We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #261 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with friends in July and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with modern furnishings that you would not expect in a budget hotel. In the room, the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom spacious and modern. The hotel was also in a good location, close to the BTS system and MBK shopping centre, although the immediate area around the hotel was a bit dreary. My only slight criticism was that there was little variety of food when we arrived at breakfast with about half an hour till it ended so make sure you arrive early! All in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is without a doubt great location. The staff and security were more than nice and accommodating to me. There is the mall security outside that does blow the whistle all morning, day, and most of the night. I've noticed that the only way to direct traffic in Thailand is with someone continuing to blow a whistle at drivers. There are some shady taxi drivers that are allowed to hang out on the front steps and overcharge customers of the hotel. Both drivers wanted 250 baht to go to Old Siam Plaza and refused to run the meters. I walked to the street and caught a metered taxi and it was 97 baht. I have found that taxis who do this often pay a "tax" to either the security or day/night boss of the hotel so they can loiter and overcharge customers. The sound of extemely loud motorbikes is ridiculous at night time. The breakfast was ok. I didn't understand one concept. The breakfast is provided by the restaurant next door. I wanted a ham and cheese omlette and a coffee. Lady told me that if I get the omlette, I'd have to pay 90 baht for coffee. Well the omlette was a couple hundred baht. Then she told me I can get the "American" breakfast with coffee included for 350 baht and it was free. So when the food came out, it was good, but not worth 350 baht that the hotel had to pay. Needless to say someone was optimizing profits or getting kickbacks for operating the store/staff next to the hotel. The entire inside of the hotel needs repainting. When the doors opened on the 6th floor, it's very hard not to notice the black stained, white walls making the place seem immediately dirty and dingy. The walls in my room needed fixing as well. Very dingy looking. They have installed HID lights in the ceiling, however there are black smoke marks where all those lights looked like they caught on fire after being left on for too long. This place as a ton of potential. It's a great spot, great staff, they just need some cosmetic changes. It's a fine location for what I need, but would not recommend it to my friends or business partners until they clean it up.

Room Tip: Try to get the high floors to better protect you from the loud motorbikes and constant whistle blowi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThaiTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my 1st time staying in Bangkok city hotel. What can I say?? I am unlucky today because of the heavy rain. My room, which is the highest floor in this hotel, leaking because of the heavy rain and the area of leaking is near to the bed! How can I sleep? I told the front desk that I want to change a new room but unfortunately there was no any room left! The staff was here just now to check on the roof leaking problem. What he did is just used a towel to clean the rain and move the bed to the other side. Well, luckily I just stay 1 night here. Was thinking whether I should cancel my booking which fall on another 2 days in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayumi0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great spot close to the MBK shopping complex that have levels and levels of shopping at great prices.

Easy to get a cab or tuk tuk from out the front to get anywhere.

Breakfast was good although very busy and at time hard to get the popular items from the buffet like eggs and dumplings.

The room was not as good as the pictures we looked at, not very well maintained and the view from the room was better with the curtain shut.
The bathroom flooded when you had a shower.

Good friendly staff and a fun indoor swimming pool which was neat and tidy and maintained.
The lift was very slow and at times was easier to climb the stairs for the six levels to the room that wait for the lift.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is large hotel, nearly 20 floors, it is new , clean and cheap. Good breakfast buffet, hot food , cold food , English breakfast , drinks all inclusive.

Overall happy but average neighborhood. close to MTR and shopping centers.

Room Tip: Book rooms though agoda you get better discounts. Ask for room closer to 5A easy access to swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duminda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Always stay here whenever I am in Bangkok, location is the first key as from Don Mueang Airport, take the A1 bus until Mochit BTS then take the train to Ratchathevee, exit 3, walk and turn left then proceed with a slow walk pass Samran Place and it is back again to my favourite stay.. been staying here since 2010, check -in is a breeze, Khun Joe at reservations is always there to assist you, rooms on the 17th and 18th floor are for smokers so we are at peace without getting dirty looks from others. Spacious room overlooking the busy Phetchbhuri Road, get a room with even ending numbers and you are up there, watching the incredible sights all around. Breakfast starts at 0700 am but for me, avoid the eat-as-much brigade by arriving early or that time around 0900 hrs until 1000 a.m whent the tour groups have left for their outing. The lady cook Khun Alesha is a Muslim from Bang Krue, I love the chocolate drink from the expresso machine and the freshly oven hot croissants are plentiful to go with your egg over easy. The scene at the dining room is like that because of certain guests that we all know but hey, just take the coffee mug in your room, collect your juice and chocolate drink, a few croissants and take the elevator back to your room. The fried rice, pasta and fried mee hoon are nice but the chillies are piping hot.. I would also take the exit to Soi 7 near Masjid Darul Aman and eat at the khao man gai toom/thot which is ready by 0630 am until 0900 a.m for breakfast without the rush as this is local Muslim food, there is also barbecuec beef to go with the chicken rice, after that, go back to the Bangkok City Hotel lobby for coffee and fruits. There are 3 working elevators and Chan Family Travel is just opposite.. try the tour packages.. the room is simple with a kettle, hair- drier and safe.. wifi needs to be log in regularily and limited channels on the telly, which hopefully will be upgraded to 60 channels [!] in the near future. From October 2013, the rates will increase to another 100 baht so it should be the fixed rate period. If you book through the hotel website, they will re-direct you to The Bangkok City Suite or Wattana Mansion in cases when The Bangkok City is fully booked. I always prefer this place as being very very convenient to eat out as a Muslim with Soi 7 and Soi 5 across the hotel and for an early flight to Don Mueng from say 0400 am until 0700 am, take the taxis across the street, just where the people wait for the buses, fare should be 150 bht and 15 minutes as I have done this a few times. Highly recommended but please book ahead, 2013 is the start of the tour group boom and this is the hotel for the tour operators.

Room Tip: The higher floors on the 17 or 18th floors are meant for smokers.. the view is nice and quiet,too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank norhisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Scope for lot of improvement, renovation will make the place much better , multi cuisine will improve the guests list, new young and energetic staff are the need of the day , multi language speaking staff will benefit the hotel , guests will be more comfortable , latest safety equipment to acquired , guidance for elderly tourists will be appericiated , as more elderly tourists travel has increased

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilkumarmadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#447 of 889 in Bangkok
228 reviews
Siam
Siam Swana Hotel
Siam Swana Hotel
#328 of 889 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#747 of 889 in Bangkok
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Bangkok
#258 of 889 in Bangkok
491 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#340 of 889 in Bangkok
1,432 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#299 of 889 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing