We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Thai”
Review of Gedhawa

Gedhawa
Ranked #141 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thai”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I only have a few nights in Thailand so did some research and decided to give Gedhawa a go. I had no problem finding the place, but almost gave up en route as the walk up Soi 35 was completely dark and I was on my own. But wow, once I got there I was in for a treat. Delightful atmosphere, friendly service, reasonable prices and the best Thai food I've ever had. Absolutely delicious. I'll definitely return if I ever get the chance, but next time will go by cab.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank timntoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    67
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
462 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Food delight”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The restaurant is down soi 36 of Sukhmivit rd out of the way but worth searching for. They have the best Northern Thai food that I have had with great vegetarian options. The size is small and it fills up for lunch and dinner. It is best to make a reservation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bangkok”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The only negative about this small place is finding it. The food is exquisite, better than any Thai food we've had in either Calif or Hawaii. The mom cooks it up, two daughters serve, and it's almost a crime how cheap & reasonable the prices are. We gave it 5 stars, and only because we couldn't give it more, and the rating has nothing to do with the cheap prices, but rather with the fantastic Thai food you are going to savor with every forkful or chopstick full. Do yourself a favor if you're in Bangkok, and as foodies we totally vouch with confidence you, too, will come away a Gedhawa aficionado!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had delightful dinner at Gedhawa this evening. We had the cucumber salad, the northern Thai sausage and a northern Thai chicken curry. The salad was fine and both of the northern Thai dishes were quite good.

Unlike other reviewers, we had no trouble finding the place. Simply walked down Sukhumvit to Soi 35 and then up (north) to #24. Even though it was a Saturday night and we did not have a reservation, we were seated immediately. The price was very reasonable - 570 Baht for a large beer, two bottled waters, an order of sticky rice and and the above food. The waitress spoke little English, but the menu is in both Thai and English and helpfully has pictures of the dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jams1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic local place”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been here 3 times now... It never disappoints me. koay Soi is so far the best I have tried in Bangkok and its reasonably priced... It's a charming little place and its worth a visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gedhawa also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Gedhawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing