We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite satisfied overall”
Review of Metz Pratunam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metz Pratunam
Ranked #113 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite satisfied overall”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Travelled in a group of 4 (a couple and 2 ladies), taking 2 rms, 1 double (502) and 1 twin (503) on the 5th floor. The welcome drinks were refreshing and tasty! The twin room is a corner room so it is more spacious. Service was fantastic, acted promptly with requests - extra pillows given as soon as requested, help was given almost immediately when our rooms were wet after heavy rain. The double bed is very big and comfortable. Airport transfer service was punctual. Many massage parlours at the area so able to end the day with massages which is great for our tired bodies. Location is near Indra Regent and Baiyoke Sky although need to walk a little. Previous reviews gave good tips of locating the area - Phethburi Road (Soi 15), most drivers could easily locate the hotel with that. Walking distance to Platinum mall. Need to walk out to main road to take metered cabs though.
A few things to improve on:
1) water heater not consistent (water was sudden hot and sudden cold)
2) safe not working even soon after the initial reported problem had been rectified
3) leaks in the room after rain (do not leave your things on the floor!)
4) no bedroom slippers provided
5) For the corner room with window, hotel may want to alter the curtain so that it can close properly without any gap. It gets too bright as the sun gets into the room through the gap.
6) Add variety for breakfast. Eggs, sausages, bacons were all too oily.
We didn't need a hotel with facilities as we were out most of the times. Basically just need a good and clean place to bath and sleep in. Therefore, it is quite a good boutique hotel overall, value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovebellsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    93
    32
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
62
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seychelles islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

this hotel is real value for money..its really clean,the staff are helpful n friendly.i did not have a room booked but had no problems getting a double room!the room is small but has two beds for double,which is more than enuf for us..we slept 2adults n one child with no probs.the room has a shower with great pressure and ac works fine.there is even a hairdyer,a flat screen tv..but no chairs.!for me n my partner that was enough..plus they provide clean towels,bath gel etc..
the breakfast is also real gud..u get to choose from omelette,fried egg or scrambled..there,s also fruits,cereal,salads etc..its buffet n eat as much as u want..more than enuf to keep u going for the day,s shopping!!!
as for shopping..platinum mall is about 5mins walk,pratunam market also,panthipplaza etc..
the airport railway link is about 15mins from the hotel and costs 40bath per person. i would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget,u won,t regret it.

remember there is a great money changer at Pratunam market!!best rates..it has a yellow sign board,can,t miss it!
oh yes..there,s also free WIFI...and its real quiet at night so u can get a peaceful sleep..

thank you to all the staff..cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shou_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is relatively new, so it was very clean and seemed almost like a cosy boutique hotel when we first entered.

The hotel is relatively easy to find, about 15 minutes away from Ratchathewi train station. Getting a cab from the airport cost 1100baht from the official airport taxi service, but the hotel provides transport for 900baht, which is cheaper if you prefer. Otherwise, hop on the train and take a cab from Ratchathewi instead! It'll save you quite a lot of money. Personally, I recommend this cab driver who drove us to the airport from our hotel who was very friendly, spoke decent English and is very helpful and made the 30 to 45 minute drive to the airport very enjoyable. You can book him at +66 867036336, and his name is Cha, or request the hotel to book him for you. He would pick you straight from the airport, and make the journey to your hotel less stressful.

Anyway, FYI, Metz is directly opposite Grand Watergate Hotel, which most tuktuk and cab drivers are more familiar with because it has been around longer. You can tell them it's on Petchaburi Soi Sib Ha (which means Petchaburi road 15).

The room itself was great, we stayed in 403, a superior room with double beds, and it was very clean, tastefully and thoughtfully furnished! We had huge windows, but we could not draw the blinds, so it was a pity. The view was not too fabulous either, but it was better than nothing. It was a rather small room, but they make up for the lack of space with amenities. For example, there are hooks for towels on the walls outside the bathroom, and there was a ventilator in the toilet to ensure that no smell could get out. My bed was practically beside the toilet area, but I was very comfortable throughout.

I was skeptical of the breakfast as I read reviews that said to have your meals outside, but it turned out lovely. Basically, you can choose how you would like your eggs done (we ordered them scrambled) and you have a choice of either bacon or sausage (we ordered sausage). Besides these that are cooked on the spot, you have corn flakes with milk, toasted bread, butter, orange juice, and fruits. Each day there's a different cooked dish too, like noodles or fried rice. The dining area was cosy and had full windows, so we could look out and see tuktuks passing by while having breakfast. Overall, decent breakfast. You can always carbo load with bread and butter if you find the portion of eggs and 1 sausage too little.

The staff were very friendly and spoke English rather decently. Ask for a card of the hotel when you arrive, they have a map with directions and the hotel name in Thai printed on it, so you can show it to cab drivers who might not be familiar with the hotel. Email them beforehand if you need assistance, they were very prompt in replying my emails.

Free wifi is provided in the rooms, with the password given when you check in. Connection was pretty fast, so that's a bonus. Meals-wise, there's a diner diagonally opposite the hotel that is reasonably priced and convenient, if it's raining and you're just looking for a quick bite. Bangkok tends to flood quite a bit during raining season.

Hotel is very near Pratunam Market, which is the wholesale shopping place. You can walk there, but we took a tuktuk. Hotel is pretty near MBK and Platinum Mall too. Please tip the cab drivers if they go on meter, because their meter moves very slowly and they earn far less than the tuktuk drivers who usually quote higher prices.

Had a pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went to stay at this hotel after looking at all the good reviews from TripAdvisor. Booked 6D5N with them online, and received confirmation instantly. Emails to the hotel staffs were also replied very promptly.

Reached the hotel at around 12 in the afternoon after a long traffic jam from the airport. I've booked the airport transfer to the hotel which costs about 900baht. (Please save the hotel's contact number as you might not be able to locate the taxi driver when you reach the airport.)

Room was good, but wouldn't recommend for friends unless you don't mind seeing each other's silhouette at the shower room as the glass they used is frosted glass. Staffs there were very nice throughout my whole stay there except for some pushing of their tour packages even when you just wanna ask simple question like "What time does this place close?".

Breakfast was minimal as only 1 serving of egg per person. Variety was very limited, thus would rather recommend you to have your meals outside. There's very nice roadside stalls selling noodles just down the street where the massage parlours are located at.

Very near Pratunam Market, estimated about 5 minutes walk. Tuktuk to nearby places can be negotiated. Taxi to Chatuchak Market by meter is around 100baht, therefore if any of the tuktuk drivers or taxi drivers quote you more than 150baht, find another one that goes by meter. Taxi to MBK area is less than 100baht, probably around 60baht (and that's provided you go by meter too).

Generally this hotel is good, and would recommend my friends to stay here when they head to Bangkok for holidays!

Another thing to note, a lot of drivers might not know which alley to turn in, so best if you can roughly remember the more frequent road drivers would normally go by so that you can inform them where to turn.

Room Tip: I was staying in Room 603, which was the deluxe room. Room was big and comfortable. Enough to throw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jovine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed this hotel 5day 4night,the rooms are small but nice,comfortable and clean,but the toilet are abit smell...Staffs are very helpful.. Free fast wifi connection too... the breakfast are simple but delicious ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as a last stop before returning home from a months holiday in Thailand. We booked it because of the good reviews and weren't disappointed. We arrived at a ridiculous time in the morning as the bus was a few hours early and we hadn't booked a room. There was no room at Metz but the amazing staff let us sit in their lobby for 5 hours and made ours available for us at 9am rather than 2pm which is the normal check in time. They also offered us a room at a discounted price for the next night after we realised that we had got our flight details wrong and would need somewhere to sleep for a few hours. The hotel is in an ideal location for shopping and would definitely stay again if i was in Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Beautiful luxurious boutique hotel with very helpful staff. Nicely done comfortable beds. Breakfast is good too. Excellent location for shoppers. Free fast wifi connection. 7-11's and foot reflexology centers nearby. Don't take the waiting Taxis outside the hotel, as they are 100 times expensive than the normal ones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Express
Hotel Vista Express
#344 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
First House Bangkok
First House Bangkok
#357 of 859 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Period Pratunam
The Period Pratunam
#91 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gaam Hotel
Gaam Hotel
#84 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
NAP Hotel Bangkok
NAP Hotel Bangkok
#53 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemontea Hotel
Lemontea Hotel
#19 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metz Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metz Pratunam

Property: Metz Pratunam
Address: 39/22-23 Phethburi Road | Soi 15 Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metz Pratunam 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metz Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metz Pratunam Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing