We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Udom
Nearby Hotels
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$115
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$122
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$104
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dream Bangkok(Bangkok)
$81
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$206
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
$317
$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
26
45
8
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
45
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshua lamphong railway stationminutes walkingchao phraya riverfree wifiriverviewguesthousechinatowntvtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 81 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Baan Udom is a nice affordable place to stay, Our twin room was spacious and modern. Free bottled water everyday in the fridge. The bathroom was also good, with included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel etc.
The owner was very friendly and tried her best to help. Although we found the reception desk unmanned a few times, so we went without some needed advice more than once.
The wifi was good, phone in room, nice tv.

The rooftop was a nice plus for some good views, we had a nice meal up there all by ourselves.

Make sure you get their free map with instructions in Thai for the taxi drivers. The hotel can be hard to find for some drivers, but this advice seemed to help a lot. The location overall is good, if a little noisy. Some nice local food can be found within 5 minutes walk and a cheap tuk tuk can be haggled down to 50thb to some of the bigger areas. Also its a 2 minute walk to a pier (number 4 i think) so you can get on a local boat to go up the river to a number of locations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights, and although the area was a bit strange to me (the whole part of town is filled with small scrap dealers who break engines, vehicles etc) this is just a part of the local culture and you get used to it after 5 minutes and is actually quite comforting to know that you are in a 'local' part of town rather the touristy area.

The guest house itself is lovely and clean, simply decorated and furnished, and the staff were great - providing us with local info on food, touristy things and maps etc.They also provided free bottles of water and other things.

There was some noise outside coming from the local's going about there work and lives in the night - but this is just the way they live life in the area and you soon find it more charming than anything. Generally people just go about their lives and pay you no mind, but the occasional 'Sawatee Krap' from a local makes you feel really welcome once you settle in

Room Tip: Decide where you want to be before picking a place to stay - sounds obvious but but it's easy to forget you need to get to the things you want to do!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We found Baan Udom during a stay at Loy La Long (which is just around the corner) and were walking around Pathumkongka temple area. Baan Udom is a positive contrast to the other buildings in the same area, so one of us remembered it. This trip, when we wanted to book an inexpensive short stay before leaving to the airport in the morning but still wanted to visit Pathumkongka temple for another short round of taking morning temple cats photos. Baan Udom was a great choice for us and we were very happy with our decision to stay there.

If you are not a cat photographer and just a tourist who wants to mingle with the locals, Baan Udom can be a great inexpensive choice for you anyway. Great location, near the river and a Chao Praya river pier, near China town, and Hua Lamphong railway station. I am a bangkokian and I just love the area!

The service was with lots of smiles even when we arrived at 21:00 and woke up a lady who waited for our check-in. We had a problem with the bathroom door late at night and the lady was still there to help us open it with a coin. They didn't have 24x7 receptionist. But they provide a bell which we thought we could ring if we needed any help but we didn't try.

As the title reveals, Baan Udom's room decoration was so cute and safe and very clean. They provided the keycard system for the front door of the hotel and for the inside door to the stairs and guest rooms. They provided simple key for guest rooms but all in all, the security of this place was pretty good. Our twin-bed room was spacious and had everything we needed for a short stay, a fridge, a TV (but unfortunately, the TV signal was not that great when we stayed), good wi-fi, wardrobe with automated lights, even a hat hanger!

The hotel provided tea and coffee in room but no breakfast included which made our life a bit hard in the morning when we had to walk to the nearest 7-eleven and bought something as a quick breakfast. It would be really great if the hotel could provide breakfast for guests in the future.

Not far from Baan Udom, there is a cute cat-theme river view eating place called Samsara Cafe & Meal which we didn't try, but got lots of recommedations that we shouldn't miss (but we sadly did miss!) (location is in "Soi Khang Wat Pathum Khongkha" - means an alley next to Pathum Khongkha temple, open 15:00-23:00 (Fri & Sat 24:00) closed on Monday)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveCip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were so happy after one horror night at the hellish Riverview Guesthouse, to find Baan Udom. Not only is it such a cut above, it is much cheaper. The proprietor, Suree is so amazingly helpful and kind. Suree speaks quite good English, which was really helpful to us at the time. Her staff are friendly and divine and the place is spotless. It is such a treat to come home from the fairly rustic environment outside into this haven. They have free wifi but also provide a computer. Suree organised early morning transits and airfares for us - all above and beyond the call of duty. Though we would probably not choose to stay in this part of town again, we highly recommend Baan udon in every respect

Room Tip: If you ask for the top floor, you can see the river. It is a close walk to Marine Dept ferry terminal, great street food nearby. 10 minute walk to fantastic Chinatown Markets and ferry to anywhere - check out Wang Lang Pier! If you like rustic straight outside the door you can have it in droves. Definitely value for money and friendly.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel hidden near the riverside in china town.

Room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Huge air con system had the room freezing within minutes and excellent powerful shower. WIFI is pretty good on all floors as far as I could tell.

Surrounding there are lots of nooks and crannies to explore, you get a feeling of real Bangkok. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the river city mall where you can take an evening river cruise. The bar on the roof terrace of the riverside hotel just round the corner is a must see. Further afield Patpong and Khoasan Road are both either long walks or short taxi journeys away.

The only downside we found was no taxi drivers seemed to be able to find the place. I would suggest having the phone number and a map close at hand if you intend taking a taxi.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you struggle with stairs ask for a room on one of the lower floors, other wise try and get something on the upper floors and take in the breathtaking views of the roof terrace
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jammaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews