We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$16
View deal
Priceline
$19
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/29/21
FindHotel
$11
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/31/21
Booking.com$18
Hotels.com$16
CheapTickets$16
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
14
28
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
28
9
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 54 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Dear friends, as a guest at The Fifth Residence, I would like to recommend it as an excellent place to stay if you are looking for good quality accommodation in central Bangkok at a reasonable price. Firstly, the rooms are clean and well kept, and the building is well maintained. Secondly, although the place is well-positioned in central Bangkok, it still has the advantage of being located in a relatively quiet street, which is definitely a real blessing in Bangkok. Thirdly, June the Manager is very kind and helpful, as are her staff, and she genuinely makes an effort to 'go the extra mile' in order to ensure that every guest is happy and enjoys their stay. I would heartily recommend The Fifth Residence to anybody who is looking for a good place to stay during their time in Bangkok. Yours sincerely, Joseph C. Jenner, MSc

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I picked this place as an overnighter before taking the sleeper train to Ko Tao. It ticked all the boxes for cheap, convenient location near the train station, sky train and malls. We paid 800baht for a twin room and an extra 400baht for a very late check (6pm the next evening) out so that we could have a shower before getting on the train.

I read up all the reviews before arriving and so knew what to expect. Yes, its a simple hostel-like residence, but our room was functional, spacious, spotlessly clean, included a good bathroom, small balcony, mini bar, desk - so many things we didn't get in hotels more than twice the price. And yes, its down an alley full of car mechanic shops, and yes there is a high class brothel/massage parlour at the end of the street, but we didn't feel it was dodgy at all - just a normal Thai business neighbourhood really. The price certainly justifies the somewhat off-central location in my opinion.

The walk to the malls/skytrain station is a bit of a schlep as you have to go across a few skybridges to avoid crossing busy roads, so if you have luggage or are not up for the walk, grab a tuk tuk from the skytrain stop - we paid 50baht for a ride (2 people with luggage). We also paid about 60baht to get a taxi to the flower market at night and the same to the train station for the night train. The lady at the front desk was super helpful when we asked how to get to the flower market - giving us the name written down in Thai so we could inform the taxi driver.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFifthResidence, Manager at The Fifth Residence, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback about our hotel, which is highly appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms. We hope you had a pleasant time in Bangkok (and Ko Tao) and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

not a bad hotel but a pain for taxi drivers to find as it's down a dead end,the rooms are clean and bright though the bed a bit hard for us.the hotel is surrounded by auto garages and if you want a lie in forget it they start at 7.30.we were only there 2 days and got they a day early and with only paying a little more we stay in the twin towers (very posh) but we really wanted to go to bo bae market so we just stayed which is walker distance away.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doingok37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFifthResidence, Manager at The Fifth Residence, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback which is highly appreciated. As a result we will be providing additional information on our website which can be given to the taxi drivers to ensure a smooth and efficient arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This budget hotel provides new and clean rooms, with free wi-fi service. We arrived at 2am in the morning and they accommodated our late checkin request.

Taxis do not know the place so remember to print the address of the hotel in advance. Frontdesk was helpful in providing directions near the area.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Very helpful hotel, only few minutes away from main places. Area of hotel not the best but the price, rooms and service make up for it.

Date of stay: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ket1Op
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews