We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gen on the River”
Review of Jack's Bar

Jack's Bar
Ranked #288 of 13,379 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: This little place doesn't actually have an English name, we nicknamed it 'Jack's Bar'. It's in a tourist area (next door to Shangri-La Hotel) on the river.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Awesome place for soaking up BKK, eating great food all day long as well as getting completely gazeboed whilst people watching.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely, homely Thai bar built out over the river, serving delicious, cheap-as-chips food and affordable wine. Such friendly people too. A real find.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BGPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good cheap thai food over the Chau praia river. A cool place to have food, close to the metro and before traveling on the river....

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank _xavier_launois89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Jacks bar last night with my girlfriend for a final/hopefully scenic night in Bangkok. We waited 15 minutes to be seated which is understandable. However the language barrier here is almost unbearable. On top of that, we genuinely waited an hour & 20 minutes for our food to arrive. Just to be served the wrong dishes. They tried to play it off however we saw various customers arrive and get served before us (even the same dishes we had ordered) just to see them scramble over to the kitchen & have them whip up an order they presumably forgot. I completely understand waiting time, but when it is a plate of rice & stir fry noodles (which turned out to be pad Thai, which were completely different ingredients & look compared to what was displayed on the menu), we were not too happy. However it didn’t not end there. Beers on the menu were priced at 100 when ordering, however we informed they were actually 120 when paying. Bringing me back a completely different menu than what was originally displayed to us. Long story short, the view was only nice if you are situated right along the water, the service was GOD AWFUL, & it was a complete & utter disappointing way to end our trip to Bangkok; where there is such great food & service to be offered. Don’t waste your time at this garbage of a restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank harrisonjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019 via mobile

We have been visiting this little bar , for several years now since we first discovered it when staying at the Shangri La. It is our favourite relaxing place by the river just watching the world go by.
It is quieter in the afternoon, with great service, but has become much busier over the years, especially at night.
Just a real relaxing, chill out place to visit. Love it ❤️

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank marycK3413VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Bar also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Jack's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing