We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ambien”

Methavalai Sorndaeng
Ranked #617 of 11,062 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: Authentic Thai Food, voted one of the best restaurants in Bangkok (DK and American Express Guides recommended). Been there this month and would like to make review on it. Phone: +66 2 621 0605 ‎
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Old Ambien”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This Restaurant has been in business over 40 years and it still maintain good old atmosphere with singers singing classic Thai songs. It's old timers locals favorite for good traditional Thai food.

There is parking at the back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiranujB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor service!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The food was good, but you still can get such quality in other restaurants in Bangkok.
There were 10 of us, dissapointed the way we were served. They careless, and avoided us when we ask the waiter to repeat our orders. The waiter says the portion of the soup was for 1 person, so, we ordered 10 of them, but end up could not finish, as some of them came in bigger bowl. Dissapointed with such service in such higher end restaurant and in Bangkok :(

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeBe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Old world setting, but rather down on charm”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My daughter chose this restaurant, as somewhere to go for my birthday. The restaurant was immaculate, with old fashioned decor, and a small band playing music from the 1940's.
The food was delicious and really well presented, and for an upmarket restaurant the price was fairly reasonable. We asked for a bottle of wine, but were told they only sold wine by the glass, so we ordered 3 glasses. When the wine arrived it was the smallest measure of wine I have ever seen, which made it incredibly expensive. As we left the restaurant we saw a display of wine, with a sign saying special offer 700baht per bottle, so we were disappointed that they had been unable to let us have a bottle of wine.
I also felt we were not particularly welcome by the other diners, as we were often stared at, and in the loo two women were looking at me and laughing. If this had been some remote part of Thailand I would have been more understanding, but in Bangkok! We were hardly the first white people they had seen. Not the restaurant's fault but certainly the only time we ever encountered anything other than a warm welcome by Thai people.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stuck in a time warp... enjoy delicious food and soak in the ambience”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

i did not stumble upon this restaurant by chance but was kindly recommended it by a thai friend...(thank you khun malee ). the food was great .. they had many classic thai dishes as well as many alternative ones - perhaps less known by Farangs - the presentation, cleanliness and comfy settings (not to mention the excellent dishes) really scored it for me... it was a such a contrast to usual local thai joints where there's great food but the seating may be a bit awkward and not so comfy. the eccentric atmosphere i believe may only be found in thailand and is quite an interesting sociological phenomenon... evidently the people who use to go 30 years ago to this restaurant still do ... and they still dress the same with the same hairstyles, make up etc... the waiters and staff (including the live band and singers) also succumb to this time warp. you get predominantly thai - chinese customers who lived under the extremely conservative military dictatorships of the 70s and 80s. Truly fascinating atmosphere

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FrederickDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic Thai in a retro setting.”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Overlooking the Democracy Monument, this restaurant takes you back to a time when dining out was a dress-up occasion, though no one does today. The servers are dressed in traditional costume. The decor is right out of the 60's and comfortably air-conditioned. Live music is provided by a 4 piece ensemble in tuxes with various singers in formal attire. The menu is large and the food is scrumptious. We shared unbelieveable duck (no bones or fat) with red curry, stir-fried broccoli with scallops and the best Pad Thai anywhere. With steamed rice, three glasses of wine (always expensive in Thailand)) and a large beer the total was under $35 US. Slightly more than other budget restos but well worth it! The place was full but we were the only caucasians in it. Always a good sign.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ghpToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Methavalai Sorndaeng also viewed

 

Been to Methavalai Sorndaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing