We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$110
View deal
Booking.com
$77
View deal
Agoda.com
$84
View deal
Vio.com$84
eDreams$77
Etrip$84
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
109
105
36
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
105
36
19
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 273 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Positive:

- Excellent location to visit the historical city center, 3 minutes walk from Wat Po, 15 minutes walk from Grand Palace
- Nice facilities, rooms and breakfast
- Staff not so good in English, but helpfull and friendly
- As plus they have a special agreement with Wat Po, and can arrange for you an in room massage, top quality professional masseuse directly from Wat Po!

Negative

- You will have some difficulties in moving outside the old town, no Skytrain or Subway in the surroundings
- The terrace of the lobby faces an awfull view, the Chao Praya bank. You have to go upstairs in a room to enjoy the beautifull Wat Arun view (upper floors are better)
- It is a depandance of the Arun Residence, so if you need a restaruant or some extra service you have to move there, or wait till the staff go an come back

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is a lovely place to start your trip in Bangkok, located next the wat pho and grand palace and not far in a tuk tuk the the famous khoasan road. We went for the mid price room which was lovely and the night time view amazing looking at the wat Arun! Don't be deceived at first u do have to walk down an alley to get here and we did think oh god where are we staying but I have to say I was impressed. There was also construction work going on next door when we arrived and we were give complementary drinks voucher and money off food at the Arun residence just down te road, and only noticed the construction at about 10am which went on till about 3pm, which most likely u will not be in the room anyway! The Arun residence restraint is very expensive for Bangkok so backpackers beware it about 1000 bhat for 2 people 2 courses, and be careful of tuk tuk drivers, u should expect to pay about 80-100bhat per trip depending on the time of day, rush hour is more expensive! Overall very nice 2 nights stay!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coupleapints
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The tiny soi that leads to the Sala Arun is lined with the typical small storefronts and businesses of the area. Two shops down from the hotel is an ice shop that opens at 5am, scooping ice, dumping it into metal containers, etc. The door from the hotel room to the tiny balcony (not somewhere you would want to sit) is a wooden door without insulation and with large gaps around the frame, so the noise sounds like someone is just outside the door scooping ice. You can hear it over the air conditioner fan and the a/c condenser outside the room. So do not book the cheaper rooms facing the soi--they are not worth it.

The balcony beyond the breakfast area is currently strewn with boards and corrugated metal, blocking the view of the river. This may be linked to the current demolition/remodeling taking place on the adjacent building. The management is giving a 400BHT voucher per stay at the sister property's Deck restaurant as compensation for the pounding noise possible 8am-5pm.

Beyond these items I agree with previous reviews--nicely remodeled, a/c works, shower strong, bed firm, staff helpful, wifi OK, clean. The staff tries to be helpful with questions, sack breakfast if leaving early. If you order hot food for breakfast, the staff goes to the other hotel to have the food cook, then carries it back, so it takes a while. Avoid the gooey pancake (which you may get even if you order the waffle), but I do recommend the waffle. If they only offer green and fruit teas, be persistent and they will find the English breakfast and other black teas.

Check the third party sites like booking.com for half-price specials, then it is a good deal.

Room tip: Rooms facing soi are noisy.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Sala Arun is a nice little hotel located between the river and Wat Pho. Here are my observations:

Positives:
1. The suite on the top floor has one of the best views in Bangkok. The large balcony over looking the river is THE place to be during sunset and early evening.
2. The staff was very helpful and arranged a private khlong (canal) tour on a long tail boat.
3. The breakfast is very good.
4. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
5. The location is very convenient to Wat Pho, the Grand Palace, the river front, etc.
6. There are some really good lunch places nearby.
7. There is a small wholesale market area just outside the hotel entrance. (Turn left was you walk out the door.) This is an interesting place to explore and photograph.

Negatives:
1. The hotel is located at the end of a small soi (alley) and can be hard to find, especially at night. I usually just tell the tuk-tuk driver to take me to the entrance to Wat Pho, then walk the last block or two.
2. Several of the rooms have an unattractive alley view toward Wat Pho.
3. Most of the rooms on the river side of the hotel have a partially obstructed view of the river and Wat Arun. Only the suite on the top floor has an unobstructed view.
4. The hotel does not have an elevator. (Not an issue for me, but might be for others.)
5. At night the staff turns off the lights on the stairway, so it is dark and a little dangerous, especially after a few drinks!

Overall, a solid choice in the river-front area of Bangkok. I will stay here again the next time I am in Bangkok.

Room tip: The rooms on the higher floors have better views.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is a gem, primarily because of its location, facilities, service and price. The location is ideal - right on the river looking across to the Wat Arun temple that shines gold at night. The Royal Palace and several more temples lie behind the hotel. All are in easy walking/ferry distance, as are some excellent places to eat, all in a safe, and relatively quiet neighbourhood. The facilities are clean and neat and the owner has obviously put a lot of thought into the interesting decorations and artifacts. The main window for each room enables you to watch the varied traffic on the river. It is sometimes a great relief to walk in off the street directly into the air-conditioned foyer. The service is welcoming, friendly and thoughtful. The main desk arranged our transport for us. Room prices are very reasonable and, with free WiFi, well suited to catching up with emails and settling unfinished business. This is a perfect alternative to the big hotel - professionally run, personal, friendly and definitely not crowded - we think it has a great future.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews