We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the band”

Cotton Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1,234 of 11,054 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown / Yaowarat
Granada, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for the band”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loved the Chinese Swing Band in the Shanghai Mansion's Cotton Club restaurant! Food was good too. And the house cocktails - particularly the spicy ones....

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and music”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

When the elderly Asian gentlemen stepped up to their instruments I was unsure what to expect, all I can say is wow.
Something that surely must be heard, words cannot fully express how impressed I was. And they play every night! The drinks were phenomenal and were still looking for somewhere that makes blue Hawaiians like cotton but have found none even close, absolutely no complaints about the food and the staff were great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Calnsara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“food excellent”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

food excellent but no ambience and almost deserted at 7 pm on a thursday, only two other people eating

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, average music, terrible service”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place has potential but is horribly managed:

1) During our visit there we were "entertained" by a mediocre jazz swing band;

2) My Thai friend and I both thought the food was excellent, BUT----

3) The service was about as bad as I have experienced in my years in SE Asia.
The bartender and sole waitress kept disappearing for 15 or more minutes at a time, and when they returned, they were more interested in setting up for the next morning's breakfast than serving their current customers - and this was at 9:15 in the evening!

Too bad - it could have so much better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great and convenient restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Shanghai Mansion where this restaurant is located and found it to be great food at very reasonable prices. Due to some unexpected work emergencies, we spent more time in the hotel working than we had planned, and therefore, at many more meals at the hotel than we normally would. We were consistently impressed with the variety and quality of the food, and always experienced wonderful customer service. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area who isn't in the mood for street food!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dulcinea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing