We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A simple, warm, clean, intelligent and affordable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sivarin Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sivarin Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 615 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A simple, warm, clean, intelligent and affordable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at this place for 3nights on our first ever trip to Bangkok. We were looking for something clean, safe, affordable and peaceful ahead of trip and narrowed down on Sivarin, and we felt that we hit the bull's eye actually afterwards!:) Couldn't expect anything better to get a pleasant first impression of Bangkok! It felt like staying at a friend's place. Very cozy, homey atmosphere even with a smell of home not a hotel in a building (if you know what i mean) - in rooms, from pillows and bedsheets... An almost meditative atmosphere around. Bedding is changed and extreme (!) room cleaning provided everyday. Lots of travel information and no pushing to buy anything. The fact that there are shared bathrooms only here didn't disturb at all, since they are perfectly clean, have hot showers and even free soap and shampoo. Cute garden patio for included in room rate breakfast outside, perfectly fast WI-FI, minutes of pleasant stroll to crazy Khao San and beautiful riverside. We would love to stay here again only on our next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor if you are a couple looking for a maximum private space. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yangzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    47
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
74
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good value for the cost: about $30/night. There are shared bathrooms, but the staff was friendly and didn't try to sell us tours or travel. Free breakfast was nice. A short walk to KSR but far enough away to be quiet. Would reccomend to budget travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Set your expectations based on their website and you won't be far wrong. Good, clean, basic breakfast. Only downside is shared bathroom, but to be fair it was only shared between 4 rooms and cleaned a few times a day and always felt clean.
Helpful staff, free wifi, and in a quiet location 10 mins from Khosan road. Nothing to complain about really

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanAndMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at Sivarin guesthouse for three nights at the end of a month long trip around Thailand.
We found the guesthouse to be very good value for money in terms of standard of room, service and cleanliness compared to what else is on offer in the immediate location and price bracket. Our room was quite spacious compared to other guesthouses we had stayed in. It was a shared bathroom per floor but these were always kept clean too. Breakfast was included in the price. Our room was a fan room which had done us fine in some other locations but we did struggle in Bangkok without AC but the staff were lovely when we asked for an additional fan and sorted it straight away. It's only a 10min walk from Khao San road and about 15-20min walk from grand palace too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egalla84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NpjBnk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed in this beautiful guest house on last of September 2011. This is not a luxurious hotel but a family guest house run by Ms Varintorn and her two cute staffs. I found this property while searching for a cheap and good accommodation in bangkok. I mailed and got good price. It is well located just 15 mins from Khao san road and 20-25 mins from the Grand Palace. There are no single or twin beds in this guest house but all are double beds. They charge per room.I was given a room on the first floor named TOUCHMAS. Though the room has no carpet on the floor but was big and very clean. Every day we were provided with two bottles of water for free. They also gave us two clean towels. The bathroom was shared but has hot and cold shower with free bathing gel, shampoo and conditioner. The bathroom was also very clean. I got a very good price of THB 550 per room/night with breakfast. Internet was free. We bought 1ltr of water bottle from the guest house at THB15 while you get it at THB20 outside. The staffs were very good and smiley. The two girls working in the guest house though could not speak english but very attentive for their guests needs. The owner Ms varintorn is a very decent lady and very helpful also.
I founfd breakfast very good with unlimited tea and coffee.
I did not use their service for sight seeing but I saw their catalog , the rates were cheaper. I asked Ms Varintorn for a taxi to airport and we got it just at THB 600 while from airport we paid more.
So, I recommend this guest house to everyone who want a very clean, cozy, cheap and friendly stay while in Bangkok. Sivarin Guest House is a perfect choice in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiddenpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Everything you expect of a hostel. Good bed, good internet, friendly, actually helpful staff, decent breakfast.
It is three blocks away from Khao San, in a quieter side street, so you can actually sleep at night.
Rooms are clean, common showers are spotless, no signs of bedbugs or cockroaches or other nasties that infect hostels worldwide. Showers come with free shampoo and shower gel, that's a nice bonus too.
Stayed there twice, would stay again. The only negative thing I can think of, is that the downstairs room has a blind door opening to the breakfast terrace, so there is some chatter in the morning; the upstairs rooms are deadly quiet.
It is a bit pricier than some other guesthouses, but very good value nonetheless.
The laundry service was very reasonably priced, and was done in time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandorsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This guesthouse was a great introduction to Thailand. Staffed by a number of friendly ladies, it has a lot going for it. Lovely breakfast, free internet on the computer, spacious rooms, hot showers. It's a bit more pricey than others in the area, at about 800-900B per night, but to be honest you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#296 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chantra
Baan Chantra
#45 of 615 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#85 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Khaosan Immjai
Khaosan Immjai
#68 of 1,155 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#31 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Banglamphu
Back Home Backpackers
Back Home Backpackers
#37 of 1,155 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivarin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivarin Guesthouse

Property: Sivarin Guesthouse
Address: 11/1 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road | Watsampraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 615 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sivarin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing