We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #268 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
penang malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spend my 3 nights in Bangkok City Hotel and it wouldn't make me any disappointed. Check-in procedure is fast and the staff able to speak "understanding" English. Room is spacious with the King Size Bed room at 14 floor. Water pressure is good.Modern design and full of variety of TV channel.

Morning breakfast serve from 0700 hrs to 1000 hrs. Some traveler mean that, their Cafe was too small and insufficient seat. For me is fine, all the guest was understanding to let other to have a table when they are finish meal.

No much guest using their swimming pool facility as i visit there around 5pm with no one in there.

I will definitely come back again and recommend to other.

The place was very convenient to get TAXI, TUK TUK, 7-11 and food along the street. BTS Rachathewi just a 5-7 minutes away from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Room number 01 is quite nice.`far away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    500
    278
    50
    29
See reviews for
229
265
106
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel on the 28th of october in Melbourne. The hotel did not take my booking properly and reserved me a room on the 28th of october thus did not have a room available for my dates even though my flight information was clearly stated for the 22nd of January. The hotel staff were very rude on the phone and did not return any of my emails or notify me. My advice is to stay away from these guys.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMichaelKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I wish we could do .5 ratings, as this is really a 3.5/5 place. Ideal location - close to water taxi, sky train, and the main shopping areas. The rooms were clean and relatively spacious for Bangkok. It was also pretty quiet which was nice. 1,280 THB per night. On our check out day, we left our bags with the baggage counter until around 8pm which was a huge help as our flight out from Bangkok was really late.

However, my issues were: only two elevators for 20 floors, always had an issue trying to get one. The room smelled sometimes of toilet, I wonder if the ventilation could have been better. The water pressure in the shower was not great, it takes a bit longer to wet a head of hair like mine! The buffet was reasonable - Thai selection and more Western food, but the area was always packed! Tough to get a seat to sit down.

All in all though a reasonable place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaryLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

it's really nice hotel at nice place the rooms are so nice and washrooms very conformable and the city hotel is located an nice place rooms service are very good staf of hotel is very nice i really wanna go again to city hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights 30th Dec to Jan 3rd 2014. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful with enough basic English to satisfy any questions etc. We had three rooms (family of 7) so this Hotel was selected to suit our budget. Free wifi, water and rooms serviced daily with breakfast included helped out too. The instructions on the website to transfer from the Airport to the Hotel were spot on! We used the BRT which was just around the corner and only 1 stop away from Siam & MBK shopping centres. To be honest theres nothing much else going for the area that the hotel is located in, but you are a reasonably priced Tuk Tuk ride away from the River Ferries, Palaces & attractions. The only other point I would make us the Hotel has copped a lot of negative remarks about the breakfast, they are probably a little unfair, whilst the menu caters for a predominately Asian pallet, there us eggs, toast croissants & juice on offer. The real problem is the rude people who push and shove you out if the way in fear that its their last meal!!! The staff do their best yo find you a seat and keep the food coming. In the end you are paying for a room and a bed and breakfast should be considered a bonus.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank teamhardingjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to Bangkok on 22-27 dec 2013, and booked via agoda for our hotel. We arrived late night and one of the bellboys helped us, he was nice and keep smiling to our children. On the contrary, the front desk officers are quite stiff. Two rooms were booked, one was triple beds the other king size bed on 18th floor. No iron+table provided. No slippers, no additional tea bags or coffee available. Free wi-fi services available upon request to the front desk, speed connection OK. Anyway, it is a 3 stars hotel with reaasonable cheap rates.

Our major complaints will be the water pressure in the shower. We understand that most probably, the technical department adjust the pressure to avoid too many splashes in the shower room since no shower curtain available. It was such a pity, the pressure was quite low. Filling the bath tube will take more than 15 minutes. Another was a certain smelling come right after the upper bathroom was used. Is it any exhaust fan attached on each bathroom to get rid those unpleasant smell?
Other shortcomings was the broken drying machine at 17th floor. We decided to use the hotel because they provided washer plus dryer. During our stay, the dryer was out of order. I made long walk to somewhere between sois near Phaya Thai station to have my laundry done. Two laundry services available on the first soi after junction ratchathewi, but I chose one lady at building no 164/69 ( between Full House Cafe and Siam Guesthouse?) who charged cheaper than the 2 laundry services on the same soi 1 ratchathewi.
Breakfast will always a little bit chaotic especially when groups of travellers around. Advisable to grab breakfast early at 07:00 am. Limited seating made the guests swarming into front area of lobby and terraces. Type of food were average.

Over all, the hotel room were quite OK, linen cleanliness were good, the housekeeping doing the job well, The management should address the following: dusting the headboard area, racks, and behind the television, and doors; put an exhaust in the bathroom, adjusting water pressure, providing additional racks near the closet.

On Christmas eve, we asked the front officer for direction to Holy Redeemer Church and proved that they were helpful to explain to us even write the destination in thai for our taxi driver. One of the bellboy assisted us to wave for a cab. Turned out, most of taxi asked for a certain amount almost double the regular metered fee. We did not want to waste time for haggling, jumped into taxi which cost 150THB. On the way back to hotel, catching a taxi with meter, and cost only 75THB. We gladly gave the driver 100 THB. On the last day of our stay, we asked the front office to call and remind our booked taxi, they promptly called and we paid additional charges of 10 THB (local calls).

Bangkok City Hotel was located near Ratchathewi bts station (approx 500m) and Phaya Thai station (approx 700m). Nearby were a lot of food hawkers selling various types of food during each shifts: morning, noon and evening time. Two local markets available in opposites sois (lanes). The management provided Tuk-tuk shuttle from hotel to Siam areas available 80-100THB one way. We did not have the opportunity to use swimming pool on 5M floor. Worth to try if you have plenty of leisure time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatadjakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place was recommended by one of my colleague. For location, it is about 10 minutes walk on the right side to MBK and all the Siam areas and centres. It is also another 10 minutes walk on the left side to the Station if you are taking the airport train service. So, this includes the convenience of the transport too. Cleanliness and quality of room is acceptable because we don't stay there through out your day and because we are fully involve in heavy shopping and clubbing. So it is only a matter of bath and sleep. The only problem in the room is the TV reception, which has severe interference and need to look upon. Other than that, you have a simple breakfast in a small restaurant and it is definitely worth the value for what you are paying for.

Room Tip: If you choose the middle floor ones, you will encounter "lift full" especially during brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideas_6622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Samran Place Hotel
Samran Place Hotel
#382 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#590 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#698 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#298 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#336 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#127 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing