We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #269 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is fine, the only problem is the noise. We had 2 or 3 groups of people thate were very noisy so we couldn't sleep.
The location is fine, not too far from the BTS and pratunam.
The good point is the price, but Book it on internet, more expensive in place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed there with my husband,mum in law and brother in law. We booked 2 rooms with THB 119 per night per room. Each room is equipped with a king size bed,a wardrobe, a writing desk, an electric water kettle, mini fridge, 2 coffee cups, 2 glasses, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, face towels, bath towels, tv. There is a small bath tub in the bathroom which the design enable you to sit on it while having shower. The cold and hot shower is function well. There's a mini sofa which stick with the wall. The hotel provides one bottle of mineral water inside the fridge for each hotel guest everyday.

There's buffet breakfast for each hotel guest everyday starting from 7am to 10am at the lobby. It's advisable to get down before 7am so that enable to get a place to sit down. They have fried rice,padthai fried noodles, fried keoyteow, sausage, eggs, porridge, steamed pau, cereals, bread, croissants, butter, jam, varieties of drinks,such as orange, americano, espresso, mocha, hot chocolate, etc.

The WIFI is sometimes can't connect when there's too many users. Advisable to bring own laptop if you need to access internet everyday. There's limit 30 minutes for PC users at the lobby.

There's an indoor swimming pool which operate til 8pm. The bell boys are helpful, But the 3 elevators are warm and small. Some more there's one of the elevators which is out of service the time, make us need to wait for few times only can get in the elevator. Luckily we choose a low floor room. Some times when the elevator is full we can walk down and walk up by using staircase.

The hotel is about 5 to 10 minutes walking distance to Ratchathewi BTS Station. You can walk to Prathunam Market, Pantip Plaza and Indra Mall. For those who want to buy souvenirs, you can go to Indra Mall. Beware some of the shops that selling IT gadget that offer you a very low price for those 'original' stuffs.

There's plenty of food stalls and restaurants around the hotel.

But one thing is the hotel don't offer printing service for guest. When we want to print our Air Asia boarding pass at the lobby counter, they said this one i can't help you, You need to go to the cyber cafe nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a low floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ling Zhi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel for several times while visiting Bangkok and every time I've been very satisfied. The rooms are clean and spacious, room service works perfectly and the location is great: all the shopping and the sky train to the airport close by. Definitely my choice for BKK!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank KirsiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location was good for the price paid. Just a 5 to 8 minutes walk to Ratchatewi BTS station and if you don't mind walking slightly further, you could walk to MBK or Siam area in just 20minutes. Just right before MBK / after Asia Hotel/Rachathewi BTS station, you have the Hua Chang pier where you can catch the Klong to Pratunam or Boboe Market/Tower for just 10bhat.

Even though I arrived late and had to walk from the Ratchathewi BTS to the hotel, I felt quite safe as the street from the BTS station to the hotel has street hawker with a considerable crowd/dinners.

Room was nice and look the same as what is being posted by others / hotel's website.

Window was floor to ceiling but I had a room looking out into the service balcony with a water tank right at the side.

Aircon don't seems to be powerful enough to sufficiently cool the room down, Pillow was very thin and hollow and doesn't provide sufficient support for a good sleep.

However room was very nicely done/designed, huge LCD TV, kettle, bar fridge, safe deposit box,hair dryer are available in the room

Bathroom was nicely designed however there was a slightly sewage smell coming from the bathroom but it's fine once you close the bathroom doors so the smell doesn't goes into the room

Breakfast had a reasonable variety of food and was acceptable however it is extremely important that one comes down before 7am inorder to secure a table.

During my stay at the hotel, the guests during breakfast time don't seems to be very civilized ,at 7am sharp everyone would just rush to the buffet line/table for the food.

One could easily get drink/mineral water or snacks at the 7-11 next door. (7-11 in Thailand sells items at a rather reasonable price) There are also microwavable hot meals which actually tasted good if you are not the adventurous type and wouldn't dare to consume food from street hawker. And if you are, there are plenty of them available whole day selling all sort of food along the street right outside the hotel lobby.

There are also plenty of massage centres nearby the hotel. I would strongly recommend the 'ZEN-TARA' which is on the right side of the hotel (towards Ratchathewi BTS direction). Just 200bhat for a 1 hour thai massage or foot massage or head & shoulder massage.

There was also a swimming pool with Jacuzzi on level 5M which offers a good view of the city.

For those on a longer stay, self service washing machine & dryers are available for 30bhat per use. They are located/placed beside the lift landing on each guest floor.

In summary besides some of the minor problems like the aircon and the sewage smell, I think this is a rather good hotel priced very attractively and affordable with a good location.

I would recommend it to people looking for a affordably priced 3 star hotel with good location and I myself would not hesitate to go back to Bangkok City Hotel again .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel_Reviewer_Jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Bangkok City Hotel. We thought the hotel was very modern compared to the other places we stayed while in Thailand and it was cheap. We paid $86 for 2 nights (king bed).

The room was modern looking with a sleek bed and tall windows overlooking the city. It was nice. The bathroom was nice except there is only a tub with a shower handle so water got every where if you wanted to shower. The AC worked well. The bed and pillows were hard. 2 water bottles were provided each day. One thing I did not like about the room was that there is minimal lighting unless you opened the curtains but then it got really warm.

Breakfast was very good. They served the standard toast, fried eggs, cereal, congee, fried rice, fried noodle, some kind of stir fry, juices, etc. It does get busy during breakfast so seating was limited.
There is an elevator but it's small and very warm. No AC in there.
We tried to hangout in the lobby at night to use the wifi but there were a lot of mosquitoes swarming.

The hotel is close to the Ratchatewi BTS (5 min walk) which we used to go to MBK and Siam. Do not walk there (MBK/Siam)! We thought it was walking distance but it was quite a hike and it didn't help that it was 90 degrees F. out! It was only like 30B to MBK. We also took the sky train to Sukhumvit for 50B if I remember correctly. The skytrain is very easy to use.
There is a 7-11 next to the hotel and lots of restaurants and street vendors. There is a street nearby with excellent noodle soups! However not much to do at night within walking distance besides grabbing a bite or a massage.

I would stay at this hotel again. For the price and location, it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DTdwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is close to Ratchatewi BTS and Siam is just next stasion after Ratchatewi stasion, so it's really good point to this hotel. The room is nice, not really big but comfort enough to us. The hot & cold shower is working, the air conditioner is good. The Bed is quite hard but that's fine. Except the escalator with no air conditioner and the TV channel with only Thai & China language, others is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meilia1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel may not be the most modern, however, at prices rivaling guesthouse accommodation, it's certainly good value for money. Also, unlike a guesthouse you're supplied with "hotel style" service, which makes it a very good option. Although somewhat tired and dated, the located is very good, all rooms are neat, clean and of a good size with modern facilities. Overall, when compared with the nearby guesthouses, for another 50 - 100 Baht, the Bangkok City Hotel is well worthwhile and far superior.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper level with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khun-Farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#452 of 896 in Bangkok
234 reviews
Siam
Siam Swana Hotel
Siam Swana Hotel
#329 of 896 in Bangkok
320 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#760 of 896 in Bangkok
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Bangkok
#262 of 896 in Bangkok
497 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#371 of 896 in Bangkok
1,453 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#402 of 896 in Bangkok
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $41 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing