We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much outstanding apart from its location”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #280 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
hong kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing much outstanding apart from its location”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel situates in a fairly good location approximately 3 minutes' walk from BTS. Pantip Plaza, Pratunam Wholesale Market and Platinum Mall etc.. are all within easy reach by strolling down Petchaburi Road. Open in 2010, I have an impression that this hotel has been aging fast perhaps due to inadequate maintenance. Its restaurant shares the ground floor lobby and during breakfast, it was a war-zone. Guests were seen rushing here and there with plates of food in hand without caring the welfare of other diners.. Service was not prompt enough and choice of food was scarce. I surely would hesitate for staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    508
    284
    50
    33
See reviews for
237
272
109
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pnom Penh
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is not bad and the place is good value for money considering the prices of other hotels nearby (we tried three others before settling on this one) My main concerns were that both the bed and the mattress were pretty hard and the walls weren't really thick enough to keep the sounds out from the rooms next door. Fortunately we went to bed quite late so our neighbors had settled down by the time we were trying to get to sleep.

On the plus side, the wifi worked well (which is not always the case in Asia) and the staff were reasonably friendly and helpful (although their English was not that good). The breakfast was a bit chaotic so we ate food in our room instead.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper and go to bed early!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel four times in the the last two months. It seems to be always be near of at 100% capacity. Their formula for this is, service, price, room comfort and cleanliness. All the times I have stayed the beds have been very comfortable. The air conditioning cool and quiet. Room service was delivered promptly and the Thai food is both good and reasonably priced.
This past visit, we did noticed some noise around 2:00 AM I think people were checking out for an early flight. That is one drawback for such a popular hotel. Breakfast also is very busy due to the amount of people and limited table space. Breakfast itself is just mediocre.
These short comings are easily offset by the low cost, comfort and close proximity to Siam Paragon, MBK, and Siam discovery. If you feel like walking the one BTS stop they are all within easy reach. Or a two minute BTS ride.

Room Tip: THe Thai street food on Soi 12 is close by and very good. Open in the evenins
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rucus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level Contributor
321 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Back again in Bangkok and my wife and I have stayed twice at this hotel in January 2013, first 11 nights and then 9 nights or a total of 20 nights. While I maintained my very good rating, I would have given it a 3.5 instead of 4. Based on the cheap cost, good location, good breakfast at this price I retained the very good. Issues I identified in my last review still hold. As the hotel gets more popular and tourism booms in Bangkok (we are also visiting at prime time with slightly cooler temps and a little less hummidity) breakfast has turned into a "game". First you have to find a table, then you have to find silverware (maybe the forks are out, maybe something else) and then you have to hussle to fill your plate. Usually the breakfast staff hussles also, trying to refill the food and utensiles but with a full or nearly full house they are always running behind. Good news is that for this price the breakfast is pretty good and plentiful with a fairly wide range of choices you probably would not find at another 2 star place. Usually the Thai/Asian items are excellent according to my Thai wife but will vary depending if the main cook is off that day. Unfortunately the bathroom design leads to some mold. But, the cleaning staff is very efficient and work very hard. By the way, the hotel has self service washers that cost either B30 or B20 for a load, you can get laundry powder at the closeby 7-11 and also extra hangers sold on the street around the corner. I haven't been back to their older sister hotel down the street which is not as crowded and in my opinion better run where the rooms are larger and I read, recently renovated. The other hotel is a little cheaper and has the same breakfast but is a little further from the action. A couple of very good, recommended cheapie's where we will return for next years visit.

Room Tip: Get a room number ending in 10 or less to be further from the main, noisy street. Try to avoid the 0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m'sia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

- Great location, close to BTS (only few minute walk) and popular shopping area like platinum fashion mall, Central World & Siam Paragon
- Brand new, clean, spacious room with bathtub
- Breakfast is ok
- Room wifi connection good
- Super value for money
- recommend for those who want cheap & nice hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really a great place to stay! Brand new hotel, very clean, helpful staff, very comfortable rooms.
I requested for top floor and they gave me! View of city on 20th floor was awesome!
Location is perfect. In the middle of shopping district and near to BTS.
Break fast- Great food, plenty of option.
Room tariff is very reasonable, value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to get the view of city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel service staffs are friendly and willing to help. It is located near to the BTS Ratchathewi station (about 5-10 mins walk) and along the Phetchaburi Rd (where Platinum Fashion Mall lies). I am glad that I was alocated to a high floor and got a nice view of the city. The rooms are generally neat and tidy, however seems abit dark, probably due to the use of dark colored furnitures and mild lightings. The design of the bathroom, however is a bit of dissapointment as the door opening to the bathroom is blocked by the toilet bowl (make sure you lock the bathroom door with you are using the toilet before someone else open and accidentally knock on your legs). Rooms are not sound proof..so pray you have a considerate neighbour staying beside you. The breakfast provided by the hotel needs improvement. Overall, the hotel is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#380 of 858 in Bangkok
216 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#548 of 858 in Bangkok
197 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#713 of 858 in Bangkok
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#122 of 858 in Bangkok
337 reviews
Bangkok City Inn
#702 of 858 in Bangkok
433 reviews
Vince Hotel
#190 of 858 in Bangkok
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing