We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best but still a good option for stay in Bangkok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #273 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
malaysia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not the best but still a good option for stay in Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is located around central heart of some attractive landmarks nearby Petchburi Road, Ratchathewi and just 5 minutes walk or 0.5 km from the Ratchathewi Station (BTS).

Convenient shop like 7-11 just few steps away the hotel. For eateries, street foods is available all days and a few more is opening at night just beside the road with lots of local foods with cheaper price, example grilled whole-fish only Baht100 etc. Massage shops are easily found around the hotel and just few steps away also. If you can speak Chinese, the first massage shop at right of the hotel speaks Chinese (for easy communication).

As for the hotel, breakfast is included, but the place was packed with guests all morning and downside is that you will have difficulties to find a chair to sit on it for breakfast. So, wee have sitted outside the lobby area, which is more quiet and cozy than in the "eating hall".

Other than that, standard bedroom and amenities inside the room. They have a small balcony on every floor for smokers and the view is quite nice (city view).

Room Tip: You may ask the guard or hotel staff (the one standing in entrance) to get a taxi for you and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddyTbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    500
    279
    50
    31
See reviews for
230
268
106
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I love bangkok city hotel! Location is very good. Its near with the major malls in bangkok. Lots of food stalls outside. Its near the Ratchathewi station and easy to hail a cab or tuktuk outside the hotel. Rooms are big enough and there's a bath tub and blower as well. Buffet breakfast is good, considering the amount you paid for the room. Its worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kzy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just liked the location having just got off the train.
We wanted a more budge style hotel just for the one night . It served a purpose and was clean and room was ok for what you pay.
We would not want to stay here longer as it is a basic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel is conveniently located 3-5mins away from ratchatewi bts & about 10mins away from the paya thai airport railway. you can hail taxi easily just outside the main road, a very short ride away from the main shopping district. 7-11 is on the left side of the hotel and further down there is a&w. I highly recommended this massage parlour call zen tara which is on the right side of the hotel. the room was cleaned daily and the staffs were polite.

the few drawbacks would be the slow lift, slow room service and the bed was quite hard. probably because the hotel has 20 storey and i stayed at the 18th floor, it takes quite a while going up. i would probably request for middle floor the next time. breakfast eating area would not be able to accommodate all the hotel guests, it would be good to have your breakfast early.

For the pricing, I am quite satisfied with the overall stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

For budget-minded travellers who wants a step or two up from back-pack options, this is the place. Bangkok is a traffic and travellers' nightmare when it comes to getting from point A to B. This hotel's central location, close proximity to skytrain AND airport link rail terminal (@prayathai station, also <10 min walking distance) is a HUGE plus. It is close to all the shopping one needs to do in BKK and to the attractions. the pool is a great place to quickly get your body temperature down after a full day in the heat and humidity of BKK (it's amazing how one can still sweat after a cool shower after being in that heat there). There is a 7-11 close to the hotel for late night drinks or snacks. There's a night market in the area of the 7-11 as well. The hotel restaurant makes decent basic Thai food such as the green curries or padhthai but dont go for anything more complex. Breakfast in the hotel is, well, good for filling you up. I wish they'd serve up more fruits at breakfast as fruits are abundant in Bangkok. LEFT LUGGAGE. This hotel will store your luggage for up to a month - so if you had extra stuff from earlier part of your journey you dont want to lug around in Thailand, leave it with them. First 7 days are FREE and there after its 20 bahts per day per piece of luggage. This made my three weeks of solo travel around thailand very pleasant.

Room Tip: get rooms that are 10th floor or higher to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burmese_Python
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

U have to wake up very early at 7-8am to have a great breakfast experience or else you have to stand there waiting for the plates to be washed again. Also those fried egga and sausage does not refilled very frequently once finished.

Tuktuk and taxi waiting outside will normally charge you for 150-200 baht to nearby location such as Paragon, Platinum and other nearby places. Local people normally sit tuktuk for around 20baht no matter how many people. I spend 30baht everytime as I think it is acceptable and reasonable for me to save up all the walking energy. If take taxi , insist of using the meter, if the taxi refuse then just go and get another. In Bangkok everywhere can get a taxi easily. Same goes to tuktuk. Another option of travel is taking the BTS, it can almost reach anywhere you wanted to go. Just a few meter away from the hotel is the Ratchathewi station, you can walk from hotel and start from there and go to the place you want to go. Just buy the ticket from the kiosk machine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel hygiene not so good, once enter the room and I saw a little cockroach walking around. The tidiness is still acceptable. Wifi hotspot all very slow and often disconnected. I travel with my friends and we request for extra bed since we online booking few weeks in advance. We even double confirm when we check in. We reached at about 12pm but the extra bed only come at 11pm++!! In between, we called the operator for about every 45-60 minutes interval, but still the service is slow. Patient needed very much. Location isgood as it is quite near to all the shopping mall, like Paragon, SiamSquare, Platinum, etc. Tuk tuk service to there cost around 150baht. Hotel also very near to BTS station in walking distance about 5-7minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#379 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#573 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#702 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#124 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#336 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#299 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing