We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #278 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is an excellent location, the closest BTS Skytrain station just a 3 minute walk away. THe staff are friendly and speak good English, and the breakfast was okay. From the skytrain the main malls in the area are just 10 minutes away at the most. The rooms are quite nice and tidy, and very modern looking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    504
    283
    50
    33
See reviews for
236
270
107
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked thru their website for 3 nights / 2 triple rooms. After-booking services is a bit slow (I have to email twice before they answer my queries: no connecting rooms but willing to accommodate my request of same floor for both rooms). Check-in and check-out was a breeze, less than 5-mins! Rooms was ready when we're arrived, slightly after 2pm. We did an early check-out, so there is no line.

PROS
- (Very) clean room and toilet. Hardly any dust or stickiness on the wooden floor (no carpeting).
- Public washing machine available on our floor (6th) but we didn't use it.
- Rooms are cleaned everyday.
- Complimentary 2 bottled drink. Replenished every day, even though we still have not drink the previous two.
- Doorman was smiley and courteous. (Front desk was expressionless though).
- 3 lifts available. When we were there, we hardly have to fight for it.
- If you wish to join the day tour or engage a cab back to airport, a booth is available just beside the lifts. The man there can speak English, Chinese and Malay! (We've booked a 10-seater van to Don Mueang Airport for 1000baht)

CONS
- Air con was set at the lowest but still feel as though it was set on 25C. I didn't report this as my roommates has no qualms about it.
- Found a tiny nymph (baby cockroach) near the toilet door. Wonder where it came from?!

NEARBY LOCATIONS
- Ratchathewi BTS is a 5-7 mins straight walk. (Bear the long stairs! An escalator is available on the other side of the road)
- Siam Paragon & MBK Shopping Mall is just 1 & 2 stations away.
- Platinum Mall & Pratunam Market is a 10-15 min walk. From hotel, turn right and walk straight towards Ratchathewi BTS Station, just before arrival you'll see a zebra crossing. Cross the road and walk straight.
- 7-Eleven is right beside the hotel.
- For Muslim travellers, there are two Halal restaurants across the street (Mak Yah Muslim Restaurant & Farida Fatornee). From hotel, turn right and walk straight towards Ratchathewi BTS Station. Keep looking towards your left side, till you see Mak Yah's vibrant yellow signboard. Cross the street. (Be careful!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank junqitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pretty cheap for a hotel in Bangkok that is pretty accessible to almost everywhere. For example, platinum mall is a 10-15 stroll from the hotel. They allow early check-ins without any questioning and charges which is good for those arrive early in bangkok. The room itself is great too.. Toilet comes with a bath tub and the entire building probably has access to WiFi(although you probably have to keep logging in everything you enter a new hotspots)
the only downside is the buffet breakfast. Was expecting much more from this hotel. For one, there isn't any egg station and selections is pretty limited.. Probably you can head out for some breakfast around the hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi is everywhere is you worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiQiangSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

By no means is this place terrible, but it is terribly average. The rooms are nice and clean, toilets are big and spacious with a bath tub, TV has decent channels. It's all your usual amenities. Although depending on which room you get, you may wind up with quite a dark room due to lack of windows.

Location is not the best - unless you are ready to walk. It's actually a little far from MBK, Platinum, Siam Paragon etc, about 15-20 min walk. To get to the nearest BTS you still have to climb a mountain of stairs. You get used to it, but it's not for those with children or the elderly.

The area around it is not too bad, lots of street food, but no nightlife/vendors selling clothes etc. The buffet is okay but there's a severe lack of tables and it's chaos every morning unless you wake up really early.

No problems with the internet despite the hassle of getting new passwords everyday.

Well, you get what you pay for, so I suppose it's fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

It's quiet nice hotel to stay if you like to have shopping with low price and midle quality goods.
you could walk and use BTS for populars shopping malls with low-midle price with midle quality items. This Hotel was more flexible to have add amenities, the room was clean with wood floor however we just had difficulties due inability of communication of the staffs, mostly about english spoken, only front liner staff spoke with good english.
In general this Hotel is good to stay. Cheers

Room Tip: better to have corner room with bigger size
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praptika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Yes location is about 300m to Rachathewi BTS - climbing the BTS stairs here is not meant for the aged ones. At night there are food stalls selling seafood. Most of them selling the same dishes. They are prob just 50ft apart. A little dark at night around the hotel area. No cafes around if you're the type like me who likes to drink coffee at night. A dead place I wld say at night.
However nothing annoys me most was the free Internet. You will be given a coupon with the ID and password. It's written there it will only last for 7 days. That didn't bother me but the Internet is not stable. And each time it gets cut off you need to go to lobby to get a new coupon. Remember it's one gadget per coupon. I had to get 3 for my iPhone, BB and iPad.
Don't bother calling the reception - no one answers.
Breakfast is value for money.
Walls a bit thin. Can hear other guest slamming

Room Tip: I stated I prefer twin beds. They gave me a double bed and didn't even say anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrylowyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend who previously stayed here when they visited Bangkok. Upon reviewing the posts from tripsadvisor, we decided to stay here.... and thank goodness we did.

Pros:
The hotel is generally clean. We paid around 1,200 TH/room/night so I wasn't expecting that much. But I was so surprised with the cleanliness of our room, and much more impressed with the restroom. Pretty much all of the rooms have the basic amenities that you need - electric kettle, cups & saucers, glasses, mini-fridge, and tissue papers. The bathroom has towels, hair dryer, mini soaps, shampoos, shower caps & shower gel. The shower was hot & cold and was functioning perfectly. The big bathtub was a bonus! The hotel also has a swimming pool (I forgot what level, but I think it was Level 5).

The price we paid include buffet breakfast - what more can we ask for? The food are decent but the coffee was my favorite!

Location wise, this place is very close to everything. It's along the road so you can just hail a cab or ride a tuktuk. There are restaurants and 7-eleven nearby and a night market so you won't get hungry here. The hotel itself offer food delivery to the room just in case you're too lazy to walk. There are also salons that offer spa & massage just next to the hotel.

Cons:
Language barrier is the only issue that I had but I think it's all over Thailand. The staff were so helpful and they were trying to answer our questions as much as they can. The staff even took a message for me from the tour guide that we hired even before I arrived at the hotel. Wi-fi is also available in our rooms, but it doesn't work on the lobby, though they have some desktop machines that you can use.

Overall, this place is wonderful and if I ever go back to Bangkok, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cariephoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#374 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#553 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#716 of 859 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#117 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#335 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#156 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing