We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently pleasing food”

Maria Pizzeria Restaurant
Ranked #5,907 of 10,929 Restaurants in Bangkok
Neighborhood: Silom
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Silom
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently pleasing food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have been eating lunches and dinners at Maria for many years. This is not a high end place, it is a comfortable, clean family-type restaurant with a huge selection. If you want pizza, they have a pizza oven and do a nice thin-crust pizza. Pastas are good, grilled chicken breast with some veggies and fries is my "diet" food, and there is a good selection of Thai, Chinese and Vietnamese dishes. Alcohol is also served but not between 2 pm to 5 pm (as I recall) so no beer with a late lunch. Most of the staff have been there a very long time, they are not highly motivated but provide decent basic service. This is a good "go-to" place when one wants comfort food, just a simple meal, or is with a group with varying tastes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeniusLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    20
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a horrible experience at this restaurant. Our first clue should have been the lax and lazy attitude of the staff. They weren't even busy but yet we were made to feel like we were disturbing them. But we decided to give it a chance.

We ordered a couple of Fettuccine Alfredo dishes - one veg and one with chicken - both came to us extremely watery and milky. The chicken was stale tasting, as if it had been in the freezer a long time. It took a while to get the waiter and captains attention, but when we finally did to tell them the dishes were unacceptable, they just gave us a blank stare. Basically, too bad - you ordered it, you're stuck with it. Any other decent restaurant would have at the very least apologized and offered to get us something else.

As they weren't about to do this, we got our bill and paid for the meals we could not eat. To top it off, one of the waiters grabbed the stirrer of the drink I had (and paid for!) from one of us saying "you can't take that with you!!" What a creep!!

Tip to the owner - retrain your staff or get a new team - I think the current staff may have been there too long and are jaded. And also take a look at what your chefs are putting out - the dishes we had were not even edible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to have a pizza!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Pizzas were excellent and service was good and fast! We go to Maria everytime we visit Bangkok! It's nice to eat your pizza and watch the busy Silom Road behind the window.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arttu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“seriously....????”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

As a long term resident and life long foodie, i cannot take seriously the other reviews touting this as good value, brilliant (??? not sure how food is brilliant)...or otherwise.

With so many excellent options for thai food and exceptional italian offerings, give this place a BIG MISS! any 'restaurant' attempting a range of cuisines cannot focus on doing any of the well.

poor quality, lousy service - reminds me of bad cafe food from the 70's. Not to mention the decor and the lacklustre ambience.

Bangkok has far far better offerings than this. Do yourself a flavour/favour and go elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doric5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inexpensive good value restaurant with a wide choice of food.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Maria Pizzeria and Restaurant on Silom Road is an inexpensive restaurant with welcoming staff and a wide choice of Western and Thai food. My partner and I ate there on a number of occasions and the food was consistently good. Be aware that if you order a desert after a main meal these are substantial in size so, unless you have a large appetite, one will probably do for two people. If you are able to get a seat in the window it is interesting to sit with a cool beer and 'watch the world go by' on the street outside. I will certainly visit this restaurant on future visits to Bangkok.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngloSaxon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Pizzeria Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maria Pizzeria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing