergency). Loy la long is a boutique hotel in its true sense in that there is a very high emphasis on the architecture, the riverside experience and the personalized service.

Its a small hotel 5/6 rooms in a old teak house on the river Chao Phraya. There is a small albeit excellent kitchen / bar which. What however really distinguishes the hotel is the excellent way the old teak house has been decorated and the location bang on the river where you can sit on the veranda soaking in the sun, watching the boats chug by and musing over beer. If you haven't had enough of the river during the day, you will love the sound of lapping waves at night.

I must add, Saravuth, the owner is extremely warm and trusting person. He accepted our bookings without any advance and when we had to leave early because of an emergency he promptly refunded us our last nights money. Try that at a multinational chain! The staff is extremely courteous, helpful and warm. They will go out of their way to help make your trip just super.

I will give this hotel a 5* on every single aspect and will keep coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayankAgarwalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop on a mini-tour of Thailand and it was by far our favourite hotel. The service is excellent - everyone is so friendly and helpful. Boat was amazing, advising us on what to do and how best to get about. I was really nervous about bangkok being all a bit much after relaxing in many beach resorts & sleepy villages... But this place made our experience! Being on the river is amazing!! So peaceful and relaxing. Loved watching the river traffic pass by and the sun set over the city beyond. It is ideally placed on the edge of Chinatown (which was also a fantastic experience - another favourite!) and is a good location for doing the main tourist sites. A short walk takes you to the river ferry port which is a good way to get about.
As other reviewers have said, it is difficult to get to sometimes as taxi drivers haven't heard if it and struggle to find it/know what you're talking about! We printed the driver instructions off the website before arriving at bangkok airport to hand to the taxi driver and that worked very well. The hotel also give you these instructions on small pieces of paper to hand to drivers when you're out and about. Great idea! (Although some drivers still won't take you!).
We stayed in the black room which was just fab. Gorgeous decor and views. The whole place is beautifully designed with real attention to detail. A quirky, friendly, boutique-beauty in the middle of crazy bangkok - stay there, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k-tipsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the Blue Room for 3 nights and loved it for the ambience and decoration, and the view of the river. We used the deck which overhangs the river probably more than we should have, as we should have been out sightseeing.
We ate 3 meals there and really enjoyed the simple food produced. It was tasty and good value for money.
There was one negative for us. The first is that the taxi driver and guide we requested was unreliable and tried to rip us off. He did not turn up the second day, arranging instead for someone else to do it for him. The second driver was much better but had not been given the agreements made with the first one, and although sorted out, left a sour taste and reflected on the hotel as they had arranged it for us.
We loved this hotel because we did not want to run around Bangkok at the end of a long holiday and we enjoyed sitting and soaking up the atmosphere of which there was plenty. I would recommend to those who like boutique and slightly quirky (n a good way) hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#86 of 863 in Bangkok
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 863 in Bangkok
8,211 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loy La Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loy La Long Hotel

Property: Loy La Long Hotel
Address: 1620/2 (inside Patumkongka Rachaworawiharn Temple) Song Wat Road | Sampanthawong, Bangkok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 652 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loy La Long Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loy La Long (LLL), a new Bed & Breakfast located in Bangkok Chinatown area, on the riverfront of Chao Phraya river. Founded in April 2011.Feel a touch of Bangkok realistic riverside livings with our nice wooden house with 7 different-style-of-decorating rooms.LLL is a place to experience a side of Bangkok tucked away behind the Neon billboards of modern Bangkok. A place where time stands still~~~We are not part of big chain or 5-star hotel. With limited of rooms and guests, we put more care and service our guests like friend to friend or a member in the house.Room Amenities:*Non smoking rooms*Breakfast included*Key card access at the main entrance*Upstair & downstair balconies with Chao Phraya river view*TelevisionLCD Plasma Screen with International Satellite*DVD/CD Player*Air-conditioner*Hot & warm water maker*FREE book & DVD rental*FREE towel*FREE soap, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, shower cap*FREE daily drinking water *FREE Wireless ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Loy La Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing